The Watch Thread - Part 9

gaoxing84

All this trade secret not easily known if not everyone can can be grey dealer. But 1 thing I know is u need to have pool of cash to one time wack many watches.

Know the AD. Hoot a couple at one time to make trip worth while. Take back tax 7%. Bring back Japan. Siam Japan tax. Done.

If AD can give up to 15% for subs. I don't see why cannot earn.
15+7% off lol seems like a good deal

But of course. You gotta know the AD pretty well and is willing to sell you at maximum discount la.
It could be even more than 15% if bought in bulk.

China tourist are flooding Japan. Buying rolex like free.
If BIC CAMERA and Yodobashi can get, means it's a free market.

Anyone can be a grey dealer. You need the contacts for both buying and selling. cash on hand and lastly, time.

Maybe more than what I have said but that's the general idea.

Paladium

Yeah, the piece i am looking at is brand new piece...

Alrighty then, let's see if it all goes well! Placed all my bets on Jackroad as I do not think there are other reputable and reliable grey dealers in Japan liao...

You thought wrong then, there's kame kichi a few shops away from Jack Road and housekihiroba in Shibuya, etc. :o

Nakedtoes

Know the AD. Hoot a couple at one time to make trip worth while. Take back tax 7%. Bring back Japan. Siam Japan tax. Done.

But of course. You gotta know the AD pretty well and is willing to sell you at maximum discount la.

Anyone can be a grey dealer. You need the contacts for both buying and selling. cash on hand and lastly, time.

understand u can be a grey dealer.. u got contacts:D... i worse.. no contact no $$$

All in a Day

I would think this is the crux. Create win-win for grey dealer and the AD.

Grey dealer:
1. Deep pockets
2. Willing to hold inventory (shop front model)
3. Order on demand (yeokimchoy model)
4. Got AD lobang
5. Got methods to siam customs / willing to hiong customs risk

AD:
1. Willing to risk dealership
2. Lazy - can move inventory in volume
3. Got grey dealer lobang

Like I said, just surprised that Japan grey source from SG when it is quite well known the other way round is very common (i.e. SG grey source from Japan). Perhaps it is a musical chairs thing and the ADs feel 'safer' to sell grey to overseas buyer. :s13:

DaClovers

How come ER24002W photo look like ER24003W? Is gold not rose gold. I'm looking for the the rose gold one but many website show the gold one as ER24002W.

Sent from using GAGT

gaoxing84

understand u can be a grey dealer.. u got contacts:D... i worse.. no contact no $$$

Cannot la. Haha even have contact to buy but no contact to sell also no use. And most importantly don't have the amount of cash Hahaha

Selling part is the hardest. If can earn 100-200 per watch Haha Jin song as side income.

gaoxing84

I would think this is the crux. Create win-win for grey dealer and the AD.

Grey dealer:
1. Deep pockets
2. Willing to hold inventory (shop front model)
3. Order on demand (yeokimchoy model)
4. Got AD lobang
5. Got methods to siam customs / willing to hiong customs risk

AD:
1. Willing to risk dealership
2. Lazy - can move inventory in volume
3. Got grey dealer lobang

Like I said, just surprised that Japan grey source from SG when it is quite well known the other way round is very common (i.e. SG grey source from Japan). Perhaps it is a musical chairs thing and the ADs feel 'safer' to sell grey to overseas buyer. :s13:

If sell secretly and in bulk. Won't risk. Cause can say sell to different ppl. As long stock move. They can hide invoice one. All the shady stuff..but who cares as long cheap.

Selling part is the hardest. If no shop front. And you willing to earn only abit. Can sell on forums.
Win win for AD and grey dealer like you say.
Siam SG tax is pretty easy. See you dare anot. Haha

But sg can be a source. Sg watch market dipping. Not everyone is willing to hoot rolex.
Heard now walk in also only 8%.

trickle_on

Yes, I think the spend on luxury watches is dipping.

I keep seeing THG ads on repeat so frequently on my Facebook mobile.

A grey dealer just texted me to share that price of Rolex sport models softening.

I guess this is what happens with the lacklustre economy. Hopefully discounts go up. :)

gaoxing84

One of the thing I wanna do is be salesman at AD but retail hours. Me don't like. If not do backend marketing for them.
Hard to go in also Haha

If become salesman. Discount gao gao give ppl here haha

confusedboi

If only can get 10% or more discount for stainless steel sports model rolex from AD :/

Maybe the dai kors here can get, but mere mortals walking in like me get the standard reply of 8%.

Emospence

How come ER24002W photo look like ER24003W? Is gold not rose gold. I'm looking for the the rose gold one but many website show the gold one as ER24002W.

Sent from using GAGT

My OS Retrograde's rose gold started peeling after a bit under 2 years. So that's something to think about.

Maybe my skin abit more corrosive

trickle_on

I barely get 6% on the popular sport models man.

8% is good already.

Hopefully go back to 15%. Tonight I will dream of it.

If only can get 10% or more discount for stainless steel sports model rolex from AD :/

Maybe the dai kors here can get, but mere mortals walking in like me get the standard reply of 8%.

fabiaN__

Wow hey, thanks for the referral!! Any more (greedy)?

Trying to increase my chances of getting my piece!!

Which parts of Japan are you going to? The ones I listed are in Tokyo.

Kame-Kichi is in the same building as Jackroad (Nakano Broadway).

MyWatch is in Shinjuku, behind Shinjuku Prince Hotel...

Housekihiroba is in Shibuya.

I believe there are other grey dealers too.. Quark is one of them, but their pricing isn't very competitive.

catseatfish

Hi all, I find myself in the very fortunate position of buying a watch again. It's for my wedding and this time it's going to be from my grandma. Budget is not high. About $500 but I can stretch it slightly. I would like to buy a piece that is respectable and classic that I can maybe one day pass it down. Initially I asked for cash, but my grandma says she wants to give something physical so can remember her by which I now see the greater value in.

So anyway, three pieces have caught my eye, the Seiko sarb035, sarb065, and tissot visodate. I'm looking for a dressier watch to complement my Tudor Black Bay and Seiko monster. Please feel free to recommend other pieces that fit as well. Thank you in advance!

RadEoNic

My OS Retrograde's rose gold started peeling after a bit under 2 years. So that's something to think about.

Maybe my skin abit more corrosive

I think it's just poor quality
My retrograde also like this
Surprisingly, my cheapo orient esteem's rose gold plating is still fine

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.