The Watch Thread - Part 9

yattokame

20160525_093214_HDR-1.jpg

Blue Wednesday. Yatto blue strap looks good as well. ;)

I'm just fantasizing fitting one of my watches with a blue strap too and ..... holding your hand as we stroll into the sunset.

ok with you, darling? :D
*slurp*

pwillie

Er I think you are mistaken. He does not know that I plan to get him a watch and these are all just observations I have from asking him subtly. The budget of 2k is mine and not his, hence why I was asking here to see if it's possible to find a watch which can fulfil his requirements.

And yes, to be honest he doesn't know anything about watches, which I mentioned before when I first started asking on this thread, but I would like for him to have a nice looking watch which he can wear for work.

Why must say until like that ar?

Sorry my budget too low lor. Poor people is like that one.

To be honest, the biggest risk is that the watch turned out to be a white elephant, i mean he prob wont dare to sell it away, but he wont be wearing it often if its not something he likes.
why not go shop together on the day of celebration? may be less of a surprise, but way more practical.

pwillie

I prefer stainless steel bracelets, honestly, how heavy can it get? I see some people wear a light brown belt, dark brown croc pattern leather and black leather boots...hurts my eyes just to watch .

sometimes its not the weight, its the look of the watch.

I also see some people wearing SS bracelet watch, thick silver wrist bracelet, metal frame glasses and chunky gold chain necklace... hurts my eyes too.

gaoxing84

Er I think you are mistaken. He does not know that I plan to get him a watch and these are all just observations I have from asking him subtly. The budget of 2k is mine and not his, hence why I was asking here to see if it's possible to find a watch which can fulfil his requirements.

And yes, to be honest he doesn't know anything about watches, which I mentioned before when I first started asking on this thread, but I would like for him to have a nice looking watch which he can wear for work.

not saying you're poor. don't be mistaken. i am also poor duh. i am currently jobless. can't be far worse than me.

all i am saying, don't squeeze your 2k just because you want to get him something.
save that 2k, save further more, get a higher budget then you can have more to choose from.
at the point, you can have all the options that he wants, and if that fits, he will wear it.

if you die die wanna spend that 2k on a watch and he doesn't even like it, what's the point right?
he won't wear it, he can't sell it, you wasted 2k.

wear to work, no need expensive watch. boss don't care.
wear a seiko also can.
why must a nice watch be expensive?
a sub $200 orient watch is damn good and looks expensive, for those don't know and for those who know, knows his wife got taste.

not sure if you're getting me on this.
but i am not putting you down in anyway.

can you believe this watch cost only $200? automatic, made in japan, rose gold.
it looks 10x more than its price.
I31B6533-EDIT.jpg

yattokame

I prefer stainless steel bracelets, honestly, how heavy can it get? I see some people wear a light brown belt, dark brown croc pattern leather and black leather boots...hurts my eyes just to watch .

sometimes its not the weight, its the look of the watch.

I also see some people wearing SS bracelet watch, thick silver wrist bracelet, metal frame glasses and chunky gold chain necklace... hurts my eyes too.

so complicated.

I just look into the mirror and my eyes hurt liao :s13:

All in a Day

not saying you're poor. don't be mistaken. i am also poor duh. i am currently jobless. can't be far worse than me.

all i am saying, don't squeeze your 2k just because you want to get him something.
save that 2k, save further more, get a higher budget then you can have more to choose from.
at the point, you can have all the options that he wants, and if that fits, he will wear it.

if you die die wanna spend that 2k on a watch and he doesn't even like it, what's the point right?

wear a seiko also can.
a sub $200 orient watch is damn good and looks expensive, for those don't know and for those who know, knows his wife got taste.

I31B6533-EDIT.jpg

Wah gx, u resigned ah? Starting business or a better job or ready to retire le? :D

jonleelk

Haha I think so too.. To be honest, I'm going to leave him to figure out what his holy grail is. Right now I just want something nice looking for him and I had hoped 2k was enough. If really too much of a stretch then maybe I should just give him angbao lol.

May I suggest you geh geh bring him kai kai to Millennium Walk, and blur blur walk into Gnomon and Red Army:

http://www.gnomonwatches.com/
http://redarmywatches.com/

These 2 shops carry affordable watches from watch makers that only make watches ... until most people won't even know these brands exisit! I myself used to be a Tag Heuer siao, and though the only pilot watchers are IWC ... until I discover Steinhart in Gnomon that has watches similar to Tag and IWC at less then half the prices.

If u are lucky, something <2k might just catch his heart when the watch is on his wrist, eg:

as.avg01.jpg

pi_nikolaiii-front.jpg

pi_nsp_skeleton_rg-right.jpg

The third pic looks like rose gold, skeleton, blue hands, and <2k.

After which, u quiet quiet go back and buy the watch. But please don't blame me in future if your hubby kenna poisoned that there are so many value for $ watches ...

coern

wear a seiko also can.

I31B6533-EDIT.jpg

gxgx hair broducts making big $$? ;)

or graduated and finding new job liao?

Ed.YEO

...He does not know that I plan to get him a watch and these are all just observations I have from asking him subtly. The budget of 2k is mine and not his, hence why I was asking here to see if it's possible to find a watch which can fulfil his requirements... ...Sorry my budget too low lor. Poor people is like that one.
我自己本身也不是什么高薪一族。。。不过,我买表倒是买得开心,戴得开心,玩得开心。

每次将来到买表的好日子(我总是爱以日子的谐音来买表,比较容易记得嘛。。。)我总是在一个月之前或者半年之前就锁定我要的型款,再到錶铺下订。无形中,这下订也就变成“分期付款”。那么再取錶的时候,付的尾款也就不会给那个月可开销加上压力。

买錶+戴錶,玩錶+赏錶,基本上有点差别。

买錶+戴錶,基本上也就只是将手錶当成每日配饰品。讲得难听点,如果看时间,基本上人人都有一机,随时随地往口袋一掏,就能报时。哪么手錶也就变成多数人的附属“配件”。可有可无。

买錶+戴錶+玩錶,虽然也算是把手錶当成每日配饰,但是成本上就要添加一些开销。此时,玩錶就有不同性质了。有些人玩錶只玩款,有些人玩錶在于玩工艺,有些人玩錶就如玩金条。。。也就只是将錶当成储值品,等待收否能升值,还是回值了。
玩款的人多数不会去再意品牌,而是外表设计有多炫,有多潮。
玩艺的人有些会以品牌为考量,不过多数的玩家还是比较在意手錶功能,还是外形上下了多少功夫高创意。
玩值的人嘛。。。不必看创意,不必在乎款式。。。只看品牌就行了。哪个广告功夫做得足,炒作搞得夯,就有市场价值。

买錶+戴錶+玩錶+赏錶,这样的玩家在我们平常打工一族比较少见。。。因为这些錶款一般上都是我们中下层的薪水比较难负担的。这些錶款一般上不是什么叫的出,记得起的独立制錶家产品,完全与一般高级品牌的是市场曝光率有很大的反差。一般上,5位数的高级品牌已经叫人吃不消,更何况是可买一间三房式组屋的独立制錶家出品?

礼物不分贵贱。就算是自己老婆送的也不会拒绝。我相信以目前的经济情况来看,老公也许比较在乎你用多少钱买那只錶,分期付款方面会不会给你每个月的开销添加压力。
所以买錶的关键也就落在 实用性与可修性 了。

如果你希望老公能够每天戴着你送的錶,你就要仔细地去了解老公的工作环境与他的班后活动了。
要是你的老公是个文静的人,放工后就只是与同事聚餐,喝酒,放松,打电玩,看戏,听音乐。。。等等。。。买只粗大的运动錶款如浪琴HydroQuest,就有些“唐突”了。。。根本就与其性格有着很大的反差。
要是你的老公是个好动的“家伙”,放工后运动,游泳,还是参与其他活动。。。你买只浪琴秀气錶款,感觉上会变得软弱,娘气的。。。:s22: 在别人的眼里看起来似乎有削弱老公阳刚味的意图了。。。

$2000买一只錶对一些人来说,也许不大,或许过高。对我来说已经是一个奢侈的预算了。
一般市场上多数的瑞士錶款在这预算里面,采用的都是一般高产量三手机芯,可修性高,保值性低。如果你肯网购的话,2000可以买到比较复杂功能的可修性机械表款,就如我所提到的,保值性没有那么光彩。
有些电子石英錶也有高达$2000的价格,又复杂功能的,也有简单三手的。往往这些錶款都是中下,中层品牌产品。

Emospence

sorry not familiar with the functions for replying to all... Am starting to save up with budget around 2k - 3.5k and i really like the minimalist design by Nomos. Was wondering if the money spent on other brands would be better if i did on Nomos.

Many thanks in advance!!

Can't do better than them for a minimalist design in your price range!

Lurker_13

我自己本身也不是什么高薪一族。。。不过,我买表倒是买得开心,戴得开心,玩得开心。

每次将来到买表的好日子(我总是爱以日子的谐音来买表,比较容易记得嘛。。。)我总是在一个月之前或者半年之前就锁定我要的型款,再到錶铺下订。无形中,这下订也就变成“分期付款”。那么再取錶的时候,付的尾款也就不会给那个月可开销加上压力。

买錶+戴錶,玩錶+赏錶,基本上有点差别。

买錶+戴錶,基本上也就只是将手錶当成每日配饰品。讲得难听点,如果看时间,基本上人人都有一机,随时随地往口袋一掏,就能报时。哪么手錶也就变成多数人的附属“配件”。可有可无。

买錶+戴錶+玩錶,虽然也算是把手錶当成每日配饰,但是成本上就要添加一些开销。此时,玩錶就有不同性质了。有些人玩錶只玩款,有些人玩錶在于玩工艺,有些人玩錶就如玩金条。。。也就只是将錶当成储值品,等待收否能升值,还是回值了。
玩款的人多数不会去再意品牌,而是外表设计有多炫,有多潮。
玩艺的人有些会以品牌为考量,不过多数的玩家还是比较在意手錶功能,还是外形上下了多少功夫高创意。
玩值的人嘛。。。不必看创意,不必在乎款式。。。只看品牌就行了。哪个广告功夫做得足,炒作搞得夯,就有市场价值。

买錶+戴錶+玩錶+赏錶,这样的玩家在我们平常打工一族比较少见。。。因为这些錶款一般上都是我们中下层的薪水比较难负担的。这些錶款一般上不是什么叫的出,记得起的独立制錶家产品,完全与一般高级品牌的是市场曝光率有很大的反差。一般上,5位数的高级品牌已经叫人吃不消,更何况是可买一间三房式组屋的独立制錶家出品?

礼物不分贵贱。就算是自己老婆送的也不会拒绝。我相信以目前的经济情况来看,老公也许比较在乎你用多少钱买那只錶,分期付款方面会不会给你每个月的开销添加压力。
所以买錶的关键也就落在 实用性与可修性 了。

如果你希望老公能够每天戴着你送的錶,你就要仔细地去了解老公的工作环境与他的班后活动了。
要是你的老公是个文静的人,放工后就只是与同事聚餐,喝酒,放松,打电玩,看戏,听音乐。。。等等。。。买只粗大的运动錶款如浪琴HydroQuest,就有些“唐突”了。。。根本就与其性格有着很大的反差。
要是你的老公是个好动的“家伙”,放工后运动,游泳,还是参与其他活动。。。你买只浪琴秀气錶款,感觉上会变得软弱,娘气的。。。:s22: 在别人的眼里看起来似乎有削弱老公阳刚味的意图了。。

$2000买一只錶对一些人来说,也许不大,或许过高。对我来说已经是一个奢侈的预算了。
一般市场上多数的瑞士錶款在这预算里面,采用的都是一般高产量三手机芯,可修性高,保值性低。如果你肯网购的话,2000可以买到比较复杂功能的可修性机械表款,就如我所提到的,保值性没有那么光彩。
有些电子石英錶也有高达$2000的价格,又复杂功能的,也有简单三手的。往往这些錶款都是中下,中层品牌产品。

👍👍 gd point ! :D

Ed.YEO

Haha I think so too.. To be honest, I'm going to leave him to figure out what his holy grail is. Right now I just want something nice looking for him and I had hoped 2k was enough. If really too much of a stretch then maybe I should just give him angbao lol.
...holy grail...
这一词我总是在不同论坛上见到,但是一直搞不清楚其真正含义。。。
有些人当作是“最终”目标。
有些人当作是“最高”境界。
有些人当作是“最顶”极限。
还有零零种种的“最”。。。。

但,有些人心总是不足的。。。今天能够买下一辆C190,三年后薪水涨了,职位升了就想E250了,下一次就往S系列看了。。。
买錶也是如此,今天买得了“排哪里”,一两年后就往“老乐”看去,再来,“爱达标痴”?

Donten

If you can skip the skeleton part, the mont blanc heritage chronometrie ultra slim is a very nice watch for your husband and should be within your budget.

It has a open case back so you still get to see the works. Very modest looking dial and comfortable size and thickness.

https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/the-montblanc-heritage-chronometrie-ultra-slim

Edit: http://www.deployant.com/review-montblanc-heritage-chronometrie-ultra-slim/

http://www.ablogtowatch.com/montblanc-heritage-chronometrie-ultra-slim-hands/

https://monochrome-watches.com/introducing-the-montblanc-heritage-chronometrie-ultra-slim-hands-on-with-an-attractive-and-affordable-dress-watch-photos-specs-and-price/

BlitzStryker

wear a seiko also can.

I31B6533-EDIT.jpg
Orient is the way to go, 200 bucks for a affordable and durable great looking office/dress watch.

For the remaining 1800, go on a holiday together with your husband and have fun.

Don't need buy an expensive watch. Orient has a reputable history and is also under seiko, far better than those fashion brands watches. Here's mine Orient bambino, agreed with what Gx recommended. Have fun shopping!
ojaes0Xl.jpg

Sent from Motorola NEXUS 6 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.