Tioman Guide.

sanjikun

Hi there, I heard Tioman pretty much "close down" from November to February because of the monsoon is it? I was planning to go in early Nov but was advised against it...

During the monsoon season (late October to mid/late February) the ferries run much less frequently and exceptionally bad conditions may shut them down completely for several days at a time.

even if you get there (ie there's ferry still), the waves would be quite bad for any snorkeling/diving. thus not advisable to go that time.

can consider batam/bali if really urgent for beach. but bali cost wise is :(

MrTheROCK

-tekek is the main village of tioman. where the airport is located as well as hospital and schools for children in tioman to study.

-ABC is v popular with ang mohs

-Salang, the last ferry stop, is equally popular. Personally, I prefer this the most as it has the peace and serenity that i yearn for.

-Paya, favourites among sporean... no need for me to add on as there's plenty of info in this thread.

Xenros

got a few question any1 stay b4 in Bejaya resort? how is it? and how do u all go to tioman by travel agency or what?

miqbal93

hey! okae just wana ask the opinions form old birds here ^^

me and my friends, all waiting for our tertiary schools to start. and we were thinking of going to tioman for 3d2n. saw a package on discoverytours.com.sg. the package includes transport from singapore to mersing and ferry to tioman and back to singapore with 3d2n lodging at paya beach resort (standard chalet, adult quad).

total cost of package is around SGD 119.

so for this package, is it a good deal? just want to know your humble opinion :)

and just want to ask, SGD 100 enough to cover food cost and some snorkeling?

thanks!

Vittra

I have booked for March/April at Japalama Resort. =) Looking forward to it.

socrates

Tioman is very easy to to do a DIY. i did one 4D3N in June 2008 for about 130 (not too different from your package offer )which includes everything from food, accomadation, snorkelling , transport. Paya beach is packed with singaporeans on packages while I prefer salang. Quieter and better beach.

DSCF2531.jpg

In any case enjoy yourself !

MrTheROCK

DIY, cheaper better faster!

Salang is way better than paya...less less crowded and touristic. a truly escape from spore..salang sayang is my choice... those at banana hills got superrb view over the beach....

nagase_4

Hi guys,
like to check some things with you...is it advisable to goto tioman on 18-20Feb...is it still the monsoon season?
secondly...at Mersing jetty...is it confirm got ferry to tioman? or coz of monsoon then no ferry?

If i were to goto Salang, any resorts to recommend there?
tks!

nagase_4

Hi guys,
like to check some things with you...is it advisable to goto tioman on 18-20Feb...is it still the monsoon season?
secondly...at Mersing jetty...is it confirm got ferry to tioman? or coz of monsoon then no ferry?

If i were to goto Salang, any resorts to recommend there?
tks!

Happy Chinese New Year to all!
Hope some experience kakis here can give me some advice on the above...tks!

xmiyax

hi guys just wondering is snorkelling advisable for non-swimmers? and are there any spa packages like those in batam at tioman? lastly is may 20 a good time to go tioman?

thanks!

hi guys just wondering is snorkelling advisable for non-swimmers? and are there any spa packages like those in batam at tioman? lastly is may 20 a good time to go tioman?

thanks!

Ya. i dun know how to swim but still can snorkel, they will provide life jacket for u.
May monsoon is over liao...so should be no problem....

hexacorn

hi ppl, got a qn.

i read from the tioman webby, we can take cosway link to mersing. will the cosway link tic be sold out?

thanks alot

hi ppl, got a qn.

i read from the tioman webby, we can take cosway link to mersing. will the cosway link tic be sold out?

thanks alot

Last time i reached Larkin then only source for the earliest departure bus to Mersing, so should be no problem? try to avoid PH lor

playground

Anyone has reviews of Berjaya? Did a search and doesn't seem there is any.

Would like to know if it is relatively bug-free?

gundam9

actually its the same for many places, diy would cheaper. but it will take longer due to the traveling. becos the buses dont move as fast, may have delays at larkin etc etc

but i always choose to diy.

while you are at tioman, be sure to rent the small boats to go to offshore.. beach is much nicer. dont cost much too.

Rawbeansta

Hello everyone.

I just got back from a short stay at Paya Beach Resort, if you have any enquiries on the amenities feel free to ask.

I have a few questions regarding Berjaya Beach Resort as I'm planning another possible trip soon. Hope that you guys will be able to help as I didn't manage to find much info on Berjaya.

1. Are there many shops in the area at Berjaya which are run by the natives (not resort-run)?

2. Are the snacks / drinks / beer / food prices comparable to those sold at Paya / Salang or are they considerably more costly?

3. Is the food sold within Berjaya Resort restaurants priced competitively to that of Paya's Rama Rama Restaurant or is it also 'Berjaya' pricing.

Will greatly appreciate any info on the above!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.