flapdoodle

marxace said:
About 7k with little or no discount.

Cheers for the info.

I just recieved one from my folks, not a timepiece person myself, but its a lovely piece of engineering.

XXXXXXXXXX

flapdoodle said:
Cheers for the info.

I just recieved one from my folks, not a timepiece person myself, but its a lovely piece of engineering.

SD??

:s11:

flapdoodle

XXXXXXXXXX said:
lucky guy. hows the condition of it?

I was surprised to recieve it, as I don't usually wear a timepiece. Its new from Switzerland, they just returned on a vacation.

takumee

arghz...

which is more appealing?

personally i find both the same leh..

sub /date i like th emagnifying glass...hehe...

sd...i like the idea of deep depth....incline towards diver's watch so to speak...

now..i found out 1998yr..SD at 5.5k
2002yr..sub with date at 5.3k...

ARGHZ>>>>>> :s13:

takumee

****z...

went liao...another saleman quote different price.,..

than the SE who apoke to me about the price said he mixed up the pricing liao...

shouldnt have such very gian to buy attitiude just now...

peng kee....blacklist lo...

anyone knows of good reputable good 2nd hand shop?must cheap cheap..haha...

boobip

Was having lunch with a customer at Funan today, popped by at Peng Kwee. Think I saw that subdate u were talking about. I'm contemplating a Explorer II black face, saw a near-brandnew old stock 'Y' series. Have to admit that I', pretty drawn to the elegant look of the white faced explorer, but a black face looks more sporty IMHO...and I know i still prefer a more sporty image.

Thought about buying a brand new Sub non-date for a few months already, but found it pretty impractical for myself (I'm wearing a Speedmaster without date, still love the speedmaster but it's a hassle without date, so now I know what I want now) as I'm pretty dependant on the date on my watch. Besides, my SE told me that it's highly likely that prices increase tomorrow with the new shiipment, as the sports models were all held by the agent. Had it been available on Sunday, I prob would've made the wrong choice. Having spoken to quite a number of used rolex dealers, I reckon that the Subdate has a higher resale value and looks more 'Rolex' with the date loupe. :D But of course, it all boils down to personal taste. :)

marxace

takumee said:
****z...

went liao...another saleman quote different price.,..

than the SE who apoke to me about the price said he mixed up the pricing liao...

shouldnt have such very gian to buy attitiude just now...

peng kee....blacklist lo...

anyone knows of good reputable good 2nd hand shop?must cheap cheap..haha...

Peng Kwee always very ex one. When u said 5.3k for Subdate, i was thinking quite worth it liao considering its from Peng kwee. That time i ask they quoted me 5.8k but forgot which yr one.

takumee

so guy sout there?

any good 2nd shop can intro or any good lobang?

btw..such watches are there any age limit?hehe...im 25-30 only.... :s12:

marxace

takumee said:
so guy sout there?

Can try shops like Passions or Visiotime or some 2nd hand shops in Far East. Also can go yahoo auctions to search.

No age limit one la. Seen some young teens wear Franck muller also but dunno authentic or not. If you like watches just go for it lor. You looking for Rolex mainly izzit?

benqhoo

i see the prices of those pre-owned...mostly not really worth to buy leh....
pre-owned + older series still so expensive...most of the time the saving also not much...

i rather go for brand new with 2yrs warranty....

boobip

takumee said:
so guy sout there?

Finally!!! Got my first Rolex. Though it's not brand new, I'm happy with it. It's a Submariner date. Got it at $5k flat. Y series. I didn't have it polished, it comes with a few hairline scratches, pretty obvious that the prev owner did not use it much over the past 2 years or he took excellent care of it. All in all, it's worth it. 2k off the retail price for a brand new sub. Pics coming up soon... Checked the internals of the sub and the serial number before paying up, but I think I'll still bring it down to Tong Centre to have it authenticated just to be safe.

Nakedtoes

boobip said:
Finally!!! Got my first Rolex. Though it's not brand new, I'm happy with it. It's a Submariner date. Got it at $5k flat. Y series. I didn't have it polished, it comes with a few hairline scratches, pretty obvious that the prev owner did not use it much over the past 2 years or he took excellent care of it. All in all, it's worth it. 2k off the retail price for a brand new sub. Pics coming up soon... Checked the internals of the sub and the serial number before paying up, but I think I'll still bring it down to Tong Centre to have it authenticated just to be safe.

its a steal bro.. where u get this lobang? :D

XXXXXXXXXX

boobip said:

u paid already but havent check atTong centre huh :eek:

boobip

I was looking around for Explorer II black face initially, found a F series 6 months old piece for $5.4k at lucky plaza yesterday. But it had only paper and no box. So I thought maybe I'll try my luck for $5k at chinatown today. Went to Chinatown and saw my sub on the display window in one of the shops. It caught my eye cos it's the only piece with the plastic bezel protector on. Asked for the price, and the asking price came up to $5.3k. So after nego, it went down to $5.1k. Thought of buying it on Monday so that I can go to Tong centre immediately to have it authenticated, but saw a few chaps eyeing the sub behind me. So made a quick decision to seal the deal at $5k flat. Made the boss's son strip the watch for me to check for the movements and serials and write it down on the receipt. Then of course, made the normal checks for date - flipping once the hour hit's 12 am, and tried the manual winding...all felt genuine. Still, I'll have it checked at Tong center on Monday. The watch was purchased from Hourglass. Damn... the only thing missing is the anchor... maybe I'll buy it off someone on the internet one of these days. Damn, spent a bit too much $$$ of late... Speedmaster in March, Submariner in June. Aiming for explorer II or Panerai Power Reserve in Aug/Sept. hehehehe... it's poison man...mortal addiction...

Xtraun

saw a few chaps selling $5k too for submariner with date from auction. wah u just got a sub, now so fast eyeing for expII or panerai

marxace

boobip said:
\ Damn... the only thing missing is the anchor... maybe I'll buy it off someone on the internet one of these days.

Even some new subs do not come with anchors now

buaysaikum

marxace said:
Even some new subs do not come with anchors now

should hab rite? the sales man kapok then sell on eebay?
think the anchor is the rolex driver(spelling) watches tradition...

paiseh englishe not goot

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.