Thoughts about ATX 3.0 PSUs

uselessbum

hmm even with the new 12VHPWER on PSU which are ready for ATX 3.0.. whats the issue, there are still normal 8pin PCIE connectors ah.. if you using old GPU then use the 8pin PCIE lor, as what I see here there are total of 6. so basically you can use either.. no need to worry about GPU old or new. both can use.

Issue is not enough for 3 x PCIE without resorting to daisy chain or sacrificing one cpu header. If you see the ones I posted, all except the MSI one have only 2 spare PCIe connections on the psu end.

:(

royfrosty

Even if that is not considered daisy chain, how do you split the 12VHPWR into 2 PCIe ones? Modify cable ourselves? Or use a 2 X PCIe to 12VHPWR adapter? Either method is not sanctioned by AMD, Nvidia or even the PSU makers themselves. So that means if something goes wrong, warranty is out of the window.

12pins. Fyi. 8pin pcie not all pins are utilised. So dont assumed 2 8pins = 16pins needed.

And you can group common ground pins to the same ground. If you do custom cables before you will know how it works. This is not Nvidia proprietary leh. This is also used in Dell OEM desktop also.

uselessbum

for PSU without. all cables tailored to use the 12VHPWR connectors are QC Tested (though sometimes mishaps will happened but very rare) if you are getting this Vertex PSU, just use whatever connector fits your GPU lor. anyway 1 8pin is 150watts ma.. even if you plug 4 8pin to one 12VHPWR, it will only draw power that is needed on your GPU. nothing to worry about.

Bro, I talking about connecting to a GPU that has 3 x PCIe connectors.

KleoZy

Issue is not enough for 3 x PCIE without resorting to daisy chain or sacrificing one cpu header. If you see the ones I posted, all except the MSI one have only 2 spare PCIe connections on the psu end.

why do you need to plug 2 x 8pin EPS to your motherboard? one is enough.. 2 is overkill.. unless you doing LN2 overclocking..

total 5 PCIE 8 pin,
1 for EPS motherboard you left 4. .. if you need 3 just plug 3 lor.. you still have 1 left. if you worry EPS not enough, plug the other lor so

2 x EPS
3 x GPU

done. no sweat.

uselessbum

12pins. Fyi. 8pin pcie not all pins are utilised. So dont assumed 2 8pins = 16pins needed.

And you can group common ground pins to the same ground. If you do custom cables before you will know how it works. This is not Nvidia proprietary leh. This is also used in Dell OEM desktop also.

What you are proposing then is custom method is not something laymen will be keen on taking up. Hence my concern about the issue. If use such method and something goes wrong, will amd or psu maker cover? No right?

KleoZy

What you are proposing then is custom method is not something laymen will be keen on taking up. Hence my concern about the issue. If use such method and something goes wrong, will amd or psu maker cover? No right?

For enuser, .. what GPU are you using? do you require 12VHPWR or you doing future proving? and do you require 2 x EPS for mobo? if yes then get the season vertex lor. if you decide to just use GPU with 12VHPWR, you can just grab any PSU that are ATX 3.0 ready.

uselessbum

why do you need to plug 2 x 8pin EPS to your motherboard? one is enough.. 2 is overkill.. unless you doing LN2 overclocking..

total 5 PCIE 8 pin,
1 for EPS motherboard you left 4. .. if you need 3 just plug 3 lor.. you still have 1 left. if you worry EPS not enough, plug the other lor so

2 x EPS
3 x GPU

done. no sweat.

Will something like a 13900k or 7950x run on a single EPS even if never overclock?

If all atx 3.0 psu got 5 x PCIe then I no need so tao tia already ma. You see the following, where got 5? At most 4 nia. And these are the better and expensive ones. Those that got 5 would be something like the MSI one that costs 599.

24100655748l.JPG

vertex-px-gx-750-connector-plate-leveled_1_1.png

royfrosty

Is nothing custom bro.... im just implying that this stupid 12vhpwr connector is nothing special. And in the box. This connector is provided for with every psu atx3.0 purchased. And it is never a daisy chain. Im least concern that things go south. Cause if things go south with their original connector. They better take up the responsibility.

KleoZy

Will something like a 13900k or 7950x run on a single EPS even if never overclock?

If all atx 3.0 psu got 5 x PCIe then I no need so tao tia already ma. You see the following, where got 5? At most 4 nia. And these are the better and expensive ones. Those that got 5 would be something like the MSI one that costs 599.

24100655748l.JPG

why not, i've been using on both platforms with just one EPS.. run smooth without issues.

uselessbum

For enuser, .. what GPU are you using? do you require 12VHPWR or you doing future proving? and do you require 2 x EPS for mobo? if yes then get the season vertex lor. if you decide to just use GPU with 12VHPWR, you can just grab any PSU that are ATX 3.0 ready.

I'm not looking to change now. I'm just thinking out loud about in future if I do decide to change my PSU.

royfrosty

Just use with confidence. No nuclear science or anything short changed on the psu manufacturer end. Dont worry AMD will one day go over to this connector also.

The things you worry, is nothing.

uselessbum

Is nothing custom bro.... im just implying that this stupid 12vhpwr connector is nothing special. And in the box. This connector is provided for with every psu atx3.0 purchased. And it is never a daisy chain. Im least concern that things go south. Cause if things go south with their original connector. They better take up the responsibility.

I know they got provide 12VHPWR, what about the 12VHPWR to 2 x PCIe you mentioned? That one they got provide as well?

uselessbum

Just use with confidence. No nuclear science or anything short changed on the psu manufacturer end. Dont worry AMD will one day go over to this connector also.

The things you worry, is nothing.

I hope AMD switches. What I'm afraid is that they will stick to PCIe because they want to be "different" from Nvidia for the sake of it.

KleoZy

I'm not looking to change now. I'm just thinking out loud about in future if I do decide to change my PSU.

I see. if you intend to keep your current PSU and it's still workable on future GPU that requires 12VHPWR connectors. search to see the manufacturer does provide sales on those cables which fit only to your PSU Brand or you can consult Cablemod.com before getting any custom cable for your PSU. they response super fast. https://store.cablemod.com/compatibility/

86technie

Bro, OMG like most say already.
Which PSU to choose depends on graphic card.
Why ATX 3.0 doesn't provide more PCIE connector is because the 12vhpwr provide up
to 600 watt of power.
Manufacturer could not provide more PCIE connector without risk of overloading.

So if you need more PCIE connector than just get ATX 2.0 not ATX 3.0.
It's not like last time during Intel Pentium 4 where newer motherboard
need 24pin since newer CPU draw more power.

At that time for new rig definitely need a new PSU.
FYI the 12vhpwr adapter is provided inside the graphic card not the power supply.
So for your Radeon card just get a decent ATX 2.0 not ATX 3.0.

Even if you change to RTX 4000 just use adapter provided inside the box will do.
Nothing to worry unlike last time Intel Pentium 4 era ATX 2.0 PSU is required.
Since back than most PSU are ATX 1.0 and only have 20 pin there's no converter to 24pin.

uselessbum

Bro, OMG like most say already.
Which PSU to choose depends on graphic card.
Why ATX 3.0 doesn't provide more PCIE connector is because the 12vhpwr provide up
to 600 watt of power.
Manufacturer could not provide more PCIE connector without risk of overloading.

So if you need more PCIE connector than just get ATX 2.0 not ATX 3.0.
It's not like last time during Intel Pentium 4 where newer motherboard
need 24pin since newer CPU draw more power.

At that time for new rig definitely need a new PSU.
FYI the 12vhpwr adapter is provided inside the graphic card not the power supply.
So for your Radeon card just get a decent ATX 2.0 not ATX 3.0.

Even if you change to RTX 4000 just use adapter provided inside the box will do.
Nothing to worry unlike last time Intel Pentium 4 era ATX 2.0 PSU is required.
Since back than most PSU are ATX 1.0 and only have 20 pin there's no converter to 24pin.

Like I pointed out in my example, there's no issue if the person buys an atx 3.0 psu now to use with a 4xxx gpu. There's also no issue in future if such a person continues to buy Nvidia GPU and if Nvidia continues to use 12VHPWR.

The issue comes up if such a person decides to switch to a gpu that has 3 x PCIe connectors in future, be it amd or intel. How then if the atx 3.0 PSU that they intially bought for the 4xxx got only 2 PCIe connections on the psu end? That means got to either use daisy chain for one of the cables or sacrifice(assuming the model allows EPS to be used as PCIe as well) one of the EPS or switch PSU to one that got 3 dedicated/spare PCIE connections on the psu.

As for the 12VHPWR, my understanding is that he is referring to a 12VHPWR to PCIE connector heads adapter. That means an adapter that connects to the 12VHPWR and terminates in PCIe connector heads so that can use the 12VHPWR on the PSU as PCIe and connect to the PCIe connectors on the GPU. Not PCIe to 12VHPWR one provided by nvidia that is for connecting to a 12VHPWR slot on the GPU. AFAIK, there's no such adapter provided by the PSU makers or gpu manufacturers.

I don't think it is an issue about overloading either because the most expensive models like seasonic vertex px and msi meg provide more PCIe slots on the PSU side.

86technie

Like I pointed out in my example, there's no issue if the person buys an atx 3.0 psu now to use with a 4xxx gpu. There's also no issue in future if such a person continues to buy Nvidia GPU and if Nvidia continues to use 12VHPWR.

The issue comes up if such a person decides to switch to a gpu that has 3 x PCIe connectors in future, be it amd or intel. How then if the atx 3.0 PSU that they intially bought for the 4xxx got only 2 PCIe connections on the psu end? That means got to either use daisy chain for one of the cables or sacrifice(assuming the model allows EPS to be used as PCIe as well) one of the EPS or switch PSU to one that got 3 dedicated/spare PCIE connections on the psu.

As for the 12VHPWR, my understanding is that he is referring to a 12VHPWR to PCIE connector heads adapter. That means an adapter that connects to the 12VHPWR and terminates in PCIe connector heads so that can use the 12VHPWR on the PSU as PCIe and connect to the PCIe connectors on the GPU. Not PCIe to 12VHPWR one provided by nvidia that is for connecting to a 12VHPWR slot on the GPU. AFAIK, there's no such adapter provided by the PSU makers or gpu manufacturers.

I don't think it is an issue about overloading either because the most expensive models like seasonic vertex px and msi meg provide more PCIe slots on the PSU side.

Put it very short and sweet.
So buy PSU according to what graphic card you are using.
If not just put on Carousell to sell.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator

Arh... understood your concern. Actually i will wait for more PSU to be release then make a decision. Anyway, concern only when want to purchase. But to me, it's best the PSU have 2 cpu, at least 4-5 pcie + 1 12vhpwr.

BlackWing1977

As you all probably know by now, PSUs from here on out will be ATX 3.0 with PCIe 5 12VHPWR. However, I find that most of the current offerings are in a somewhat awkward position with regard to PCIE connections.

For example, seasonic vertex has 4 "PCIE/CPU" connections(not to be confused with connector heads on the cable) on the PSU end. If we use two of them for the CPU, that means we actually only have 2 PCIE connections left, aside from the PCIE 5 one.

So my question is, if we have a 3 pcie 8 pin connector GPU, how then? While NVIDIA GPUs will likely stick to 12VHPWR, AMD ones might still stick to conventional PCIE 8 pin x 3. Also, the common refrain is that we should avoid using daisy chain connectors for GPU, especially for the higher end ones. That's to say, only use separate PCIE cables. As I mentioned, we only have 2 pcie connections left on the PSU end so that means we can only use 2 single PCIE cables if we don't use daisy chain ones. Like that how?

That means we got to either use daisy chain or use only one CPU header. Is it ok to use only one cpu header for high end ones like 13900k or 7950x even if we only use stock(ie non-overclcoked)?

Seems like an oversight. The darkpower 13 lagi worse because it only has two PCIE connections on the PSU end, the two CPU connections cannot be utilized as PCIE ones.

Only the MEG AI1300P/1000P has three PCIE connections on the psu end in addition to two CPU ones.

Darkpower 13:

24100655748l.JPG

Seasonic Vertex:

MSI MEG:

1024.png

I bought the Seasonic Vertex 1000W.. it has just nice 3 x PCIE 8pin cables which is just enough for my 7900XTX.... but I am still 1 short to connect to the mainboard to support Quick Charge 60W... so without it.. the front type C port on my casing can only do 27W.. which is not a big deal since I dun even use my PC casing USB port for charging. :sick:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.