naked123

I'm using a 2nd hand TP-Link AX73 that I've bought for 10 bucks off carousell

3 years so far so good šŸ‘

wwenze

i running wifi 7 at home now. the range is horrible. router is less than 5m away from me in the living room. i close my room door i cannot get full bar signal already and the speeds drops to about the same as wifi 6. do plan out your router location properly. consider wifi 7 mesh if u can afford. not to mention your devices all must upgrade. only the latest phones can support. your PC/laptop unlikely to support unless u go purchase 1 now.
Wifi generation doesn't mean anything really

I can buy Zen4 dual core

Or I can buy Zen2 8 core

The Zen2 8 core will be faster

As usual the devil is in the details

yves

First started with Belkin, it is crap. Then switch to Linksys flash to DDWRT not bad after that with Asus on Merlin firmware use for 10 over years.

testerjp

Moi contract end Dec, will go wifi 7 if cost not a big factor
The router is free of charge for 6gbps, they are running some offers.

I got the WiFi 6 router free 1 year plus ago when I sub 1gbps. Previously 500mbps, did felt big real world difference.

chaiscool

I can buy Zen4 dual core

Or I can buy Zen2 8 core

Not really leh. Cpu same 2 core different gen got different power / efficiency.

Router a bit different cuz even same wifi gen got different performance for different router. Cheap vs more ex wifi 6/7 performance and range is different. Better performance is more power hungry too.

testerjp

Advice for WiFi noobs, I had conducted few actual survey using tools such as Netspot, the placement of Wifi routers very very important.

In most cases, you need the height advantage and line of sight, without signals blocking items such as heavy density object blocking the signal path.

If your WiFi router placed at your knee level, only your cats or dogs will get strong signal, anything within 5-10m of the router.

Sent from my friend's mobile phone.
I put my current tplink archer WiFi 6 router on the floor. Centre of the hdb, behind concrete wall but within 10m away, full bars at every corner, don't even need mesh.

Meteor84

I can buy Zen4 dual core

Or I can buy Zen2 8 core

i disagree. wifi 6 is a significant upgrade over wifi 5. even as a normal consumer u can feel it during daily use. wifi 7 is also significantly faster than wifi 6 but u need proper infrastructure to utilise the full potential as the range and penetration of obstacles sucks.

i definitely disagree that zen2 8 core is faster then a zen 4 dual core.. the architecture, clock speeds and l3 cache on a zen 4 is miles above a zen 2... it will absolutely smash a zen 2 in any benchmark

EJB

Neither... Orbi Mesh for me, shiok shiok.

lalalalalala

Old router wifi cannot reach 2nd room.

Buts new wifi 6 router can, so thought new wifi router hav longer range
There's a reason why they keep selling you mesh products. Because the higher speed the range cut so they use mesh to make up for it, also means now you need to buy more product.

And as some bro said. Placement is more important. Ideally 1 router on the ceiling is alot better than many router on the floor.

Either way if you only watch video and do normal work you won't even hit 20mbps. But as usual sinkie love to get upsold all the nonsense

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.