TV repair discussion thread (consolidated)

mOomOo

Anybody got this syndrome where the LG TV will power on showing the LG logo... After which there will be no display.

What is the problem hur?

Called up LG and fixed an appointment. Told me lazada is not an authorized reseller...Bought from Lazada and the seller was mega discount store...

Now checking with them how to produce valid invoice when the technician comes. Sian...last time the delivery guy just gave me a logistics delivery note.

i1magic

Heard from somebody that said that the customer service working at Xiaomi Concept shop in Suntec said that they will be selling the Xiaomi Mi TV 3S in 2017 onwards.

But personally, I think the price could be 20% or more higher than export set.

Henry Ng

Anybody got this syndrome where the LG TV will power on showing the LG logo... After which there will be no display.

What is the problem hur?

Called up LG and fixed an appointment. Told me lazada is not an authorized reseller...Bought from Lazada and the seller was mega discount store...

Now checking with them how to produce valid invoice when the technician comes. Sian...last time the delivery guy just gave me a logistics delivery note.

Even buy online is ok as long as it is written in the Online invoice and receipt and it show Mega discount store. May be go down to store to get a re-print with your delivery note. Now u know why i always discourage online purchase.

cscs3

Even buy online is ok as long as it is written in the Online invoice and receipt and it show Mega discount store. May be go down to store to get a re-print with your delivery note. Now u know why i always discourage online purchase.

It depend if it is parallel imported set. Now a day some shop sell both. Agent and/or imported set. Some Qoo10 shop mention it clearly, but not all. So purchase with caution. Qoo10 do not enforce goods original.

Henry Ng

It depend if it is parallel imported set. Now a day some shop sell both. Agent and/or imported set. Some Qoo10 shop mention it clearly, but not all. So purchase with caution. Qoo10 do not enforce goods original.

It is because Qoo10 is 3rd party shopping sites. Best to buy direct from superstore website like courts.com.sg etc. Mega discount store also can buy online.

lifeishard

Just now when i switched on my samsung f8000 tv, it cannot 'load'. Blink on & off constantly, able to see faint 'smart tv' logo then immediately off again then on again in never ending loop. Have to off tv by plugging out.

Any idea what happened? Tv should still be under warranty but i did not register coz i think last time salesman said keep receipt can liao...now i worried :(

Cold comfort is that it at least broke down near end of warranty. really must force myself not to get samsung tv next time despite price to performance ratio is quite good coz previous sammy tv also broke down few months after warranty.

luvalist

My LG 32" died. Turned off and can not turned on again. Should be more than 6 years old.

Anyone knows any good repair man? Just want to do some cost assessment. If >$100, then forget it

i1magic

My LG 32" died. Turned off and can not turned on again. Should be more than 6 years old.

Anyone knows any good repair man? Just want to do some cost assessment. If >$100, then forget it

Just Carousell it away as spoilt and get a new one.

The transport cost to go down and assess, should be at least $20-$30 liao. After repair liao, no guarantee other stuffs will not fail.

luvalist

The transport cost to go down and assess, should be at least $20-$30 liao. After repair liao, no guarantee other stuffs will not fail.

haha. I know what you mean. but carouhell? I rather dump. lol too much hassle to carousell.

This is a backup tv and we are not prepared to buy a new one. I thought $100 is pretty reasonable. and TV nowadays seems to have shorter and shorter lifespan. Buy new one also bo bao won't spoil. :s13:

P.s checked lazada and realised a 32" LED tV can cost $199. haha. gotta reassess cost-benefits.

jskc3617

Just self repair a Sammy 32" LCD tv last week which is older than your due to a faulty power supply board. If you are sure or suspect that the power supply board cause tv cannot turn on, you may try open the back cover (disconnect power cable 1st) and look out for the part number of the power supply board. I not sure your tv back cover is easy to remove or not but mine not difficult. Then go taobao to search for the exact board for price and decide yourself whether worth to get it and DIY or not. Anyway 死马当活马医 so you may want to give a try. But of course, do it at your own risk.

For my case I first check the fuse on the board and found faulty. After changing a new fuse and power on, the fuse immediately blow off but I can see the Power led on a few second and off again. Lucky to found a exact board and bought it for replacement. Now the tv is working as usual and the damage is less than your budget for repair. Good luck.

i1magic

haha. I know what you mean. but carouhell? I rather dump. lol too much hassle to carousell.

This is a backup tv and we are not prepared to buy a new one. I thought $100 is pretty reasonable. and TV nowadays seems to have shorter and shorter lifespan. Buy new one also bo bao won't spoil. :s13:

P.s checked lazada and realised a 32" LED tV can cost $199. haha. gotta reassess cost-benefits.

Yah lor. TV is very cheap now. So just post on Carousell, there may be people that wants it. If can sell $30, also good right?

luvalist

Just self repair a Sammy 32" LCD tv last week which is older than your due to a faulty power supply board. If you are sure or suspect that the power supply board cause tv cannot turn on, you may try open the back cover (disconnect power cable 1st) and look out for the part number of the power supply board. I not sure your tv back cover is easy to remove or not but mine not difficult. Then go taobao to search for the exact board for price and decide yourself whether worth to get it and DIY or not. Anyway 死马当活马医 so you may want to give a try. But of course, do it at your own risk.

For my case I first check the fuse on the board and found faulty. After changing a new fuse and power on, the fuse immediately blow off but I can see the Power led on a few second and off again. Lucky to found a exact board and bought it for replacement. Now the tv is working as usual and the damage is less than your budget for repair. Good luck.

icic nice work! sometimes not abt the money, maybe I have old people's thinking - repair abit still can use mah, why throw away :s13:

luvalist

Yah lor. TV is very cheap now. So just post on Carousell, there may be people that wants it. If can sell $30, also good right?

met some lowballers plus hassle of arranging a trade, I rather not deal.

But I searched carousell and saw there are people who wants faulty TV and will go your house collect. haven't deal/contacted any of them.

But FYI to all who needs to get rid of ur faulty TV ya

i1magic

met some lowballers plus hassle of arranging a trade, I rather not deal.

But I searched carousell and saw there are people who wants faulty TV and will go your house collect. haven't deal/contacted any of them.

But FYI to all who needs to get rid of ur faulty TV ya

Low ball? How much you want to sell your spoilt 32" LCD TV for? $200?

Anyway, I posted my spoilt LG 42" LED TV on Carousell and a guy offered $100. Arrange, he came and collect, that's it.

Seriously, I was hoping to have more spoilt TV that I can find to sell. LOL!

petetherock

I think we all have to take a step back. I paid 7k plus for my Pioneer Plasma TV back then, but I can't expect anywhere near to that amount.
That's life.
It's not a condo or a HDB flat or even a Rolex where there is some value. Ask for a reasonable sum, get rid of it and enjoy the new set :)

cscs3

It is because Qoo10 is 3rd party shopping sites. Best to buy direct from superstore website like courts.com.sg etc. Mega discount store also can buy online.

Problem is the price different. Especially from those super store. Courts super store web purchase is waste of time. Sometime even more expensive then the store itself as promoter give you discount and throw in free gift.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.