Thread all abt ROLEX - Part 2

gaoxing84

But if you're a person who constant buy and sell.
Lange pieces sure tank.
At least 30% loss. That is if people are willing to buy them.
For those who appreciate a lange, the pool is pretty small compare to Tom dick Harry who knows rolex.

wahjohreno

Exactly my point. I was simply answering this:

I dun understand why lange is so expensive...

Objectively it is a very finely made watch in the league of Patek (some say above even), made with precious metals, sold at prices that are comparatively low.

It’s got everything except heritage. Similar to brands like Moser & Cie.

If you can buy a gen 2 Lange 1 in the low to mid 20’s; it’s a solid buy.

You put on a Lange after a Rolex, you will know the feeling of “solid”. The way it winds, the way the date wheel jumps immediately at midnight, the way it clicks when you manually change the date, the way the second hand stops exactly at 0 when it runs out of power...

It’s like jumping into a Porsche after driving a Toyota.

theMKR

Objectively it is a very finely made watch in the league of Patek (some say above even), made with precious metals, sold at prices that are comparatively low.

You put on a Lange after a Rolex, you will know the feeling of “solid”. The way it winds, the way the date wheel jumps immediately at midnight, the way it clicks when you manually change the date, the way the second hand stops exactly at 0 when it runs out of power...

wah :eek:
then i confirm not suitable to wear... i am more of those people who buy cheapo fiat, then tell ppl moi drive "conti cat" :s13:

Red Nails

I actually think Lange's are undervalued for what they are.

These 2 watches cost about the same to buy, but I think the Lange is just a better watch in almost every respect, besides water resistance and "toughness".

1biHeAf.jpg

alZhoTt.jpg

I want to own a Zeitwerk & Dato :o

wahjohreno

wah :eek:
then i confirm not suitable to wear... i am more of those people who buy cheapo fiat, then tell ppl moi drive "conti cat" :s13:
Speaking of Fiat, one of the most memorable cars I've owned is the Fiat Coupe. In red no less. Good fun car during a good fun time of my life.
le_3.jpg

le_8.jpg

I want to own a Zeitwerk & Dato :o
Love these 2. Especially the Zeitwerk.

Unfortunately, they don't suit me. Zeitwerk is too big and Dato is too thick. Look stupid when I put them on.

gaoxing84

Lange history all the way back to 1845.
Got heritage la.
Not everyone knows a lange.
You know you know.
Also your workplace, if your attire doesn't allow a formal watch to be worn. Abit sad to keep it in the safe.

wahjohreno

Lange history all the way back to 1845.
Got heritage la.
Not everyone knows a lange.
You know you know.
Also your workplace, if your attire doesn't allow a formal watch to be worn. Abit sad to keep it in the safe.

Well, what I mean by "heritage" is, it's not Swiss, hence not "sexy". Pre-war German watches never got any real attention, so that made it worse for any German brand trying to accumulate any meaningful clout in the watch making world.

Actually, can dress the watch down with more casual straps lah. I work at home also wear it everywhere, haha. Go hawker eat also can wear one.

theMKR

Speaking of Fiat, one of the most memorable cars I've owned is the Fiat Coupe. In red no less. Good fun car during a good fun time of my life.
le_3.jpg

le_8.jpg

oh this one damn popular sia.

last time my father drive a fiat tempest which burst steam out of bonnet :s13::s13::s13:
"tempest" indeed

gaoxing84

Well, what I mean by "heritage" is, it's not Swiss, hence not "sexy". Pre-war German watches never got any real attention, so that made it worse for any German brand trying to accumulate any meaningful clout in the watch making world.

Actually, can dress the watch down with more casual straps lah. I work at home also wear it everywhere, haha. Go hawker eat also can wear one.

oh but now germany makes one of the finest watches in the world.

i put lange right up with patek and vc (of course not bring independents in the mix)

but true, no swiss made no talk :s13:

gazar1

agree with you that lange movement is much better.

Lange is Germany’s patek.

You go sincere watch, if looking for classic watch $20-$30k onwards they will push you.

Because is their house brand.

Dmaul77

I actually think Lange's are undervalued for what they are.

These 2 watches cost about the same to buy, but I think the Lange is just a better watch in almost every respect, besides water resistance and "toughness".

1biHeAf.jpg

alZhoTt.jpg

Even if it's compared with the precious metals Daytona, i will still go with the Lange which i did with the Grand Lange 1 moonphase. Awesome piece. Yes, the finishing is quite stunning, better than Patek imo.

Cheers :)

w_sieng

Even if it's compared with the precious metals Daytona, i will still go with the Lange which i did with the Grand Lange 1 moonphase. Awesome piece. Yes, the finishing is quite stunning, better than Patek imo.

Cheers :)

I don’t like Lange watches. They are not very versatile and cannot go well with anything outside business wear or smart casual. And it makes you look really stupid to bring it for a swim.

Good enough counter argument ? Lol. Bro , this will not end, let it go, buy what u love and dun try to say a brand is better than the other la .

w_sieng

I don’t like Lange watches. They are not very versatile and cannot go well with anything outside business wear or smart casual. And it makes you look really stupid to bring it for a swim.

Good enough counter argument ? Lol. Bro , this will not end, let it go, buy what u love and dun try to say a brand is better than the other la .

Oh yes, when I was trying a Lange, my gf asked me why I wanna buy a watch which looks like Bering . Don’t bash my gf ah 😂

gazar1

Oh yes, when I was trying a Lange, my gf asked me why I wanna buy a watch which looks like Bering . Don’t bash my gf ah 😂

They are famous because last time their watches all made of precious metal only till recently they launch a steel model.

And all their watches is double assembly and yearly production kept at below 5000 pieces.

Is niche market brand.

patryn33

They are famous because last time their watches all made of precious metal only till recently they launch a steel model.

And all their watches is double assembly and yearly production kept at below 5000 pieces.

Is niche market brand.

2018 a complete steel collection.
they are famous because of precious metal? I thought its always "lavishly decorated in the classical Saxon style, with Glashütte ribbing on the plates and bridges, traditionally blued screws, and a hand-engraved balance cock."
https://www.watchtime.com/wristwatc...elight-a-lange-sohne-datograph-up-down-lumen/
ALS_Datograph_Lumen_back_1000.jpg

wahjohreno

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.