Tuition is just a waste of money. Parents accompany children do homework can already.

orpisia

It's a waste to me

Because I still end up stupid

Because tuition is a coerced activity, force the child to go tuition

I during tuition got aversion to study also no use

GundamG

i got friend spend ten of thousands in primary school to send kid to tuition. end up average only and do worse than those who didnt tuition. he regreted.

queriesonforum

It's only 2x per week per subject. No big deal for many people here while parents shake legs. 3 subjects just nice for the week

Calis_Yoda

Spelling n tingxie no need aim for full/ high mark. I don't understand why some parents can force their kids to get full mark for tingxie n use this to boast. In my family, I always tell them to learn the words but don't rush.I want them to know how to write n understand the words. Tingxie usually is weekly or biweekly. Parents normally made them study within a week n the kid promptly forgot it after tingxie.

I always use tingxie time to make a point. It's ok to make mistakes. After doing corrections, you will remember the word you gotten wrong more than those U got right.
Tingxie and spelling are good examples of what is known as "Blocked Practice". The initial acquisition is easy, retention of memory is high and levels of errors are low. However, over time, the retention depletes fast and significant and the levels of errors occurred are high.

The other method, known as "Interleaved Practice", which is to randomise the questions or problems to be solved by applying what was memorised or learnt, is the opposite.

Watch this YT video, from time stamp 12:05 to 13:25

And I fully agree for tingxie and spelling, it's more important to learn the words, their meanings, how and when to use them, rather than brute forcing to memorised to get full marks for the test. It's much more important to learn in a way that it it becomes transferable knowledge, rather than silo knowledge, which is hard to link and chain to other knowledge.

Parents will be interested to watch this YT video:
(The previous mention of "Teaching for transfer" is from time stamp 43:32 to 47:11)

sarduakar2000

Some subjects are hard to learn especially languages. Math is you need to know the syllabus and the 'MOE' school way of solving the question. Very different from my era liao. When I am younger, the science don't even have this method of CER lor.

Calis_Yoda

i got friend spend ten of thousands in primary school to send kid to tuition. end up average only and do worse than those who didnt tuition. he regreted.
Means the tuition teacher's method of teaching or coaching is ineffective or wrong, or the method doesn't fit / incompatible with the kid.

muji4832

You never watch the vid on how the ChatGPT 4o providing step by step guidance / tutorial. You don't even need to type anything. It observes you through a camera.

Think about it. Human makes errors. Not saying that AI won't, but if the topic is academically related it should be good enough.

Think about it again. Human have emotions. AI don't. Imagine explaining 20 times to your kids on a same topic and he or she still don't get it. Do you get frustrated ?

watch too much " i not stupid " LOL

Mama_alicia

Go tuition is better than stay home playing online games and watching YouTube etc. And which kid doesn’t want to score well? It’s demoralising if u saw your classmates scoring 90 and u only have 60 or 70. Surely you wish to improve too! And if your parents are busy at work, tuition is the way to go, and they are the professionals for a reason since they know the marking method and how you should be answering (esp science needs CER and comprehension needs answering techniques)

Soracak

Parents teach their kids? U will be surprised how buay gan a lot of parents are, sometimes even the primary school stuff.

How many of u have managers, bosses, big bosses who write terrible emails filled with grammar mistakes, convoluted sentences, and filled with senseless corporate jargon? They cannot write, cannot count.

But they got money which goes to the tutors.

Apparatus

If the child ask the father a question and he cannot answer then how? Laopeh sibeh malu tio boh?

:rolleyes:

Soracak

Imagine explaining 20 times to your kids on a same topic and he or she still don't get it. Do you get frustrated ?

On those subjects, parents cannot be tutors. The disciplinary role and education role should not mix. Outsource better.

trailvinzyl

Reasons:

1. The children is the parents one, not the tuition teachers one. Of course the parents will have genuine interests in the children, whereas the tuition teachers just want to make money only.

2. Via watching the children do homework, be their spelling exercise narrator, as well as providing guidance when they encounter problem with their homework - can help to froster the relationship between the parents and the children.

3. The money saved from tuition, can use to bring the children go eat nice things, play fun things - this can help to froster the parents and children relationship even more.

4. Attending tuition is actually building a reliance on tuition. The mainstream tuition only got primary school and secondary school, some got until JC. Once go Poly and Uni, they are on their own. Might as well the parents accompany the children with their homework when they are in primary school - this can help to train the children to be independent in their learning.

Therefore, based on the above 4 reasons, actually no tuition would be better.

Accompany children do homework, not only can save money, can also obtain much more effectiveness. :)
If the kids not urs how ar? Do wat with them?

Soracak

If the child ask the father a question and he cannot answer then how? Laopeh sibeh malu tio boh?

:rolleyes:

Yes, chinese. More than 30 years ago, cannot expect to remember all the words. Fact. If scared malu then dun have kids.

mcylo

u got compare the kids results before and after tuition.

if with tuition, results average nia, without tuition, results confirm is gg

okichin

Ownself teach:

1. Will vomit blood, lead to high blood

2. Sometimes teach in the wrong way cos not trained. Leading to wrong learning habits

3. May spoil relationship with kids, cos most of time will start to scold them. Leading to fear or lack of interest to study.

Therefore, based on the above 3 reasons, I think tuition does have merits if your kid needs it.

drkcynic

My friend's kid went for loads of tuition.

P6 this year and got AL4, HCL distinction.

For every 10 bad examples there will be 1 good example.

Your money your choice.

mummynew

I am good with teaching but I chose not to tutor kids like my own and my nieces/nephews if I assess they are capable of one day figuring it out their own ways of studying (this one need patience to wait while seeing them fall and rise, rise and fall etc). My personal view of education is more on the learning journey and real cognitive development and not so much on chasing the As / Distinction whenever possible, that ideally kids should be able to experience the feeling of "learning is meaningful" i/o "study to score".

The only one whom I tutored seriously is my current sec school niece whom I observe as ADD (weak concentration span / dreamy) with other mild learning disability issue. I have been holding her hand since she was about 6 yo after preschool teachers feedback that she might need 'help'.

It has been a challenging journey for me esp after she started sec school as I have to relearn my Math and Sciences along with the new format for humanities subjects. She scored reasonably well for her last year-end exams (fortunately she is a diligent child capable of following my 'exam smart' tips to study for exams).

I thinking of sending her outside for math tuition for a try next year so that I can free the time to focus in other subjects in prep for O levels. Averaged tuition fee I checked is about $90/session of 2 hours (meaning $360 - $450 / month), with class size averaged 10 students. I sent her for trial lesson in 3 different centres but all turned up not ideal. One tutor said she is 'slow' and can't follow lesson while the other two she feedback to me 'explanations not clear'.

I will still try to let her trial in another two centres and if all these fail, then no choice I have to resume my hand holding of her Math till after O levels. (her 'ideal' tutor I know is one-to-one spec needs tutor but that is too expensive for my brother at about $1000+/month/subject).

*TDLR: With the 'right' tuition, it is actually not difficult to score as can be seen by even a mild spec needs child with IQ I assessed to be below average can score reasonably well with diligence. So the key is if your child needs tuition, take some time to assess the tutor and settle for one that is of a better fit with your child.

Lchlch

Reasons:

1. The children is the parents one, not the tuition teachers one. Of course the parents will have genuine interests in the children, whereas the tuition teachers just want to make money only.

2. Via watching the children do homework, be their spelling exercise narrator, as well as providing guidance when they encounter problem with their homework - can help to froster the relationship between the parents and the children.

3. The money saved from tuition, can use to bring the children go eat nice things, play fun things - this can help to froster the parents and children relationship even more.

4. Attending tuition is actually building a reliance on tuition. The mainstream tuition only got primary school and secondary school, some got until JC. Once go Poly and Uni, they are on their own. Might as well the parents accompany the children with their homework when they are in primary school - this can help to train the children to be independent in their learning.

Therefore, based on the above 4 reasons, actually no tuition would be better.

Accompany children do homework, not only can save money, can also obtain much more effectiveness. :)
if the parents have the means to give their children tuition, go for it.
Let them enjoy the tuition with other students in a class room.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.