Thread all abt ROLEX

pew

ohlins said:
ah salmon 369....that's fortunately not the most popular choice....:p.....dun think i saw this dial at some of the used watch dealers ......anyway if u buy new, shd be able to bargain for a little more discount as the AD is also aware that this dial dun sell that well.....

popular or not, rolex still makes more than a million watches a year and sell every single one of them.

I remember seeing the salmon 369 airking @ peng kwee b4

boobip

AK and Oyster Date are primarily the same size at 34mm. COSC is a dealer's bargaining chip at most, not yours. Dealers will tell u that this watch is COSC, so fetch higher. When you want to sell the watch, they dun give a damn about the COSC. In fact, the COSC is valid for only 5 years or less after the watch is sold from the AD, and that's it. IMO, just a certification to make the buyer pay more. We have seen from the bros who bought sub non dates that their watches run well within COSC tolerances.

Of course if u want a better resale value, it really depends on a good number of other factors, with the major ones being - e.g. How old is the watch? the model popular? Generally, the AK and the OysterDate do not fetch much in the pre-owned market if u were to read into the previous threads, so maybe u can up your budget by a thousand and get a datejust/exp1. From what I see, you've the new-Rolex-owner dilemma...dunno what to buy. Bottomline is.... u're already gonna spend a few grand on a watch. If you like a datejust, but because you wanna save a few dollars and end up getting an AK, u'd likely regret and be thinking of the datejust 1-2 weeks later. So, hold your horses and give yourself more options to decide what you really want, expose yourself to ALL rolex watches within a certain price range and take your time to decide.

Nakedtoes

KNN Korea duty free shop at airport is selling the sub date at USD 4.1K and SD at USD 4.25 K.. that is pretty cheap.. too bad all my cash was tight up :(

ohlins

pew said:
popular or not, rolex still makes more than a million watches a year and sell every single one of them.

haha yeah but that does not mean the AD sells every rolex watch they have......

rolex oyster perpetual date is 15200.....got date and also a chronometer.....more text on the dial lor.......see liao more song lor.....

ohlins

Nakedtoes said:
KNN Korea duty free shop at airport is selling the sub date at USD 4.1K and SD at USD 4.25 K.. that is pretty cheap.. too bad all my cash was tight up :(

yeah esp when usd is at a good level against the sgd......not bad at all....:)

pew

ohlins said:
haha yeah but that does not mean the AD sells every rolex watch they have......

rolex oyster perpetual date is 15200.....got date and also a chronometer.....more text on the dial lor.......see liao more song lor.....

Oh, this one. I tried that one on, but don't look good as my wrist are too fat, look abit weird. But the explorer I, Air king and my 6694 (both 34mm) look ok on me. dunno y also.

coltish

boobip said:
AK and Oyster Date are primarily the same size at 34mm. COSC is a dealer's bargaining chip at most, not yours. Dealers will tell u that this watch is COSC, so fetch higher. When you want to sell the watch, they dun give a damn about the COSC. In fact, the COSC is valid for only 5 years or less after the watch is sold from the AD, and that's it. IMO, just a certification to make the buyer pay more. We have seen from the bros who bought sub non dates that their watches run well within COSC tolerances.

Of course if u want a better resale value, it really depends on a good number of other factors, with the major ones being - e.g. How old is the watch? the model popular? Generally, the AK and the OysterDate do not fetch much in the pre-owned market if u were to read into the previous threads, so maybe u can up your budget by a thousand and get a datejust/exp1. From what I see, you've the new-Rolex-owner dilemma...dunno what to buy. Bottomline is.... u're already gonna spend a few grand on a watch. If you like a datejust, but because you wanna save a few dollars and end up getting an AK, u'd likely regret and be thinking of the datejust 1-2 weeks later. So, hold your horses and give yourself more options to decide what you really want, expose yourself to ALL rolex watches within a certain price range and take your time to decide.
Hi, thanks for your advise..........will do some marketing this sat.....!! But still hunting for AK or DATE....budget is one thing...other is tat i like it simple.

coltish

Any possiblilty to see a brand new rolex with serial no "K" still in the AD?
I was shocked that is was manufactured sometime back. Correct me if i'm wrong...

ohlins

coltish said:
Any possiblilty to see a brand new rolex with serial no "K" still in the AD?
I was shocked that is was manufactured sometime back. Correct me if i'm wrong...

why not..??........cannot sell so remain in the shop lor.....:)

anyway i spoke to many dealers....they say hardly anyone notice the serial letter....esp rich indo customers........so most ppl dun care...:)

pew

If serial number K, better keep the paper to prove the age of the watch

pew

coltish said:
Hi, thanks for your advise..........will do some marketing this sat.....!! But still hunting for AK or DATE....budget is one thing...other is tat i like it simple.

Try it on your wrist first then say. Cuz I see the date also very nice, on my wrist it looks totally off. If it don't look good on your wrist, good for you. Your choice is clear

pew

ohlins said:
why not..??........cannot sell so remain in the shop lor.....:)

anyway i spoke to many dealers....they say hardly anyone notice the serial letter....esp rich indo customers........so most ppl dun care...:)

tiok diao watch.......can slash his price....hehe

production date is between 01 sept to 02 sept, probably they took in the watch at old costing. can try to find out the retail price at that time, slash another 15-20% or even more, who knows, you might just get lucky

coltish

pew said:
tiok diao watch.......can slash his price....hehe

production date is between 01 sept to 02 sept, probably they took in the watch at old costing. can try to find out the retail price at that time, slash another 15-20% or even more, who knows, you might just get lucky
Infact , i was offered more than 20% off. But just dont feel right as i can get a used piece for 3/4 of the new price. With the same manufacturing yr.

fishcake2005

coltish said:
got any idea if send a watch to rolex for verification. what will they issue?

You will get a verbal acknowledgement on the authencity of the watch. They'll check if movement and parts are original. :D

coltish

fishcake2005 said:
You will get a verbal acknowledgement on the authencity of the watch. They'll check if movement and parts are original. :D
hmm? just verbal? no paperwork to be given? wa...75 bucks

pew

coltish said:
hmm? just verbal? no paperwork to be given? wa...75 bucks

IIRC, verification is only on the movement, not for the bracelet or the casing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.