The Watch Thread - Part 9

estrangable

How did you manage to get a iwc name card holder? That is sweet.

Tinkering with my DSLR and used my latest Watch as the subject.

DSC_0552_Del2.jpg

josephkjc

Merry Christmas everyone and may the new year bring about more happiness and new purchases!

Pr91ORq.jpg

rachdanon

Cartier Santos 100

Hi watch kakis

Long time no post, and before I proceed Blessed Christmas to you all! Has Yato ever returned to the thread?

Anyway, wife birthday and she has been eyeing the Santos. I never liked roman numerals, but I am being smitten by it. My sis in law has the medium so I have seen it in the flesh. Then my wife has been talking about a couple watch. Yeah our Pam 305 and 48 isnt exactly a couples watch.

Actually, I laid off looking and buying for watches for a while, as you guys can tell I am seldom here nowadays. I was actually eyeing the IWC Big Pilot and waiting for their new 42000 series double barrel movements to be put in it.

So, what do you guys think? Should we get a couple Santos 100 medium and large? Yah I know the movement is an ETA, but this is mainly a sentimental fashion feeling type of purchase...not a WIS move.

I know Yato has a Santos, but guess he may not read this. What do you think?

Also if want to get anyone knows grey will have this? If not heard I can get some discount (min 10%?) at an AD, any AD to recommend? If we get the couple watch it will set me back some 15k+ it seems...

I would say wife is >50% serious about it...so still considering...

If it matters she has a Omega PO and a Pam 48. Me have a Tag Carrera, 500m AR and a Pam 305.

nicjer

Hi watch kakis

Long time no post, and before I proceed Blessed Christmas to you all! Has Yato ever returned to the thread?

Anyway, wife birthday and she has been eyeing the Santos. I never liked roman numerals, but I am being smitten by it. My sis in law has the medium so I have seen it in the flesh. Then my wife has been talking about a couple watch. Yeah our Pam 305 and 48 isnt exactly a couples watch.

Actually, I laid off looking and buying for watches for a while, as you guys can tell I am seldom here nowadays. I was actually eyeing the IWC Big Pilot and waiting for their new 42000 series double barrel movements to be put in it.

So, what do you guys think? Should we get a couple Santos 100 medium and large? Yah I know the movement is an ETA, but this is mainly a sentimental fashion feeling type of purchase...not a WIS move.

Also if want to get anyone knows grey will have this? If not heard I can get some discount (min 10%?) at an AD, any AD to recommend? If we get the couple watch it will set me back some 15k+ it seems...

If it matters she has a Omega PO and a Pam 48. Me have a Tag Carrera, 500m AR and a Pam 305.

Welcome back. In response to your first question, no.

Wall of text below:

As for your comments on the Big Pilot, I do not think it will be getting the 42000. Per IWC PR, the 42000 appears to have specifications in line with the 2824/2892 workhorses, and will most probably be fitted to watches currently running those (Portofino, Mk 17, Aquatimer et al)

Quote off their website: The movements in the two new in-house 69000- and 42000-calibre families will be used primarily for IWC watches in the(ir) entry-level price segment.

The Santos: I know its ETA, but you most probably would get your money's worth in other ways, such as build quality and the fact its not gonna really age in terms of fashion. Cartiers have always had a look which works back then, now, and in the future. If ETA bothers you, Calibre de Cartier then.

The watch is okay, but more important thing is how would it fit into your daily dress code? The Santos always seemed more of a shirt/formal watch than a smart casual one. Then again, some celebs have had success pairing Cartiers with very casual wear (Ji Sung in Running Man)

As for the other half though, not much issues. Cartiers have always worked well with females. Colleague has a Tank Solo, and its a real looker. Nice mix between discreet and style.

iV3RsOn

Hi watch kakis

aiyo, if can make wife happy and no problem affording it, jus buy loh...

Lurker_13

rachdanon, on top of wat nicjer has mentioned, I quote "buy bah...it is worth it lah...One of the most classic watch at that price. Cant go wrong."=:p:D

Henabi

Wah!!!! New thread so fast page 3 liao

Hou mai gad!!!!

Henabi

aiyo, if can make wife happy and no problem affording it, jus buy loh...

Fully agree. Buy something which makes your missus happy... otherwise she will still keep eyeing that santos

delrosa81

Before my guests eat the cookies, I took some photos first lol.

IWC Cookies given by my IWC Sales. Some Xmas Goodies, Yum!

8CD90AB0-6315-4FC7-9F76-29FFE2EDDD58C07DCF26-C97E-4C07-8830-556C754392D6.jpg

IWC_2_DEL.jpg

IWC_3_DEL.jpg

5star_pundit

bought a pre-own oyster perpetual datejust for 3 grand
paid $20 at golden landmark for verificaition. it does not come with box and papers though Best bargain.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.