Thoughts from an Election Official

Kumar22

I was manning one of the polling stations yesterday, and I got a lot of questions from friends so I thought you guys would be interested too.

Common questions:

"My polling station is too far away, why can't I vote here? Same GRC what" - We can only allow you to vote at your designated polling station, I don't know why. No, I can't change the rules just for you. No, the fact that you ............

This I can easily answer for you.

You are designated to vote in 1 place, because they count the votes by precinct. In fact this year have more precincts, so even smaller cut.

A precinct in the past could be 10 blocks, yesterday it was like 4-5.

They won't know how you voted but they will know how this precinct voted.

You see the sign A1 A2 etc. That's the precinct.

All votes from A1 zone go to A1 box. After voting over it's sealed. And brought to counting centre. The votes counted by precinct. So A1 counted at 1 table or 1 part, A2 different B1 and so forth.

Votes separated into 3 piles

1 for Candidate A
2 for candidate B
3 for spoilt/contested votes.

So straight up you can see from each precinct, who leading. Each counted then tally combined. Of course got check, double check etc.
Final tally faxed to RO to declare on TV.

So the party can know, ELd will know which precinct voted which way.

Say blks 1-6 Toa payoh is 1 precinct, they can see got 1000 voters

700 voted for PAP, 282 for SPP and 18 spoilt votes

Then blks 7-15 voted this way for the next 1000

PAP 499 SPP 488 spoilt 13.

So maybe next time, Rivervale Cres got 8 new blocks built. They enbloc Blk 1-6 TP and give them new flats in Blk 991A-D to 992 A-D Rivervale. Straight up this new precinct has around 700 PAP voters (from TP)

ZaiNan

This I can easily answer for you.

You are designated to vote in 1 place, because they count the votes by precinct. In fact this year have more precincts, so even smaller cut.

A precinct in the past could be 10 blocks, yesterday it was like 4-5.

They won't know how you voted but they will know how this precinct voted.

You see the sign A1 A2 etc. That's the precinct.

All votes from A1 zone go to A1 box. After voting over it's sealed. And brought to counting centre. The votes counted by precinct. So A1 counted at 1 table or 1 part, A2 different B1 and so forth.

Votes separated into 3 piles

1 for Candidate A
2 for candidate B
3 for spoilt/contested votes.

So straight up you can see from each precinct, who leading. Each counted then tally combined. Of course got check, double check etc.
Final tally faxed to RO to declare on TV.

So the party can know, ELd will know which precinct voted which way.

Say blks 1-6 Toa payoh is 1 precinct, they can see got 1000 voters

700 voted for PAP, 282 for SPP and 18 spoilt votes

Then blks 7-15 voted this way for the next 1000

PAP 499 SPP 488 spoilt 13.

So maybe next time, Rivervale Cres got 8 new blocks built. They enbloc Blk 1-6 TP and give them new flats in Blk 991A-D to 992 A-D Rivervale. Straight up this new precinct has around 700 PAP voters (from TP)

So they would roughly know which blocks vote for and vote against

This can be enhance by 5G tech where it can search all future posting and comments on social media just by IP address? The things you surf the comments you made all can be retrieved by the nearest lamp post?

wahlaueh888

This can be enhance by 5G tech where it can search all future posting and comments on social media just by IP address? The things you surf the comments you made all can be retrieved by the nearest lamp post?

Yes, digital footprint fingerprint all too easy to trace right?

No wonder some go off the grid completely and were hunted...

ricoreload

In this day and era it still baffles me why ppl think ALL public officers are automatically PAP..
Actually u will be surprised how many actually are the opposite.. coz Kenna too much bullshiat from certain upstairs

Sent from Samsung SM-F700F using GAGT

hatredhollow

Remember pioneer smc is right inside west coast grc :s13:

Ah loong give them quota to draw more smc

There is a reason why they draw our grc/smc in a very weird way

ZaiNan

Remember pioneer smc is right inside west coast grc :s13:

Ah loong give them quota to draw more smc

There is a reason why they draw our grc/smc in a very weird way

The ELD has been too busy drawing up GRC and SMC for past 4 years that they have no plans for voting proceedings in the midst of a pandemic

Thats why all decisions became last minute screw ups and of all plannings they make a big mistake in plotting up the Sengkang area as one big GRC

Some of my friend in sengkang are actually in amk grc which most likely piss off other voters to vote for WP in the end

DNAT11

ELD is under PM office ....

Sent from Mai Sia Suay Land using GAGT

kurashi

yess very accurate. I was also the PO standing under the hot sun dealing with irritating drivers to tell them the voting premises cannot be parked. Imagine the amount of scolding from the public.

Ohh. about meals. The polling agents have piping hot meals delivered to them by their respective parties.

We? we have to take breaks to rush to eat, eat to rush. Our SRO ordered pizzas for the whole team for lunch (not sure if its from her own pockets..) & impromptu fried chicken for us for dinner due to the sudden extension. ELD provides snacks like those Japanese packet bun that is sold for $1, biscuits, and oreo, etc..

I personally did not have a proper meal throughout the whole day. Almost died. this money not good to earn. knn

Joge517

yess very accurate. I was also the PO standing under the hot sun dealing with irritating drivers to tell them the voting premises cannot be parked. Imagine the amount of scolding from the public.
Ohh. about meals. The polling agents have piping hot meals delivered to them by their respective parties.
We? we have to take breaks to rush to eat, eat to rush. Our SRO ordered pizzas for the whole team for lunch (not sure if its from her own pockets..) & impromptu fried chicken for us for dinner due to the sudden extension. ELD provides snacks like those Japanese packet bun that is sold for $1, biscuits, and oreo, etc..
I personally did not have a proper meal throughout the whole day. Almost died. this money not good to earn. knn
Agreed, the $$ allowance not worth it at all, worst off is dio arrowed to do it one. Like the rest said, worst part of the job is handling of entitled singaporeans, which sadly to say... .the ones I encountered happened to be all from my very own yellow skin race, no such issue with other races as well as those with foreign sounding names.. Having say that, I'm glad to say 99% of singaporeans are really well mannered and nice people.. They will automatically move to the back once they see a queue forming as well as stay calm and nice even in the madness of the morning crowd.
Oh ya... He ting rui forgot to thanks eld as well in her sengkang victory speech ytd...lol.. .. The massive cockup by eld probably help a number of swing voters to decide who to vote while they are queuing for more than 1 hr under the damn hot sun in sengkang.

Posted from PCWX using POCOPHONE F1

ytp2000

Guys, you lot should feedback to election department rather than complain here.

Civil servant job is about provide services to the public.

U should rejected the election officer role if u are not happy.

kcarrey

i wish they exempt elderly to vote but they desperately needed their votes

there was an elderly who was mostly deaf and illiterate

cnybuddy

Be thankful that you still have a cs job.
Mai jjww
There are many citizens out of job.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.