The Watch Thread - Part 9

TeenTitan01

go with your feel...wear it on your wrist and feel the difference...look at it n see the difference..... cheaper=better or newer=better.... pepsi or coke? milo or ovaltine? your own opinion matters or strangers opinion matter....?

no matter your choice....feeling of collecting n spending your first night with the watch u like is priceless

That line just sounds weird... :s22:

feels absolutely normal to me. :D

TeenTitan01

From when I start read watch forum until now, eta vs in-house topic never stop... I realize that the only difference of the eta vs in-house it is $$!
Eta = easier to service means cheap
In-house = must return to them for the service means expensive

Accuracy = both also can get cosc
Like some brand they no have cosc doesn't means bo chun, my IWC eta7750 4 mths slow 35 seconds, last time I check -1s per day.

So from now what I see, how much budget will u like to spend, if u really love the design u won't bother the movement, if u have extra just go in-house, take in-house like a brand respect, but if u don't want to spend too much just go with eta.
Just like me, poor guy so choose IWC eta7750 (don't laugh, it is true)

in-house =/= atas, expensive

the mechanical movements in seiko, orient, citizen watches are by the definition of "in-house" truly in-house, because they are designed & manufactured by their respective japanese makers.

TeenTitan01

ETA vs In-house movement should not be critical, especially for entry level mechanical type watches. My only advice is that, if it's ETA - doesn't make it "inferior". If it's in-house, doesn't make it "superior"

iwc has a legendary perpetual calender - modified to the max from an ETA movement - and unique in that all changes can be made via the stem. it doesn't require countersunk pushers to correct the day/date/moonphase/what have you. pretty impressive.

TeenTitan01

Don't look ppl down, even today he cannot buy doesn't means he won't get tmr.

We are a watch lover, u will see a lot ppl same like him when they start the first luxury watch. Unless the ppl are rich, if not confirm same like him, just different the person dare to ask or not (Seannie confirm dare) haha

in this day & age of google, most of the avail info is out there if only one is patient and diligent to search. and some expert articles offer really high quality knowledge too!

this seannie has an established pattern of trolling/psychopersonality disorder. nuff said.

TeenTitan01

Sean, reading through your responses and understanding your concerns, I think jonleelk's suggestion of buying a Rolex is most suitable. Just save up for another year and go straight to a Rolex.

You won't have to deal with in house or ETA movements because all Rolex watches have in house movements.

You won't have to deal with people thinking you bought a Rolex wannabe.

Rolex movements are legendary for their reliability and robustness.

When something does go wrong, Rolex watches are easy to service and there are plenty of cheap servicing options outside of Rolex Service Centre.

Rolex watches retain the most value, and at anytime if you need cash, you can easily immediately sell it, suffering the least depreciation of any watch brand on earth.

In the grand scheme of things, even if the watch costs more than double to buy, spread over your lifetime, which a Rolex will easily last for, and your children's lifetime for that matter, the cost is minimal.

Not trolling you. My honest thoughts.

bro cbs, you posted your sincere opinion in your commendable moment of charity, patience and compassion.

nevertheless, this will be seannie's predicatable scared-this, scared-that response:

Code:
with so many fake rolex around, even if i pay for real rolex, will my relatives know it's real. what if they say "fake one!", then how? etc, etc, etc... ad nauseam.

and wait till he finds out about the incidences of the rolex pearl dropping off and ceramic bezels cracking - THEN in his frenzied hypochondriac state, he will start blaming you for recommending him a sub-par rolex sub. rotflmao...

face it, this guy is just not ready for a watch - luxury or otherwise.

not being nasty, but simply stating the truth.

TeenTitan01

Wah.. Yr account 90k still need to think and talk so much but in the end no buy a 4k watch.. My account only 15k I bought my patek wo even blinking my eyes.. U damed poor thing.

wah lau, that one is your savings account lah - to pay the GIRO bills right? and savings account =/= net assets under management.

you haven't mentioned your offshore/forex/nominee accounts yet, correct? and it's only natural that you bought your patek with your choice of amex centurion blackcard, right? why pay cash when it makes sense to rack up the points/air miles on that anodised titanium. no? ;):D

TeenTitan01

MB&F craze here........ need 1 more to complete the collection of black badger

hs6yyv.jpg

358att5.jpg

11guj4m.jpg

you know you're really, like REALLY loaded, when you can use hermes fabrics as a backdrop for your uber-lux watches... and has the means to "complete the collection". :eek: ;) :D :s12:

yattokame

i've notice that bro yattokame has been wearing TWO watches on wrist, previously it was TWO open-worked/skeleton watches - so... is the the new fashion? will it catch on? :D

morning bro. u sure are early.
there's actually a third watch i'm wearing. come my house I show you where it is. :s13:

was out with a close fren and she happened to be wearing this pam - with blue strap also. So borrowed from her for a wrist shot lor.

TeenTitan01

morning bro. u sure are early.
there's actually a third watch i'm wearing. come my house I show you where it is. :s13:

was out with a good fren and she happened to be wearing this pam - with blue strap also. So borrowed from her for a wrist shot lor.

unless yours is transplanted from a horse, no strap or bracelet is narrow enough to get a grip, geddit? ;)

yattokame

chill guys.

if he is really looking for advice, then we can offer some. sometimes people just have a hard time making decisions. I once saved for a rolex but when I was ready, and with the watch in my hand, I asked my sales to put it back. Our kids were just born then and I really shouldn't spend that much. I also said I'd like to buy this watch buy that watch but usually end up backing out. Or buy already then sell. LOL

if he is trolling, we can choose not to feed him. it only pleases a troll to see you fall into his trap - so why argue with an idiot? He'll bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.
look the other way or use the ignore function. I don't know him well enough to judge him, neither will I. I've better things to do.

we didn't come to this forum to upset ourselves.

We came here to share our passion for watches. To check out the rare pieces that iceflight has bought. To mass-mod snzh into FFF. To share lobangs and create chat groups for gtg. To talk about holding hands and hotdogs.

We've had lotsa fun and good memories on this forum, so let's keep it this way, shall we?

edit: sorry ah - kinda preachy so early in the morning. LOL

Seannie

U buy limpeh tok. Come quote moi.

No need to chop lar. I got some good info advices from some of the kind bros here. Appreciate that. Why always say and never buy is becos unsure wat to buy and also past few years dont have the safety net yet to splurge. Now i think im ready and this is the time to buy. Last to say, i dont mean to troll as what some think i am. Will buy my first tudor and take it from there. Thanks and sorry for being a nuisance as some thought me to be.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.