Thoughts from an Election Official

KnyghtRyder

PAP wanna call for election now and retain power but can't even organise the election properly ...

I hope those voting stations helpers and volunteers don't get Covid becoz of this

What a joke , PAP really a joke now...
But in the end they still managed to eke out a mandate.. so I guess the joke is on us.

Black9

He's just angry that he's one of the 6 suay ones picked to stay until 8pm

hatredhollow

No, Lee Hsien Loong did not personally write you a letter saying you can vote here - that is a mass mailer to everyone saying "please vote for PAP", not "dear Ms Tan, I grant you permission to vote at another polling station",

What the ****
No wonder ah gong called sinkies daft

FT PRIDE

FYI,

Teachers also included.
Frontline desk staff in ministry also included.
Admin staff in ministry also included.

Many are fresh grad or young people earning less than $5k salary. Silver serpent? probably not assigned or taichi their way out already.

What i am saying is, they are obviously not "contract worker" as state in the post.

hakunaymatata

is your supervisor from ELD? is there anyone in the polling station from ELD? :s13:

Answer is no. The top guy in the polling station is also a public servant from the ministries or stat boards. ELD do not have staff manning at that level.

BBClone

Are these election officials volunteered teachers from the schools on site?

I had the impression they were.

Reborn

The whole thing was a big cock up. If some one with covid entered the polling station, I cannot imagine how many would get infected. Really badly organised. Especially the part when we place the ic on the table.

Imagine all the people who placed the IC there, and how their hand made contact with that part of the table which in turn contaminated the other IC.

cloudnim

ELD sit in office but civil serpents need to handle public rage. Jin jialat

tatsit

Lol.. i was part of the logistics team that set up and tear down the polling station.

There's no communication between us and ELD, we were given a floor layout, then told subject to change by the polling officers but whatever it is, just listen to the polling officers.

So our initial instructions:
-we were to set up the entire polling station minus the canvas and seats,
-we had to arrive at 6.30am the day before just to receive the main load that will be delivered between 7am to 2pm,
-canvas and seats will arrive anytime before 5pm and it's handled by another contractor,
-polling officers arrive at 2pm, only upon confirmation of layout then we can start the set up.
-we aren't told who are the polling officers before hand.

Therefore, we already knew it was a huge waiting game to begin with. Very very inefficient. Imagine if ELD can firm the layout beforehand, we could have start the set up upon receiving. Imagine 2pm set up, could take 5-6 hours to finish. Luckily the polling officers helped us with the setting up, ended around 5pm-6pm. Some of us ended quite late because of change in layout.

Then there was the canvas, again, subjected to the polling officer's approval and it was not under our scope. But some of us were asked by the polling officers to change the canvas layout. Imagine the contractor came early and canvas already set up based on initial plan, then the contractor left to go other polling station, later only to be called back for additional work. You can imagine the time wasted and costs involved for additional variation due to lack of planning.

Next comes the tear down, initially was at 8pm, then there was a surprise buttsex extension to 10pm. Orders given to us, continue to report at 8pm and standby until polling officers give the go ahead to tear down. So that's what we did, we went there at 8pm, but the clear instructions from polling officers were to tear down at 10pm. Thes instructions could have given to us since start, then we do not need to waste a trip down. Gave us a false hope of early tear down. Best of all, there were no voters, entire place empty, the polling officers all shagged. This kind of one for all, all for one policy really stupid and inefficient to the max, just because of that handful polling station, rest of the 100+ polling stations have to wait. Don't forget the logistics were pre-arranged, all the stores have to be removed. ELD made this decision without all the considerations.

You guys probably heard of the lack of stores like lack of PPE, etc. But you guys never heard of the excess. If you guys noticed the next day there were boxes (blue) of bottled water at the polling stations, that's just part of the left overs. There were a sh!t load of left overs that we had to redistribute in order to clear it. Then there are stores which makes no sense or whatsoever, e.g. 25 caps.. wtf is it for? There are things like towel, lamps, loudhailer, poncho, umbrellas.. things which really are not necessary in this time and age. We were given 13 tables and 40 chairs, what is this, funeral? Less than half of it is being used. Someone should really question the cost of this election. It could be the most expensive till date. Obviously not very well planned, not optimised.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.