The Watch Thread - Part 8

randomgreen

Nice! Good to meet another Steinhart fan here. I'm more into their pilot watches. Just got a Steinhart Nav B-Uhr 47 Automatic B-Type from Gnomon Watches last week as well.

Have since ordered a Flieger strap from Steinhart directly as Gnomon Watches do not carry them.

Untitled2_zpsru44dbzv.jpg

i'm eyeing the ocean two premium white currently :D:D

2041408679O2_white_02.jpg

image taken from Steinhart website

stated on the website that a facelift is coming soon. wonder how it will look like

how much did you get the strap for? the shipping of 30 eur for watches when purchasing from Steinhart directly scary sia :s22:

patryn33

hey teentitan can recommend some sites to learn more about watch movements? i'm interested to learn more about them but i don't really know where to start. Maybe start with parts of an automatic watch? haha

Start with watchuseek.

On miyota 9015, it's design to complete with ETA 2892, a lot of ppl
Compare it to 2824 but dimensions it's 2892 size
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f21/miyota-introduces-new-automatic-caliber-9015-a-278224.html#/forumsite/20758/topics/278224

patryn33

Nice... Considered getting one but backed out... Automatic chronographs are not cheap...

Define cheap? Auto chrono with micro brands or grey can start ~usd$700
Put the same 7750 in a renown brand cost go up 3-4x easy, well we need to pay for brand awareness

a562140

Define cheap? Auto chrono with micro brands or grey can start ~usd$700
Put the same 7750 in a renown brand cost go up 3-4x easy, well we need to pay for brand awareness

you also pay extra for nice box, salesman commission, air conditioning and nice lights and showcases in a boutique for the complete luxe experience ;)

a562140

It really depends on what you're after.

If you just want a status symbol, is not a watch nerd & buying the real thing will cause hardship - then I support bro pwillie pov:

Before anyone unfamiliar with bro pwillie say anything against him, let me say that his horological credentials are impeccable. His well-curated collection of genuine cult favourites and sought after vintages is a sight to behold and bears testimony to his good sense, tenacity (and dare I say deep pockets =:p) in hunting down & snagging good quality elusive vintage classics. :D

While true watch lovers/nerds will baulk at fakes/replicas, people that brand seekers want to impress who lack the finer appreciation of watches won't know / can't tell the difference anyway. So buy a replica, pocket the savings and go on your merry way.

If you want respect from the hard core watch nerds (some of whom are known to be able to spot a fake from across the room :eek:), than better stay clear of the replicas - and get a Seiko/Orient/Citizen instead - at least with those watches, you get to maintain your integrity & dignity.

Citizen's Miyota 9015 is a very respectable movement powering some decent watches today, going head to head with ETA 2824-2.

If you genuinely love watches, you'll try to learn as much about them as you can. Give thanks to the internet for that! Start slow. More knowledge means better appreciation & discernment. (Warning: that's how we watch nerds got poisoned. And leads to "there's never enough watches". Don't say I didn't warn you first, hor! ;)) That will translate to smarter watch ownership, too, by avoiding the pitfalls and saving money otherwise spent on watches that are just :s22:.

There's room enough in watch appreciation to embrace more than just mechanical / automatic watches. Believe me when I say High Accuracy Quartz, retro but groundbreaking Tuning Fork movements from Bulova of the 60s, Seiko Spring Drives, heck even JLC's Atmos clock, etc each has a place in every true watch lover's heart.

While it's good to buy a watch for the "right" reason, at the end of the day, just buy what YOU like. It's your money after all. YOUR enjoyment matters most to YOU!

No reason why owning a Rolex Day-Date 40 means you can't enjoy a G-Shock Rangeman, right?

Cheers, one & all, and wear your watches in good health! :D

finding your own reason, a very personal reason to like a watch, regardless of what others think - to me is the one of the hallmarks of a watch lover.

watch collections tell alot of about the owner. but in the end you define your collection not the other way around.

iu

+1 for Tyler Durden

PiPiChew

Nice! Good to meet another Steinhart fan here. I'm more into their pilot watches. Just got a Steinhart Nav B-Uhr 47 Automatic B-Type from Gnomon Watches last week as well.

IMG_20150827_145853_zpss9lnuqra.jpg

IMG_20150827_164029_zpsvjmclgkd.jpg

Have since ordered a Flieger strap from Steinhart directly as Gnomon Watches do not carry them.

Untitled2_zpsru44dbzv.jpg

Wahh 44mm for me is pushing the limit liao. Wanted the type B too but it's always out of stock for 44mm so went for the type A instead haha. Nice to meet a fellow Steinhart Flieger owner :D

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

jonleelk

i'm eyeing the ocean two premium white currently :D:D

2041408679O2_white_02.jpg

image taken from Steinhart website

stated on the website that a facelift is coming soon. wonder how it will look like

how much did you get the strap for? the shipping of 30 eur for watches when purchasing from Steinhart directly scary sia :s22:

My Steinhart says "Hi!"
riweLUt.jpg

Eyeing this currently ...
SteinhartMilitary42L.jpg

Seannie

Best suggestion by far!

Rollie price keeps going up but resale value may not be the case.
wear few hundred fake and invest the rest on the money returns maybe better.

Thank you, im still considering to get a preowned rollie or not, but defintely wont get a fake wats the point. Get replica might as well i go for that swee seiko presage or even a tag aqua. If i wanna save monies i get a fake cartier ring instead coz nobody can tell it on my finger. But not rolex. I dont think they replicate rolex as good as the real one? Replica cartier ring's workmanship just as gd as the real one or maybe even better, and gold content is the same. Sell real cartier ring i lose as much as the replica one so i dont see any point fetting the real one. As for rolex if dont get the real thing might as well forget abt watches. I dont support fake watches. I think thats disgusting. Its just like carrying a fake LV people can tell lah pls.

Henabi

I thought 2k can get a Rollie liao?!?! No??
Seannie... go bencoolen. Loads of preowned rollie

soilwork

Thank you, im still considering to get a preowned rollie or not, but defintely wont get a fake wats the point. Get replica might as well i go for that swee seiko presage or even a tag aqua. If i wanna save monies i get a fake cartier ring instead coz nobody can tell it on my finger. But not rolex. I dont think they replicate rolex as good as the real one? Replica cartier ring's workmanship just as gd as the real one or maybe even better, and gold content is the same. Sell real cartier ring i lose as much as the replica one so i dont see any point fetting the real one. As for rolex if dont get the real thing might as well forget abt watches. I dont support fake watches. I think thats disgusting. Its just like carrying a fake LV people can tell lah pls.

Now this is trolling. Fake rolex and fake LV is disgusting but fake cartier is ok??

Dude all the best to you man!

soilwork

My TH aquaracer. Forever so handsome even after 10 years

I think i am the only one growing older :p 岁月不饶人

cqghBbS.jpg

Btw thats my boy in front in his superman PJ. Today is daddy and son day!!

star77

Need to resize my tag Heuer bracelet which I bought overseas.
If I bring to places like sincere watches. Will they be able to help do it for free or need to pay a small fee?

patryn33

Don't think, if u done research on fake ring spend the time and you understand what's out there.

Not all LV fake can be easily spotted, a fool and its $$ soon parted
Enjoy trolling

All in a Day

Don't think, if u done research on fake ring spend the time and you understand what's out there.

Not all LV fake can be easily spotted, a fool and its $$ soon parted
Enjoy trolling

Actually if u've read his various posts in other threads, he just has unique/warped views (by normal standards) and rationale, not necessarily a troll.

To seannie, rolex submariner is definitely a classic. Read up and learn to appreciate it. U will enjoy your watch much more.

jonleelk

Need to resize my tag Heuer bracelet which I bought overseas.
If I bring to places like sincere watches. Will they be able to help do it for free or need to pay a small fee?

Goto neighbourhood uncle watch shops can already. Will need to pay a small fee, unless u and the uncle are on good terms.

Or just buy yourself a set of this:
$_35.JPG

Minty Mint

Hello, am new in this watch forum.

How is Squale 20 ATMOS classic compared with Steinhart Ocean 1.

Thinking of getting a watch lately. Both having the same Swiss automatic movement ETA 2824-2 and the price fits my budgets (slightly <$600).

Or shall I get a Seiko sumo.....

Thanks

gaoxing84

lol.
very wrong concept. there's a world out there.
but i shall leave it here and not start anything.
:s22:

gaoxing84

Actually if u've read his various posts in other threads, he just has unique/warped views (by normal standards) and rationale, not necessarily a troll.

To seannie, rolex submariner is definitely a classic. Read up and learn to appreciate it. U will enjoy your watch much more.

did it before. he got some family thingy going on. he say he very stress cause not up there enough.
therefore trying many ways out of his capability to prove himself to the family.

as far as i can rmb

soilwork

finding your own reason, a very personal reason to like a watch, regardless of what others think - to me is the one of the hallmarks of a watch lover.

watch collections tell alot of about the owner. but in the end you define your collection not the other way around.

iu

+1 for Tyler Durden

I love fight club. Recently i watched the shining and i was thinking maybe there is no ghost and thats actually a world which Jack created within himself. We are indeed our own worst enemy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.