The Watch Thread - Part 9

yattokame

Maybe 3 watches that u can buy for less than 1k in total

Dress: orient bambino (ppl here gonna castrate me if I say DW but I honestly think they are very nice dress watches. And fuss free quartz somemore)
Casual: seagull 1943 chronograph. Either size is fine. The yellow face w green NATO is best.
Sporty: Seiko skx007 or its variants.

Had all three of them but only left with the bambino.

Whats your take?

(So theres gonna be a seagull fever now?)

One of my old pics with the seagull 42mm.
I like the hands and dial. The feeling when u wind the watch and when u use the chrono. I dunno how to describe it but quite different. Looks fantastic on green nato.
D050EB59-F398-4BDD-824F-DE1EECC9ECD4_zpsmlc3b0rn.jpg

slow_mo

Could anyone direct me to a shop or online that sells mid to higher end after-market straps? I am handing my missus my watch so the current straps are too big for her. She is not that keen on nato straps, more towards croc skin or plain leather.

Gnomon watches do sell Rios1931 straps that are shorter in length. I bought those for my wife. It's croc print on calf leather.

a562140

care to share why you prefer the 42 over the 38?
mine was the 42 as well simply because I love the transparent caseback.

with the sale now i'm considering getting one again

i feel that the 1963 is more like a pilot, so easy-to-read size dials and sub-dials fits the look.

colour wise its gold/red/blue and a distinctive star makes it quite flashy... its one of those things you wear shamelessly, and you want it to be loud. :D

cokiee

I have concluded that I prefer the 42mm over the 38. For me, the 38's outwardly yellow dial actually chips away at the beauty. Yellow is not a colour that's easy to bring out - this one seems to want to fight with the blue, red, and star.

In contrast the cream dial on the 42mm is somewhat understated. Maybe that's what I like, even with the loud hands etc. hehe.

Wonder if the price can be lowered if a few people here get it.

That said. how are seagulls like vis-a-vis say, a bambino?

TeenTitan01

Went to SSLL the new bronze bb!

Bronze BB!

Bronze BB vs Burgundy BB!

Bonus!
Free $50 Tudor ezlink card!

wah lau eh... can see the bronze bay kena molested until fingerprints all over... shudder!!! must feel damn shiok with the free $50 limited edition ezlink card! :D

TeenTitan01

AFF64CD0-8019-438B-9074-427915C411E1_zpshp4ydkyh.jpg

Morning......

bro, you were the first to post pics of your patek nautilus on wrist. then you went MIA. and when bro cbs started posting pics of his patek nautilus later (very same model as yours), i started wondering, hmmm... is yattokame = chickenbackside?!! well is it?! :eek:

bro cbs, please log in and clarify! :s12:

yattokame

bro, you were the first to post pics of your patek nautilus on wrist. then you went MIA. and when bro cbs started posting pics of his patek nautilus later (very same model as yours), i started wondering, hmmm... is yattokame = chickenbackside?!! well is it?! :eek:

bro cbs, please log in and clarify! :s12:

actually I like his backside......;)

eh, not his hotdog meh? you always harp on people's hotdogs. :s22:

take it slow baby. hands today, dogs tomorrow

TeenTitan01

case size really depends on whether you're a stickler for period authentic dimensions or present day/individual taste.

gentleman watches in the past was a mere 33mm diameter. shocking huh?

in any case (yeah, pun fully intended here ;):D), my humble opinion is that DIAL size is more important than case size.

take a diver style watch for eg. while it may have a beefy case size, it's rotating bezel means that it's dial size can be smaller than a watch with a thin bezel yet with a smaller case size.

thus a diver with a smaller dial size wears smaller than a smaller watch with a thinner bezel simply because the dial size of the smaller watch is bigger than the diver's.

Ed.YEO

babychimz

Haha yup! It was full of finger prints. Got free drinks and small bites too! Buay pai from Tudor!

wah lau eh... can see the bronze bay kena molested until fingerprints all over... shudder!!! must feel damn shiok with the free $50 limited edition ezlink card! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.