The Watch Thread - Part 8

xuan87

seannie, piece of advice.

don't buy anything.

cause i got a feeling you will end up ask song, buy already regret and sell at a loss.

from rolex to seiko to tag to now asking about panerai.

if you really wanna think about resell value even before buying a timepiece, do yourself a favour and keep the cash.

don't waste the timepiece "time" on your wrist. they are better off on someone else wrist and the timepiece will have a "happier" time getting appreciated for what it is and why is it made for by the owner.

sorry #hardtruth time.

There is some truth to this. When buying a watch, you buy it because you have some kind of connection to it, akin to love at first sight type, rather than buying based on recommendations from other people. Owning watch is like getting a gf/marrying wife :s13::s13:

PiPiChew

Casual day with my Steinhart Nav B-Uhr 47mm Automatic B-Type. Maybe should swap for a nato strap with the weather these days.
IMG_20150908_134759_20150908212015903_zpsjtgdhhy5.jpg

Like this you mean? :s13:

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

Donten

I can be considered a watch newbie, only starting to learn more about the watch hobby after being poisoned by the Orient Bambino (just like how I was poisoned by the Crossroad Mylar into the audiophile hobby).

After reading through the last few pages of this thread, and looking at the advices given to Seannie, I can tell that there are a lot of knowledgeable people here and comparatively less trolls. Looking forward to learning more from you guys!

When it comes to watches, I think that there are 2 main types of people, perfectly personified by me and my FT friend.

I like to get back as much values for my money for my watches, which is different from saying I won't pay much for one. Meaning I'll rather buy a $500 Seiko than a $200 Swatch. A big problem with the watch industry is that alot of the price of a watch goes into marketing, so saying you pay $1,000 for a watch, maybe only $100 is the actual material costs and assembly costs of the watch, the other $900 is the marketing and distributorship, dealership etc that go into building up the brand name. Christopher Ward was disillusioned by this and thus decided to start his own brand and I'm very impressed by his watches though I've yet to own one so YMMV.

My FT friend, on the other hand, just only go for the name. He initially wanted a Tag but I somehow managed to convince him to get a Tudor. He laughed at me when I said I wanted to get a Grand Seiko and a shrouded Seiko because Seiko is a cheap brand. He wants to get an Omega because... duh, it's an Omega, but I want to get an Omega Speedmaster because its movement is good enough for space use. As an investment banker, he said he rather get a famous watch that will impress his clients in a meeting, but I rather get a watch that another watch enthusiast will immediately identify with.

Nothing truly wrong with what type of watch person you are since ultimately it's your own money you're spending but this is just my observation as someone new to the hobby.

getting a omega to impress people, will impress the wrong type of people
getting a seiko to impress people, will impress the correct type of people

edit: and welcome to the watch thread. where there is less ego and epeen swinging around here than the audio sub forum

Seannie

Owning watch is like getting a gf/marrying wife :s13::s13:

yalor thats why i need to evaluate properly first. No less than $11k leh one new rolex sub. i dont want buy already then divorce. i no play play type. u think black sub nicer or hulk? i think black one easier to match clothings for daily wear right?

slow_mo

yalor thats why i need to evaluate properly first. No less than $11k leh one new rolex sub. i dont want buy already then divorce. i no play play type. u think black sub nicer or hulk? i think black one easier to match clothings for daily wear right?

Here's a black Sub C. Shopping with the chio bu now.

jase07

go buy replica lah. 11k can buy a lot of it. can buy tudor replica, rolex black sub replica, rolex hulk replica, tag replica. Buy all those replica, u still got some loose change to buy new clothing to match the watches.

*P.S - swing your wrist really fast when u meet your friends, so they will never find out its a replica. All problems solved liao

Henabi

Wow rolex is 2nd in the list on par with BMW. Very impressive.

http://www.ablogtowatch.com/10-things-know-rolex-makes-watches/

Rolex made all the parts in-house. High QC.

Made of exclusive 904L steel which blings differently from all other watches steel.

Rolex watch take almost a year to process. Sibeh atas!

Tio gongtao already. Will get it from AD. Must-have.

I think you are mistaken. If buy 10k i can sell back for 7k anytime i am happie already dont need lose the whole 10k. But if u say can only sell back 1k i seriously need to think about it already.

WAh steady la boss. Ok the topic on which watch already settled. Now my next question of great concern is which colour of sub should i go for? The black dial? Green hulk?

Get the full gold!!! Its FULL GOLD or GO HOME!!!

rolex-submariner-yellow-gold-blue-dial-16618-watch-chest-2.jpg

Look at the Sunburst blue dial... its so mesmerizing

content_Diving-Watches-2.jpg

Look at how this watch is repelling at that water off its surface.... #DROOLING_LIAO

Seannie

Get the full gold!!! Its FULL GOLD or GO HOME!!!

Great desire to join the ROLEX club!!! Green might be hard to match office shirts but will be great for weekend wear or functions gatherings etc.

i_got_a_question_to_ask

go buy replica lah. 11k can buy a lot of it. can buy tudor replica, rolex black sub replica, rolex hulk replica, tag replica. Buy all those replica, u still got some loose change to buy new clothing to match the watches.

*P.S - swing your wrist really fast when u meet your friends, so they will never find out its a replica. All problems solved liao
11k can buy Audemeurs Peugeot Roal Oak Offshore replica many many, in rose gold tone.

Henabi

Great desire to join the ROLEX club!!! Green might be hard to match office shirts but will be great for weekend wear or functions gatherings etc.

Its a rolex. Any office attire goes well with Rolex...

Once you wear a rolex... everything on you becomes Majestic and handsome

just to add in, Pateak replica also can. But that will give him a headache which to wear everyday.

No pateak. No Mars or Venus. To him, Rolex is the 2nd most recognised brand in the world after BMW...

So get rolex MUST also get BMW. Wanna satki must satki all the way mah...

jase07

Its a rolex. Any office attire goes well with Rolex...

Once you wear a rolex... everything on you becomes Majestic and handsome

No pateak. No Mars or Venus. To him, Rolex is the 2nd most recognised brand in the world after BMW...

So get rolex MUST also get BMW. Wanna satki must satki all the way mah...

i see, then must recommend him to get Rolec solid gold GMT replica liao. Real gold casing with china movement. Damn satki. Although replica but with Real solid gold casing , it is no horse run.

Henabi

i see, then must recommend him to get Rolec solid gold GMT replica liao. Real gold casing with china movement. Damn satki. Although replica but with Real solid gold casing , it is no horse run.

He don't want...
He say replica later picha lobang. Say must get real thing.
Compare this. Compare that. Wonder here. Wonder there.
But yet... pondering whether is it worth while to donate 5 figures to the Rolex-relac-one-corner-bank.

#back-to-square-zero

i_got_a_question_to_ask

See my above post, I got suggest gold tone.

Keyword is tone.

11k cannot get solid gold la.

Although I believe gold has resale value according to spot rate.

soilwork

Honestly if you want satki then no rolex. 10k u top 5 to 7k more you can get a preowned AP ROO.

Then instant hero liao. That one really no horse run. Sell alsot can get back 80% or so

gaoxing84

getting a omega to impress people, will impress the wrong type of people
getting a seiko to impress people, will impress the correct type of people

edit: and welcome to the watch thread. where there is less ego and epeen swinging around here than the audio sub forum

like that i must sell my omega away liao. later impress wrong people hahaha :s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.