uniqlo!

arcueid

that's why the marketing company behind uniqlo has a porsche parked in their carpark :o

SpeedingBullet

Said it abt a year back in another Uniqlo thread.

Singaporeans will totally ruin Uniqlo's excellent brand image even though they're just a casual-wear brand.

It goes smth like this:

1. Kiasu aunties/uncles Q up for NOTHING. And curious ppl who've never even heard of Uniqlo, also Qing just to join in the fun. Creating a HUGE crowd.

2. Then, ppl on the sidelines who know nuts abt Uniqlo watching like in this thread[mostly newfags to F&G forums], will think "whoa hype, lousy lah". Then spread the msg that Uniqlo sucks cos of the hype. And it goes a full cycle, back to the very idiots who Q'd in the first place.

Viral marketing yes, but there's one thing foreign marketing personnel can never understand about Singapore- the very people in this country love to degrade sh1t. But Q up for the 1st few mths.

so this is a gd idea to open up here in SG for only 3 mths, get a 3-mth lease, go on an aggressive marketing campaign...after the hype dies[usually 3mths], close down, and move to another country. Maximise profits, sucker-punch Sillyporeans and laugh ur way to the bank. :D

Maybe I shd suggest this to Fast Retailing Co., get them out of here, quick.

ZoOpeR

I really wish they hadn't done so much aggressive marketing. Then at least only the real Uniqlo lovers/supporters/fans would be there buying and not those........ sigh. Well I guess thats business right, make as much money as possible. Who cares about loyal supporters. :(

kurenai_89

2nd this. typical singaporeans, queue up just ppl everyone do so. Its just seriously WTF. those who knws nuts about this brand, will either queue up too, or go round saying "oh, these are all hype and ****". why nt just support the brand tt u like? :D be it the brand's name's cool, or the concept is sth like muji that has a jap concept or just because the casual wear is too gd to hoot, just buy wad u think is gd/suits u.

SpeedingBullet

I really wish they hadn't done so much aggressive marketing. Then at least only the real Uniqlo lovers/supporters/fans would be there buying and not those........ sigh. Well I guess thats business right, make as much money as possible. Who cares about loyal supporters. :(

billionaire liao, care abt wat? oh yeah, care whether the private jet order can be hastened, can't wait to sit in the new Gulfstream. :o

mynameisjon

Uniqlo is still definately better than Giodarno/Baleno etc. Quality to Price ratio for most of their items are way higher than the others.

arcueid

i wonder if there's still a queue today.

i don't think singaporeans will kill that brand name. After this hype is over, it will all depends on how they market their products. Once the hype dies down, their quality of their products will speak for themselves.

Even americans queue up when topshop opened in NYC recently. And the queue is so much longer. I think it's perfectly fine for that to happen in Singapore.

(btw the marketing coy behind their ads is local)

Thinker

wow, you guys are elitist. If the japanese aunties I saw back in tokyo can shop for it, I don't see why aunties or uncles here can.

Stop trying big up a brand that's no better than Giordano. It's silly and pathetic.

SpeedingBullet

wow, you guys are elitist. If the japanese aunties I saw back in tokyo can shop for it, I don't see why aunties or uncles here can.

Stop trying big up a brand that's no better than Giordano. It's silly and pathetic.

Welcome to F&G my friend. Elitist? Uhh...

The fashion world is vicious, live with it.

GamerZ

Uniqlo is still definately better than Giodarno/Baleno etc. Quality to Price ratio for most of their items are way higher than the others.

you sure boh?

If uniqlo items all put at giordano. 98% of the peepur won't even bother to buy it.

TheKid

i wonder if there's still a queue today.

i don't think singaporeans will kill that brand name. After this hype is over, it will all depends on how they market their products. Once the hype dies down, their quality of their products will speak for themselves.

Even americans queue up when topshop opened in NYC recently. And the queue is so much longer. I think it's perfectly fine for that to happen in Singapore.

(btw the marketing coy behind their ads is local)

You should see H&M and 1 of their collabs, iirc the store is on the second floor but the ang mohs queued all the way until the first floor =_-=

GothNinja

just copped the raw selvedge black MIJ for 99.90 not bad of a deal i would say. Already wearing them, gonna see how these fade in about a month or so. Their inseam length is slightly longer than the s-001 and t-000. Which is about 34 inches compared to the none selvedge which is only about 32 inches. My opinion, size down 1 or stay true to size depending on ur preferences but do not size up cuz its only been half a day for me and the knee bulges are already showing up. The denim quality is actually at par with some of the LVC models. Definetly a good buy!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.