Thinning Hair problem

flagship

Hi everyone,

I'm balding only at the vertex for abt 1 year. abt 25% drop finish liao...

I've tried several things before like chili padi juice after I read about the hair growth promoting effects of capsaicin and that it's the main active ingredient in the Yun Nam Haircare treatment. But my hair still continued to drop although i notice minor vellus hair growth. These hairs are so fine they're pretty useless.

DHT causes scalp to be oily and thats why MPB men have shiny scalp. If you've really blocked DHT then your scalp should not be more oily than the hair patch at the back of your head or just above your ears. That oil also has a distinct odour. You can use the this as an off hand indicator as to whether your treatment is really working. I've also tried soy isoflavone and saw palmetto but my scalp was still oily and hair continued to fall so lost hope in those. If you're getting MPB hairfall at a young age then you've got a really strong version of the MBP gene because the weak kind only starts manifesting itself at about 40-50 years of age. If you're young then most likely you've got the enzymes for DHT production in your scalp, so systemic DHT reduction by finasteride tablets wont work as well. From my observations in MRT and SBS bus rides, I think there are at least 3 versions of the balding gene, and depending on which combo u get, you'll get a different pattern.

Then I bought minox 5% but I read it only promotes vellus hair growth. Thats the kind of hair thats not thick at all and looks like candy floss. I dunno if its can be obvious that thats not normal head hair. I've got a bottle that I'm keeping as backup.

I dont know about taking finasteride or some other oral medication because of the risk of sterility and I think its somewhat like a running a bulldozer to clear a tiny garden patch because you'll be altering your entire systemic hormonal balance just to treat a small patch of skin...

Now I'm applying topical spironolactone lotion and theres really significant reduction in oil production. I think its working but am not 100% sure yet. I dont think it promotes hair growth. I use for 2.5 weeks liao without anything else.

Nizoral 2% is quite useless also as theres no noticable reduction in scalp oiliness despite once daily 5min application. spirolonolactone works way better.

BTW, if you've lost all your hair, theres no way to grow it back. The follicles when gone will never regenerate with current technology.

Also, dont ever consider weaving because it looks obvious close up, and you'll look like you've got a rice paddy field on your head. Rice paddy with young rice. Equally spaced, in neat rows. You'll eventually bald again in 2 years, and whats left will be disfigurment from the needle scars. Needles the size of yakult straws. Botak is better.

I'm now looking into getting topical dutasteride as it blocks both kinds of DHT producing enzymes and has long half life. It has similar chemical structure to oestrogen as should absorb well through skin. I'm thinking with its long half life you'd only need to apply it a few times a week. Searching searching searching...

Thanks for e info.:yawn:

matoonia

not sure if this is posted before, apologies if it was mentioned earlier. Am hoping to get some expert advice - I'm experiencing localised hair loss on only a certain area of the scalp.and the hair loss very sudden one, just a month ago. I'm 30 yrs old. My regular hairdresser pointed out top of my head totally botak (when I touch the area it's smooth one), area is slighty bigger than 50cents coin. I was shocked when she showed the mirror for me! Coz everytime I cut hair, I always get "wah your hair a lot and very black hor". And strangely, other than the 50cents bald patch, rest of the hair unaffected.

Now I told her my family dun have history of hair problems, and myself have not had a single white hair or hair loss too. She suggested:
1) Beijing 101 - are the packages expensive? They do so much commercial also dun know if it's really that good
2) Ba Wang - haha, saw the Jacky Chan commerical I also think to myself the way he say it like very rehearsed leh - you do ad for people of course say until very good lah

any advice kindly appreciated!

rese987

hairmax lasercomb

hi if aneone wants the hairmax lasercomb, im sellin mine..
im using the hairmax lasercomb SE

selling coz, i dun need it anemore =)

msg me if ur intrested 90078741 rese

Asymtope

where do i get proscar in singapore or online?

to get proscar in sg have to see doctor.

Last time I always visit doctor to get propecia for 5 yrs. Now it seems propecia is losing its effectiveness as my hairloss worsen. Now, I just go Malaysia to buy proscar and cut into 4.

I used minox for 1 yr and it is not working. My hair lost due to minox did not grow back. :(

Now my hair problem is getting real bad, overall thinning.

My current regime is

1. Nizoral 2% shampoo 1 time per day
2. 1/4 proscar morning
3. Selsun blue shampoo night (for Seborrhoeic dermatitis) I got bad oily scalp
4. Just ordered Folligen + emu oil, not yet delivered.

My daily habits
1. eat normally
2. sedentary lifestyle
3. seldom exercise
4. sexual lifestyle: need to release once/twice a day , 5-6 times a week. (I am an easily aroused person, not sure if it's due to propecia as many pple claimed. Some pple claimed over ejaculation cause hair loss too, hmm)

Asymtope

anybody heard synthetic hair transplant? They use man made strand of lookalike hair to transplant on ur scalp.
The bad point is, some pple may encounter bad itchness on ur scalp.

flagship

to get proscar in sg have to see doctor.

Last time I always visit doctor to get propecia for 5 yrs. Now it seems propecia is losing its effectiveness as my hairloss worsen. Now, I just go Malaysia to buy proscar and cut into 4.

I used minox for 1 yr and it is not working. My hair lost due to minox did not grow back. :(

Now my hair problem is getting real bad, overall thinning.

My current regime is

1. Nizoral 2% shampoo 1 time per day
2. 1/4 proscar morning
3. Selsun blue shampoo night (for Seborrhoeic dermatitis) I got bad oily scalp
4. Just ordered Folligen + emu oil, not yet delivered.

My daily habits
1. eat normally
2. sedentary lifestyle
3. seldom exercise
4. sexual lifestyle: need to release once/twice a day , 5-6 times a week. (I am an easily aroused person, not sure if it's due to propecia as many pple claimed. Some pple claimed over ejaculation cause hair loss too, hmm)

u r lucky lah..i took prepecia and become botak now. i continue to take it though, cant stop already and treat it like sweet:D

mightyroy

For those of u pm me where to get spironolactone, I ordered it online. 2% lotion.

Yesterday, I missed my night time application because i was not feeling well, and my vertex was really oily for the whole of today, despite applying it again this morning. The DHT receptors are like musical chairs. You've got to let spironolactone sit on those chairs, and not DHT. Missing one application probably allows DHT to hog the seats, and it seems that when they do they do it for some time...

noinimod

Anyway, if there's anyone who wants to get proscar, i have an extra entire box (30 pills) available. This is 100% authentic Merck Proscar, no generic nonsense, bought from local doc at $130. Going for $90

oohman

Anyway, if there's anyone who wants to get proscar, i have an extra entire box (30 pills) available. This is 100% authentic Merck Proscar, no generic nonsense, bought from local doc at $130. Going for $90

What do u mean generic nonsense. They all work equally the same , whether generic or not.
It's just a branding thing.

The active ingredient is finsteride

oohman

is Kirkland Minoxidil 5% and Regro Minoxidil 5% the same???

Yes, they have the same active ingredient.

Only diff, might be due to other ingredients which may cause allergies like itchiness for some pple. So try the generic , if got some allergies , then choose the Rogaine and try.

jacqqq

just curious about those who experience hair loss,

1) what is your diet like? did u eat alot of vegetables and fruits? more nutrition stuff?

2) did u masterbuate alot? do u feel more horny than normal people?

hair loss usually is associated with homones disorder one...

PostCountWarrior[+1]

just curious about those who experience hair loss,

1) what is your diet like? did u eat alot of vegetables and fruits? more nutrition stuff?

2) did u masterbuate alot? do u feel more horny than normal people?

hair loss usually is associated with homones disorder one...
more to do wif genes...

u see those horny ppl from hollywood who av day **** **** also neh hair loss...

pcw +1

Isopropyl

have not been visting this thread for sometimes. just a few things on some of the posts from the last few pages.

1) Finasteride side effect. as others, i believe the percentage of people with side is higher then what merck reported. but still, it not really that bad. people from propeciahelp forum, you can say they are the extreme case in term of fear of propecia side effect. not that i doubt them, but really... you can consider them the fanatic of finasteride side effect. before propecia we have people taking proscar for so many years. finasteride is a relative safe drug for most people. i strongly encourage it as the foundation of any hairloss treatment.

2) minoxidil is like a biological toppik. it offset hair loss more then actually stopping it. although it work fairly poor for most people, i will consider it a great additional since we do not have much of a choice.

3) Topical spiro cream. it have some good study behind it. but from real life feedback. it seem to be doing very very little. i have never read much people claim result from it. still, it will be great to have as part of a multi-tier approach to hairloss treatment.

4) there is no clear evident that topical finasteride work. there is NO evident at all that dutasteride do anything. sure it pass through your skin easily. but does it act on scalp? no one know.

5) Finasteride does not really reduce skin surface oil production. and skin oilyness got nothing to do with hairloss in term of MPB. you can't measure how well finasteride work base on this. that is a myth.

6) ketoconazole is not great. but it one of the better thing we have for hairloss. it not being call the big 3 of hair loss for nothing.

Haleyjoelosment

is shampooing hair and dropping 20-40 strands of hairs everyday worrying..? should i go to NSC to check if i have hair loss issue.. will sleeping late cause hair loss? i slp 1-4am everyday..

PostCountWarrior[+1]

confirm bo?
look... u *** alot like let's say 14-16 yrs old last time? got hair loss anot? no right...

kaoz every guy *** lah, if lidat every guy got hair loss liao... *** wun lead to hair loss, unless u over do it of cos... like one day 3 times or more... :crazy:

its like the age old myth about lifting wieghts will increase ur testorane so will hair loss... if lidat everyone in the gym should be balding liao but they are not...

more to do wif genetics, stress, what hair products u use, and the way u treat ur hair correctly...

pcw +1

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.