Tooth implants

rrr2015

You may have receding gum issue like me (gum recedes then easier for bacteria to attack the roots and then may spread to other teeth).

Need to deep clean your gum asap to avoid receding issue deteriorating further if indeed it is a receding gum issue.

Suggest you go to a periodontist to have an assessment of your gum to have a better idea of whether a new RCT is still feasible. If not feasible, then your option is clear.

*PM me for a good JB periodontist if you are keen. Rm150 for periodontal charting. Then +++ if require deep gum cleaning.
can restore receding gum? i read about special toothpaste that help to restore but not sure if it really works

mummynew

This treatment need to be referred by dentist or can I just book appt then go?

If you are using company's dental benefits, then you have to read the T&C as may need referral from general dentist then can claim.

If self paying, then can just book and go.

Just tell the periodontist to check your gum health and explain to him/her your dental issues. Then you will get a periodontal chart to see the health of your gum. If health is bad (for certain tooth/teeth) = need deep cleaning.

*mine is my regular dentist referred me to a periodontist (a very popular one in Singapore). Then I asked for a quote over the phone and the quote came out to be about $3000 if need to deep clean all 4 quarters. As I am self paying, so I went to JB and spent about half the price to tidy up all.

mummynew

can restore receding gum? i read about special toothpaste that help to restore but not sure if it really works

I think overall receding gum is irreversible esp if it's due to aging. Can only prevent it from further receding / slowing down the receding speed.

Toothpaste for gum can be helpful if got gum issues.

robie_aibo

My friend's front tooth chipped off. Queried on the implant in JB and was quoted around MYR13000.

dev_stg_prd

If a person is younger = higher chance for the gum to attach back.

For older people = lower chance for the gum to attach back.

If don't deep clean, the bacteria will just having a gateway into the roots.
if I go check-up , scaling twice a year..
if dentist didn't mention abt deep clean.. means I'm healthy rite?

mummynew

This is one side of my periodontal chart.

The 'probing depth' is referring to how deep tartar/bacteria has eaten into the gum. The depth will go deeper and deeper till the tooth totally loosen if don't clean.

The one that was giving me recurring infection was the tooth that was shaded red, meaning the bacteria had dug 9 mm deep into my gum.

The periodontist cleaned up all teeth that were 4 and above (1-3 mm considered healthy gum that general dentist can probably clean).

After cleaning (1+ year ago), I experience no more infection (I visited my regular dentist 3 or 4 times over a period of 2-3 months for this tooth recurring gum infection that he said go see a periodontist).

random source:
https://www.mycostamesadentist.com/blog/importance-periodontal-probing-charting/

mummynew

if I go check-up , scaling twice a year..
if dentist didn't mention abt deep clean.. means I'm healthy rite?

If you don't have any gum infection / bleeding, gum generally is healthy.

As long as you have the habit of regular check up = minimal risk of tartar/bacteria built up (that may seep into the gum).

*I started regular check up late in my life at about late 30s / early 40s. Coupled with aging and receding gum, I ran into expensive gum disease issues.

**gum bleeding can be a warning sign of gum disease.

dev_stg_prd

If you don't have any gum infection / bleeding, gum generally is healthy.

As long as you have the habit of regular check up = minimal risk of tartar/bacteria built up (that may seep into the gum).

*I started regular check up late in my life at about late 30s. Coupled with aging and receding gum, I ran into expensive gum disease issues.

**gum bleeding can be a warning sign of gum disease.
for me I kena one RC(failed) then implant then woke up my idea liao,
now I use the e-toothbrush and irrigation twice a day

Ironside

Most people with dental issues because they don't even know how to brush correctly and never brush properly, floss and interdental brush twice a day.

cybertech

if you can wait, japan started their human testing on the new tooth growing drug TRG-035

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/e...earchers-test-pioneering-drug-to-regrow-teeth
wait another 5 years :grin:
TWsCBHw.jpg

mummynew

Most people with dental issues because they don't even know how to brush correctly and never brush properly, floss and interdental brush twice a day.

For me, I have flossing habit since maybe around mid 30s but only know about the using of interdental brush 5 years ago after my dental implant (implant dentist said it's a MUST to use it).

I have another problem which is teeth grinding. This is the main cause of my receding gum according to my regular dentist. So now also guai guai wearing night guard + botox jaws. Sigh...

SpawnXp

My dentist quoted me 1.8k for 4 teeth
Plus filling up and other small works.
Also got one extraction.
I think is cheap since I'm doing it in vietnam.
The cost saving really is there.
Somemore is Singaporean dentist

Ironside

For me, I have flossing habit since maybe around mid 30s but only know about the using of interdental brush 5 years ago after my dental implant (implant dentist said it's a MUST to use it).

I have another problem which is teeth grinding. This is the main cause of my receding gum according to my regular dentist. So now also guai guai wearing night guard + botox jaws. Sigh...
9/10 people with uneven teeth alignment do not brush properly and hence their teeth conditions are no good.

sporeknight76

i also got one molar tooth in upper left that broke since i was 18 years old,

broke half, did not have money to go dental to fix it, let it rot n continue to broke b chip off as years pass by, almost 10 years later, the gum start to inflammed, the tooth chip off until no more left, only left the leg in the root, so surgical removal n take out.

now is empty there, dentist also suggest tooth implant, but when i hear the price 3k after medisave , i siam far far away
U nd a tooth to fill the gap else yr side teeth hav no support, will bcom loose n dropoff.

Teeth is not lik fingernails. U nd them to chew food. Unless u r in 60-70s mentally b prep to b bogeh then is fine. But if u r young, spent tat $ is worth. Can eat wo worries.

Also do go for regular dental chkup every 6m for cleaning scaling polishing. 70-80$. Cheap la

mummynew

9/10 people with uneven teeth alignment do not brush properly and hence their teeth conditions are no good.

that's why important to let kids who have uneven teeth to go through braces.

my family of about a dozen siblings all don't have uneven teeth, but somehow most of our kids all needed to go through braces.

Ironside

that's why important to let kids who have uneven teeth to go through braces.

my family of about a dozen siblings all don't have uneven teeth, but somehow most of our kids all needed to go through braces.
Even teeth are very easy to clean.

KPO_SAHM

Wah, molar implant not cheap leh. My one at Q&M cost me around $3.5k after Medisave. The process okay lah, a bit uncomfortable but not too painful. Now like real tooth, no issues for past 2 years. Just go to a reputable one, don't anyhow find cheap dentist.

Implant considers a major dental treatment . Best to do it in Singapore......in case u need further medical treatment due to inflammation and etc .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.