Tung Lok Group roasts diner for refusing to pay over 'not an Irish duck' claim, gets flamed by netizens instead

euko82

that plate of duck cannot be served to other customers already la. today if you come in 10 mins after and ordered a half duck and they serve you that same plate, you will take ah?

Will take if they charge half price

Lss

some comments very funny....customer ordered the duck he cannot just walk out without paying without first getting the restaurant consent right? like that the food cost who bear :unsure:
I don't think restaurant got a right to hold ppl. But if you run like that is dine and dash le. Fortunately in Singapore no scared. Police no catch one.

12bucklemyshoe

Will take if they charge half price
if the man took out his mask, start arguing with the staff and his saliva go into the duck, half price u still ok?

as a general rule of thumb, once food is served they don't "re-serve" the food to other tables already la. sibei erxin leh.

eAtNeAt

If tl markets as Irish duck but served something else then maybe he got a case.

I don't understand why Tung Lok get flamed by netizens.
Such nonsensical customer behavior shouldn't be tolerated by any restaurant,

it's wasting food.
The amount is only $35, I think the restaurant can well afford to tolerate such losses.

It's not about getting back that $35, its about raising awareness and getting that man be responsible for his action. If Tung Lok choose to keep quiet and tolerate such customer, he may return again or patron other restaurants and start his nonsense again.
"This Abalone is NOT from AUSTRALIA !" or other nonsense.

Initially, I suspect this is some marketing campaign because duckland isn't that famous. But I later I think Tung Lok need not resort to such low SES campaign to bring up Duckland's name

I have ate in Duckland before.
Honestly, the food is very good. I love the duck but I can't tell any difference whether it's Irish Duck or Malaysia Duck.

recruit

Tung Lok should just post a message that doesn’t sound so low EQ. Just state in a matter-of-fact manner that they had a customer who walked off without paying because he thinks it’s not Irish duck, and that they would like to take the chance to assure all consumers their ducks are indeed Irish duck. Then end the post courteously asking the customer to return. Like that can liao, why need to write until like some personal saga..

straweffigy

I don't think restaurant got a right to hold ppl. But if you run like that is dine and dash le. Fortunately in Singapore no scared. Police no catch one

Can’t say for sure
Nowadays police will act if it goes viral enough

crazycow

Customer broke which law?
Got cheat anyone?
He didn't eat one piece of the meat.
Call police over $35 duck...
Tunglok group summons their lawyers already?

=

Our restaurant staff remained patient and professional throughout the entire unfortunate incident. We are irked that half a duck has gone to waste, and consider this an outright sabotage.

We will be making a police report and he can expect a visit from the authorities for leaving the restaurant without paying for his food order.

#tunglokgroup
Are you stupid? he already ordered the duck which was served to his table. The restaurant cannot take back the food and reuse to serve others, so it is considered consumed and the man did not pay

benedium

Maybe from now on all restaurants should take payment before serving the food. Also solves problem of runaway customers.

CCCustom

The only thing going for the guy is that he didn’t touch it ... it’s not like he ate the thing then come and jjww not Irish don’t want to pay and walk out, or argue with an imaginary friend (like 1 of Victor Lye’s “old friends” at the coffeeshop where he’s the only 1 at the table) and then storm out claiming the imaginary friend is the 1 who should pay =:p

PointofCommonCoupling

straweffigy

Tung Lok should just post a message that doesn’t sound so low EQ. Just state in a matter-of-fact manner that they had a customer who walked off without paying because he thinks it’s not Irish duck, and that they would like to take the chance to assure all consumers their ducks are indeed Irish duck. Then end the post courteously asking the customer to return. Like that can liao, why need to write until like some personal saga..
Well said
Bring awareness - Yes
Name & shame with low EQ, condescending tone - Big no

benedium

In light of the rising number of siaolangs out there, all restaurants should take payment before serving food. Problem solved.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.