The Watch Thread - Part 9

All in a Day

haha then don't buy. save the money. save up more than hoot one gao lat one.

if not like really squeezing out that 2k and get something abit bo hua.

he want skeleton, he want branded, he want rose gold.

abit hard leh. if your budget 20k ok la but 2k. hard leh

you need to ask your husband to rethink his choice.

he either take something out of the 3 things he ask for.

Hey gx, if take out skeleton got what options for rose gold at 2k?

All in a Day

i'm not into movements. I have a santos. it is a very nice dress watch in that budget and very versatile, IMHO.

helped my female colleague get her bb just last christmas thru my regular sales and she was over the moon. helped another female colleague get a santos some time back as well. both are really very nice watches.

I think cartier makes very classy watches. if you r into movements then I can't help much.....

Still going strong helping colleagues get watches! Yr AD continue to secure high performance thanks to u hehe.

Also an indicator that market/economy still going well?

Emospence

Wah my husband told me he prefers business watch to dress watch. I asked him what's the difference. He say dress watches are brands that make watches for fashion, business watches are brands that make watches only. Got such a definition?? :s22:

Anyway really gives me a headache on what he wants.

On an unrelated matter, I saw some watch straps at City Chain at $39.90, didn't ask what kinda leather but is that considered cheap?

/cringe

10 char

gaoxing84

Hey gx, if take out skeleton got what options for rose gold at 2k?

orient. LOLOL. $200.
save the rest.

since he also buay hiao.

but frederique constant is one to consider. up budget a bit. dress watch also "business" watch.
ORIS also ok

http://www.jomashop.com/frederique-constant-watch-fc-715v4h4.html

http://www.jomashop.com/oris-watch-01-733-7642-6331ls.html

http://www.jomashop.com/oris-watch-01-733-7594-4831-07-6-20-12.html

skele but not sure if the husband will like anot.

http://www.jomashop.com/oris-watch-734-7670-4351ls.html

androidified

Hi guys, would like to seek your suggestion on watch. The situation is this, I am intending to gift to my fiancee a watch by mid of next month on her birthday, based on the following criteria in order of priority

1. Budget of not more than $3000
2. Swiss mechanical watch (self winding)
3. Metal bracelet
4. Not bling (dislike too many diamonds as ornament)
5. Watch case size not more than 30mm.
6. Mother of pearl dial

Some of the points above are based on her input. As intending to gift to her as a surprise, so is unable to bring her to choose.

Hope someone here can help out as I have been looking / researching for some time, apparently most ladies watch are using quartz or leather straps

gaoxing84

Hi guys, would like to seek your suggestion on watch. The situation is this, I am intending to gift to my fiancee a watch by mid of next month on her birthday, based on the following criteria in order of priority

3. Metal bracelet
6. Mother of pearl dial

Some of the points above are based on her input. As intending to gift to her as a surprise, so is unable to bring her to choose.

Hope someone here can help out as I have been looking / researching for some time, apparently most ladies watch are using quartz or leather straps

not more than 30mm is damnnnnnnnnnnn small.
haha

maybe rolex datejust. haha but 3k not sure can anot, not familiar with datejust prices

denial86

haha then don't buy. save the money. save up more than hoot one gao lat one.

if not like really squeezing out that 2k and get something abit bo hua.

he want skeleton, he want branded, he want rose gold.

abit hard leh. if your budget 20k ok la but 2k. hard leh

you need to ask your husband to rethink his choice.

he either take something out of the 3 things he ask for.

Er I think you are mistaken. He does not know that I plan to get him a watch and these are all just observations I have from asking him subtly. The budget of 2k is mine and not his, hence why I was asking here to see if it's possible to find a watch which can fulfil his requirements.

And yes, to be honest he doesn't know anything about watches, which I mentioned before when I first started asking on this thread, but I would like for him to have a nice looking watch which he can wear for work.

Why must say until like that ar?

Sorry my budget too low lor. Poor people is like that one.

yattokame

Still going strong helping colleagues get watches! Yr AD continue to secure high performance thanks to u hehe.

Also an indicator that market/economy still going well?

not as much as before already. times are definitely tougher than 2013/2014.

Santos 100 is ETA

;)

ETA movements are a great workhorse I feel.

my wife and I share the santos. she is quite tall (1.7+) so she can carry it pretty well. the watch is now on a white leather strap which gives it an entirely different look from the original black leather strap. just that it's difficult to adjust the size when either myself or the missus wants to wear it.

colleague got the rose gold bezel version with brown strap, M size. absolutely stunning.

Pagani_Z0nda

i'm not into movements. I have a santos. it is a very nice dress watch in that budget and very versatile, IMHO.

helped my female colleague get her bb just last christmas thru my regular sales and she was over the moon. helped another female colleague get a santos some time back as well. both are really very nice watches.

I think cartier makes very classy watches. if you r into movements then I can't help much.....

I saw my colleague wear a cartier bb. Very classy and elegant.

yattokame

3. Metal bracelet
6. Mother of pearl dial

nothing wrong with quartz I feel. hassle free. Becos girls (or my wife, just from my experience) HATE to adjust time/date cos it hurts their manicure.

Longines should fit your budget well but I'm not sure of the movement. Helped a fren get a pair of longines couple watch sometime back. ETA is considered swiss movement but below 30mm may be a little difficult. Or how about an Omega constellation?

if you need a sales person just let me know bah.

godspeed.

pwillie

Hump day

oktnmwx.jpg

jonleelk

Er I think you are mistaken. He does not know that I plan to get him a watch and these are all just observations I have from asking him subtly. The budget of 2k is mine and not his, hence why I was asking here to see if it's possible to find a watch which can fulfil his requirements.

And yes, to be honest he doesn't know anything about watches, which I mentioned before when I first started asking on this thread, but I would like for him to have a nice looking watch which he can wear for work.

Why must say until like that ar?

Sorry my budget too low lor. Poor people is like that one.
It's the skeleton that is challenging for 2k, unless u and him don't mind China Seagull which I have shown before ... but I feel he will mind.

yattokame

Lots of ppl here getting gifts for their significant other. anybody wanna share their stories? Can I offer mine?

I bought my fiancee (now wife) her fave omega constellation with my first pay check. It was a watch she had lusted for a decade. I could only afford to get the no diamonds version. Nonetheless she cried buckets upon receiving it.

My MIL scoffed at the purchase. Why no diamonds one? They are quite loaded while I grew up in poverty. Till this day I do regret not getting her one with diamonds and when I mention it to my wife she didn't bother with it. She LOVES the watch I bought, diamonds or not. Because it was all about my heart.

Moral of story: it's the heart, not the budget.

Godspeed.

denial86

It's the skeleton that is challenging for 2k, unless u and him don't mind China Seagull which I have shown before ... but I feel he will mind.

Haha I think so too.. To be honest, I'm going to leave him to figure out what his holy grail is. Right now I just want something nice looking for him and I had hoped 2k was enough. If really too much of a stretch then maybe I should just give him angbao lol.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.