roburn

wah nice red sub! 1680 right?

i like this grail

GfBDSZt.jpg

My dream is to own one, don't think it will ever materialize though.

Hopefully the watch I pre-order will arrive ~~

TeenTitan01

side track. one gold bar around 100g is 5K plus. you can buy rollie, sure can buy gold bar lah

Bro, that makes $45K worth of 24K solid gold definitely heavier than 2 Rolex Day-Dates! :eek:

Less prone to wear & tear too.

And definitely more worth it than a bloody piece of COE that has ZERO value after 10ys! :s27:

TeenTitan01

Its your group of friends. Do what u want together, if your friend has one and if u can afford it, just get it. We are just sharing our views, ultimately its still your choice. I rather you buy a rolex then waste it on branded t-shirts etc... Buying pre-own as mentioned by another guy, u buy on the seller reputation. This thread is about appreciating watches, sharing your reviews and though process.

I got no comment on buying a rolex but just do it within your means. Buy a watch that represent you now. Its not all about the brand, its about how the watch look on you, what it represent. The value of the watch and your job/lifestyle must be in tune.

There are times when a luxury watch even a replica is a liability, and wearing one at the wrong place at the wrong time can get one robbed, hurt or even killed.

deathblade

Thanks soilwork u are a friendly guy.
Should i buy from tagheuer boutique shop at wisma or at cortina? Any difference? I think the new aquracer automatic ceramic bezel is not bad.

Ppl like u are the reason why I will never ever get a rolex. It just not worth the money to be associated with ppl who do not appreciate watches and buy exp watches to show off. Do us all a favour just dangle $10,000 notes on your wrist and be done with it.

TeenTitan01

Thanks for the detailed explaination. U guys are really a nice bunch i must admit. Do you mean if i buy a tagheuer (not exactly expensive) i may have more servicing problems than a say, citizen watch? By the way after my tissot failed me i gotten a citizen really loving it, cant say much abt the accuracy but so far so good as a dress watch, nothing to grab attention, just plain watch that i think can last me for quite some time, until the ecodrive mechanism breaks down. I used to have a seiko 5 many years ago but i dont really fancy the plain look so i given it away. Since i already have a citizen, u think i should not waste my monies to buy a swiss tag?

It really depends on what you're after.

If you just want a status symbol, is not a watch nerd & buying the real thing will cause hardship - then I support bro pwillie pov:

Buy a replica
Thank me later

Before anyone unfamiliar with bro pwillie say anything against him, let me say that his horological credentials are impeccable. His well-curated collection of genuine cult favourites and sought after vintages is a sight to behold and bears testimony to his good sense, tenacity (and dare I say deep pockets =:p) in hunting down & snagging good quality elusive vintage classics. :D

While true watch lovers/nerds will baulk at fakes/replicas, people that brand seekers want to impress who lack the finer appreciation of watches won't know / can't tell the difference anyway. So buy a replica, pocket the savings and go on your merry way.

If you want respect from the hard core watch nerds (some of whom are known to be able to spot a fake from across the room :eek:), than better stay clear of the replicas - and get a Seiko/Orient/Citizen instead - at least with those watches, you get to maintain your integrity & dignity.

Citizen's Miyota 9015 is a very respectable movement powering some decent watches today, going head to head with ETA 2824-2.

If you genuinely love watches, you'll try to learn as much about them as you can. Give thanks to the internet for that! Start slow. More knowledge means better appreciation & discernment. (Warning: that's how we watch nerds got poisoned. And leads to "there's never enough watches". Don't say I didn't warn you first, hor! ;)) That will translate to smarter watch ownership, too, by avoiding the pitfalls and saving money otherwise spent on watches that are just :s22:.

There's room enough in watch appreciation to embrace more than just mechanical / automatic watches. Believe me when I say High Accuracy Quartz, retro but groundbreaking Tuning Fork movements from Bulova of the 60s, Seiko Spring Drives, heck even JLC's Atmos clock, etc each has a place in every true watch lover's heart.

While it's good to buy a watch for the "right" reason, at the end of the day, just buy what YOU like. It's your money after all. YOUR enjoyment matters most to YOU!

No reason why owning a Rolex Day-Date 40 means you can't enjoy a G-Shock Rangeman, right?

Cheers, one & all, and wear your watches in good health! :D

dominicwor2

Ppl like u are the reason why I will never ever get a rolex. It just not worth the money to be associated with ppl who do not appreciate watches and buy exp watches to show off. Do us all a favour just dangle $10,000 notes on your wrist and be done with it.

Think this seannie trolling la, see his many "innocent" qns here like super joker type.

I still rem tio shoot by him jia lat jia lat last yr in the specs thread when i was asking advise there regarding lens :(

TeenTitan01

Sorry to hear about your swiss made Tissot. One problem paying for an expensive watch like an expensive car is expensive servicing, so buying an expensive watch is the START of burning more cash down the road. Hard Truth.

Consider a Seiko/OrientStar/Citizen and save your spare cash for a rainy day.

Real watch lovers respect Seiko/OrientStar/Citizen because they are true watch manufacture with their own inhouse movements and a vertically integrated design, production, distribution, retail and servicing set-up that produces everything they put in their watches on their own - down to their screws, hairsprings and crystals. Many swiss brands charging you 10X and more simply can't do that.

What's more the reliability of Seiko/OrientStar/Citizen is proven (meaning little or no servicing), with affordable cult classics beloved by watch nerds the world over, just ask my Orange Monster! :D

GPGT hor:

http://www.morioka-seiko.co.jp/Eng/movement.html

http://www.morioka-seiko.co.jp/Eng/watch_parts.html

Folks who own Seikos, wear them with pride! (not just the Grand Seikos, hor) :s12:

LondoBell

just curious anywhere i can find this JDM presage? not sure if big time carries this.

IMG_4144.jpg

saw the rose gold version at ion last week, dam smittened by it.:s13:

LondoBell

sry shld be this. sard011

sard011-1200-8.jpg

citychain's price is a 2k after discount:s22:

sarw011 is only ard 1.1k

KingJio

If you just want a status symbol, is not a watch nerd & buying the real thing will cause hardship - then I support bro pwillie pov:

Before anyone unfamiliar with bro pwillie say anything against him, let me say that his horological credentials are impeccable. His well-curated collection of genuine cult favourites and sought after vintages is a sight to behold and bears testimony to his good sense, tenacity (and dare I say deep pockets =:p) in hunting down & snagging good quality elusive vintage classics. :D

While true watch lovers/nerds will baulk at fakes/replicas, people that brand seekers want to impress who lack the finer appreciation of watches won't know / can't tell the difference anyway. So buy a replica, pocket the savings and go on your merry way.

If you want respect from the hard core watch nerds (some of whom are known to be able to spot a fake from across the room :eek:), than better stay clear of the replicas - and get a Seiko/Orient/Citizen instead - at least with those watches, you get to maintain your integrity & dignity.

Citizen's Miyota 9015 is a very respectable movement powering some decent watches today, going head to head with ETA 2824-2.

If you genuinely love watches, you'll try to learn as much about them as you can. Give thanks to the internet for that! Start slow. More knowledge means better appreciation & discernment. (Warning: that's how we watch nerds got poisoned. And leads to "there's never enough watches". Don't say I didn't warn you first, hor! ;)) That will translate to smarter watch ownership, too, by avoiding the pitfalls and saving money otherwise spent on watches that are just :s22:.

There's room enough in watch appreciation to embrace more than just mechanical / automatic watches. Believe me when I say High Accuracy Quartz, retro but groundbreaking Tuning Fork movements from Bulova of the 60s, Seiko Spring Drives, heck even JLC's Atmos clock, etc each has a place in every true watch lover's heart.

While it's good to buy a watch for the "right" reason, at the end of the day, just buy what YOU like. It's your money after all. YOUR enjoyment matters most to YOU!

No reason why owning a Rolex Day-Date 40 means you can't enjoy a G-Shock Rangeman, right?

hey teentitan can recommend some sites to learn more about watch movements? i'm interested to learn more about them but i don't really know where to start. Maybe start with parts of an automatic watch? haha

slow_mo

patryn33

Buy a replica
Thank me later

Best suggestion by far!

U mean fake one? Sure boh...
Cartier ring i will take fake cos real one no resale value...
But like sme bros here say real rollie price keeps going up...
And rollie looks so swee...
Now cant decide which submariner color nicer.

Rollie price keeps going up but resale value may not be the case.
wear few hundred fake and invest the rest on the money returns maybe better.

pwillie

Woah... just read this when landed, thanks for your overly enthusiastic endorsement... you won't get any endorsement fees though :vijayadmin:
I believe there are better collectors here, aXXXXXX seemed to have a collection twice the size of mine

but i still believe Seannie is trolling la, to prove me wrong, Seannie pls GPGT your watches when you buy the rolex :vijayadmin: if you ever buy one

so while you guys take your time to educate him on watch horology, i suspect that your efforts will go to waste

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.