Thinning Hair problem

UnlimitedBladeWorks

coolraider and UnlimitedBladeWorks:

MPB is a complex problem for human. Stumptail Macaque is used for finasteride early dosage test and it cure almost 100% of their balding problem. unlike human, anti-androgen is not very effective for our balding problem as it is very likely that the balding process is cause by mulitple factors. so to me, a more complete treatment should cover a wide range of possible underlying factor.

i spare the details here unless you guys is really interested. the other points i mention although is not tested directly against balding, small scale tests and observation sugguest it link to MPB. there are patent hold in many drugs that have effect on these factors for MPB.

sadly, there is no way we can test these factors involve yet. it is still open for debate whether all this is causing MPB. but overall, one thing you can rest assure if you are suffering for MPB, anti-androgen does play an important role in controlling hairloss. to detect your type of hairloss is not too hard. a good doctor with experience should be able to determine.

Iso, can u suggest any good doctor here that can tell if its MPB? because as far as i know, to detect MPB u actually have to do a scalp mapping to map out the pattern of miniaturization. i mean unless theres already a very clear norwood pattern, most of us here i think maybe just have the early thinning or hairloss problem. Im sorry to sound skeptical but it seems like from what i read esp NSC docs dont really seem to do more tests. other than blood test or mayb hair pulling test, shldnt in depth test like scalp biopsy be done?

btw, iso from ur experience, can help me with a query. i realise all my fallen hair the tip is white leh, why is this so? i c my family one the tip is black. thats mpb?

devilrer

Hi isopropyl,
U mentioned that emu oil might be useful for mpb as well,Where can i get emu oil,is it useful for regrowth purposes?Any other method to reccomend other than minoxidil and proscar?Thanks

youinmylife

Hello everybody, I used to have very thick hair but after numerous chemical treatments I am experiencing drastic hair fall. It is scaring me. Recently, I bought Gen tonic to nourish my scalp back to health but I am not sure if the moisturizing effect will worsen my oily scalp? Please reply me as I'm so stressed over this. =( I need to know if the tonic will be useful to regain my scalp's health to what it was. Thanks

UnlimitedBladeWorks

devilrer: ive check online dont think anywhere carries that. have to order online. Iso, if u do have any lobang where to get emu oil please tell us ok?

youinmylife: i not pro but i think if it is moisturizing stuff, it will definitely worsen it. i also have oily scalp. actually how relevant is oily scalp to hairloss? is anyone here having hairloss who doesnt have oily scalp?

coolraider

I got mine from "www.cancerstory.com" too.. Well i dun see any much help..Since it is oil, it will make ur scalp oiler.. I only dip abit or two once in a week.. From many websites, Emu oil do do some benefits on hair/scalp problem.
I last came across selling of Emu oil in Nature Farm phama.. You may wanna check out there.

hairlosshelp

hey people,
decided to get myself an account today. A little self intro on my thinning hair experience. I'm currently in early adulthood (20+). It's the age when self-conscious male like me started to be wary of their hair-loss. When i found out about my slow but steadily baldness problem, i decided to do alot of research and naively trying to look for "cure".

Even though i told myself it was a common male problem, my self-esteem and confidence slowly broke down by the day. My habit of looking myself in front of the mirror before going out of the house was gone. Eye contacts with strangers or friends became nervous look-aways because i fear they might be looking at my widening hairline. To sum it up, i am miserable.

But throughout my research over the past 2++ years, i found that there were very little resources about hairloss help in Singapore until... i found this thread. This was a excellent thread and hopefully more people with hairloss problem would quickly find this page before they get duped by any self-proclaimed health centre to be able to cure hair loss. You guys know who i am referring to. ;)

I'm trying to get a website up and running to gather all about hairloss knowledge i know and i might get some "lau jiaos" in this thread to help me out. I know someone tried setting up a forum for singaporeans who suffer hairloss but it didnt materialise.

It's just an inital idea and the website wouldn't be up so ffast. So in the meanwhile, i will try to share my knowledge and experience with u guys

zorrus

anyone tried gg for treatment from Hairloss centres like Yunnan, Beijing, Svenson, etc etc? how effective are they?

Been thinking of checking them out.

HmMmMm

dont waste your money to go yunnan, beijing etc...they will just make u drop ur hair even more...

they are just like our ERP system...say will ease traffic congestion, but the truth is its just digging $ out from our pocket

Isopropyl

hey people,
decided to get myself an account today. A little self intro on my thinning hair experience. I'm currently in early adulthood (20+). It's the age when self-conscious male like me started to be wary of their hair-loss. When i found out about my slow but steadily baldness problem, i decided to do alot of research and naively trying to look for "cure".

Even though i told myself it was a common male problem, my self-esteem and confidence slowly broke down by the day. My habit of looking myself in front of the mirror before going out of the house was gone. Eye contacts with strangers or friends became nervous look-aways because i fear they might be looking at my widening hairline. To sum it up, i am miserable.

But throughout my research over the past 2++ years, i found that there were very little resources about hairloss help in Singapore until... i found this thread. This was a excellent thread and hopefully more people with hairloss problem would quickly find this page before they get duped by any self-proclaimed health centre to be able to cure hair loss. You guys know who i am referring to. ;)

I'm trying to get a website up and running to gather all about hairloss knowledge i know and i might get some "lau jiaos" in this thread to help me out. I know someone tried setting up a forum for singaporeans who suffer hairloss but it didnt materialise.

It's just an inital idea and the website wouldn't be up so ffast. So in the meanwhile, i will try to share my knowledge and experience with u guys

hi, welcome to join this thread:)

so mind sharing your hairloss treatment history?

hairlosshelp

anyone tried gg for treatment from Hairloss centres like Yunnan, Beijing, Svenson, etc etc? how effective are they?

Been thinking of checking them out.

I ever thought of going there but i heard alot, really alot of bad experience and none successful. Might as well save the money for hair transplant. But they wun make your hair drop more, but as effective as they advertise themselves to be

hairlosshelp

hi, welcome to join this thread:)

so mind sharing your hairloss treatment history?

Hi Iso,
ok when i started my research, the first treatment i tried was Revivogen. As some people in the thread mentioned, it was oily and had a herbal smell. I tried for 4-5 months but wasn't very consistent in applying the thing.

Something i noticed abt people in this thread is that they hope for success in short period of time. After 2-3 weeks, they see no difference and they gave up. A tip is to give every a period of 6 months before evaluating the result.

Ok let's tok abt the effectiveness of the Revivogen, i applied mostly on left frontal side of the head coz my right side was still quite okay. After six months, my right frontal side began to thin badly but left side was still able to hold up and look thicker than the right side. Vellus Hair could be seen growing at location where i applied the Revivogen. Overall, i think it was not bad but been young at that time, i thought nothing of the result so i went for other treatment.

Later i heard fish oil and some other supplements works, so i got some and is eating them til now.

Minoxidil was next. I used the liquid version and it was hell for me. It was itchy as hell and my hair started dropping significantly. But i was told it was normal. I endured 4 months and i gave it up. There was also evidence of hair regrowth but the hairline was uneven.

okay i fast forward the story.. I got rogaine foam spray to replace the Mino liquid version and it was a God-send gift. No more Itchiness and same effectiveness. I got propecia from doctors and generic propecia from India to balance out the expenses.

anyway, that's a summary of my treatment.. hopefully some people learned smt

Maingraph

hey people,

hi there is presently a website up already, which has been experiencing some issues, and the site is presently relocated to sghairtalk.com which will be up tomorrow.

sorry guys for the 1 month plus downtime of sghairgrow.com, the informations are still being re transited to sghairtalk, so most of the words u'll see are sghairgrow

those who are interested to continue to help, please lend a hand thanks

Isopropyl

Anyway Iso, what do you think of my website idea?
of course i think it will be great to have a delicate website for guys in singapore.

although i learn alot most mostly oversea forums, alot of sourcing for medication i still have to go through the hard way since no one can tell me what to do or where to get in the early days. if i have someone to guide and help me, i will have save alot of money, time and not to mention possible hair.

look like maingraph is back with his fourms. it will be good if we can gather in a single forums rather then all over the place. it will be much easier to promote the fourms and gather people with similar problem and experiences. the more people we have, the better our knowledge base will be.

no matter what, i do hope that we can have a place for our own purpose in the end rather then dumping everything in a single thread.

Constant

of course i think it will be great to have a delicate website for guys in singapore.

although i learn alot most mostly oversea forums, alot of sourcing for medication i still have to go through the hard way since no one can tell me what to do or where to get in the early days. if i have someone to guide and help me, i will have save alot of money, time and not to mention possible hair.

look like maingraph is back with his fourms. it will be good if we can gather in a single forums rather then all over the place. it will be much easier to promote the fourms and gather people with similar problem and experiences. the more people we have, the better our knowledge base will be.

no matter what, i do hope that we can have a place for our own purpose in the end rather then dumping everything in a single thread.

Yes! I strongly support this idea! :)

hairlosshelp

Hair-Loss Forum for Singaporeans is finally up!!

Hi everyone, i did up a forum for hair-loss discussion just for Singaporeans. Singaporeans males can go there to discuss their ways for treating hair loss and also to voice their opinions. The forum is definitely not created to make a fast bucks off anyone. I just want all Singaporean Males who are suffering from MPB to be able to congregate at one place and help each other in one way or another.

So ppl, please make this forum a success and let's participate. Let other singaporeans who are suffering from hairloss know that they are not alone.
Link here:http://z10.invisionfree.com/HairLoss_Help_for_SG/index.php?act=idx

For Maingraph,
maybe we can combine the forum of mine and the website of yours together to make it a one-stop portal for everyone. I think we can work something out. :)

WaddyDiddy

Hi guys, just want to share this with you all.

On Monday (11 Aug), I went to NSC for my appointment with a doctor (name I shall not reveal for privacy sake). I made a direct appointment with NSC, you can do it on www.nsc.gov.sg. They assigned me a consultant level doctor, the cost was around $65. If you got a senior consultant it will be more expensive, around $70 plus. I didn't bother to get a referral from polyclinic coz it's just time consuming, you may save a little, like $10-$20? I think you still need to pay the doctor for the referral.

My condition is some thinning on the crown, no bald spots. It's not very obvious when my hair is longer, but quite obvious when it's short. I noticed I had such a problem around 20-21, I'm now 25. Anyway since 21, my hair has maintained in that condition without medication. My hairline and crown has maintained without getting worse.

So the doctor was very nice and professional, he told me I have 3 choices:
1. Do nothing, and have the possibility of it getting worse/
2. Use topical solution on scalp
3. Take oral medication (Propecia)

He also mentioned that propecia is controls whats occuring inside your body, whereelse minodoxil just stimulate hairgrowth, plus propecia tends to work faster than minodoxil. He prescribed me 3 mths of propecia, and I'll go back for second consultation 3 mths later. 1 box of 28 pills propecia at NSC costs just under $95. I believe if you go find your family gp and make long term arrangement with him you could get it for around $85. I know $80-$90 per month is ex, but another way to look at it, it's cheaper than a starbucks latte everyday.

Good news is, Merck's patent for proscar is over since 2006 july. That's why proscar now is quite cheap. But Merck still has propecia patent till 2013, that's another 5 years. So think about it, propecia can only get cheaper in the long time, and by then, there could be better and more efficient treatment, or even permanent ones.

Personally, I feel there's nothing wrong in trying to keep your hair as there's nothing wrong with going bald. If you feel that you will have more confident with hair, then go seek treatment ASAP, so that you dont always have to be bothered by ur hair, and u can go concentrate on other things in life.

I have a friend 4-5 yrs older than me who takes propecia, his dad is all bald, but he has full hair of thick hair. So it proves propecia does work.

Dont waste time on Yun nam and BJ101, the kind of treatment they offer is more expensive and doesn't go to the root of your problem. If you are going to waste money on bunch of people who are not doctors, why not go see a doctor instead.

It's really ez, just book appointment with nsc online. My consultation was only about 15min. and I didn't wait long to meet the doctor since mine was morning. I hope in 3 months time my condition will improve, and i wish all of u the best!

hairlosshelp

Anyway to promote the forum and to encourage participation, first 5 person to register and participate in the forum can get a lobang for Rogaine spray foam. PM me for more info.

zorrus

Hi guys, just want to share this with you all.

On Monday (11 Aug), I went to NSC for my appointment with a doctor (name I shall not reveal for privacy sake). I made a direct appointment with NSC, you can do it on www.nsc.gov.sg. They assigned me a consultant level doctor, the cost was around $65. If you got a senior consultant it will be more expensive, around $70 plus. I didn't bother to get a referral from polyclinic coz it's just time consuming, you may save a little, like $10-$20? I think you still need to pay the doctor for the referral.

My condition is some thinning on the crown, no bald spots. It's not very obvious when my hair is longer, but quite obvious when it's short. I noticed I had such a problem around 20-21, I'm now 25. Anyway since 21, my hair has maintained in that condition without medication. My hairline and crown has maintained without getting worse.

So the doctor was very nice and professional, he told me I have 3 choices:
1. Do nothing, and have the possibility of it getting worse/
2. Use topical solution on scalp
3. Take oral medication (Propecia)

He also mentioned that propecia is controls whats occuring inside your body, whereelse minodoxil just stimulate hairgrowth, plus propecia tends to work faster than minodoxil. He prescribed me 3 mths of propecia, and I'll go back for second consultation 3 mths later. 1 box of 28 pills propecia at NSC costs just under $95. I believe if you go find your family gp and make long term arrangement with him you could get it for around $85. I know $80-$90 per month is ex, but another way to look at it, it's cheaper than a starbucks latte everyday.

Good news is, Merck's patent for proscar is over since 2006 july. That's why proscar now is quite cheap. But Merck still has propecia patent till 2013, that's another 5 years. So think about it, propecia can only get cheaper in the long time, and by then, there could be better and more efficient treatment, or even permanent ones.

Personally, I feel there's nothing wrong in trying to keep your hair as there's nothing wrong with going bald. If you feel that you will have more confident with hair, then go seek treatment ASAP, so that you dont always have to be bothered by ur hair, and u can go concentrate on other things in life.

I have a friend 4-5 yrs older than me who takes propecia, his dad is all bald, but he has full hair of thick hair. So it proves propecia does work.

Dont waste time on Yun nam and BJ101, the kind of treatment they offer is more expensive and doesn't go to the root of your problem. If you are going to waste money on bunch of people who are not doctors, why not go see a doctor instead.

It's really ez, just book appointment with nsc online. My consultation was only about 15min. and I didn't wait long to meet the doctor since mine was morning. I hope in 3 months time my condition will improve, and i wish all of u the best!
very good read!
did he prescribed u any topical solution for the scalp?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.