UOB FD is 2.6%, really?

iMac

fixed-deposit-promo-1180x700.jpg

I see the long Q outside UOB bank.....

The adver said "Up to 2.6%"...but there is a little "*" on it....anyone successfully deposited ?

What are the "*" ?

iMac

minimum 20,000 thats all...
for 12mths

no other weird T&C
How about early withdrawal penalty ?

Some Bank FD will impose penalty for early withdrawal.(Like put in $10, take out only $9)

dappermen

please lah. this is money mind lah. tbills trump uob in every aspect.

only ah pek and ah mah go que for uob fd
u r speaking the truth! not all has the mind

but might be offending to all those lovers for ssb and FDs and bank accounts, passion soared high in those discussing in these threads, generating numerous discussions.........
Elderly are like fine wine though it is right that they love queueing there
(a sporean pastime)

hi! i have posted this since in Aug , there is nothing wrong

fixed-deposit-promo-1180x700.jpg

the Queue is @ all banks, not just UOB

yuppieboy

The adver said "Up to 2.6%"...but there is a little "*" on it....anyone successfully deposited ?

What are the "*" ?
Why queue when you can do it at the comfort of your home? I finished making a few FD placements through the phone apps.

BBCWatcher

Why queue when you can do it at the comfort of your home? I finished making a few FD placements through the phone apps.
T-bills and other Singapore Government Securities (SGSes) are also available for purchase through any of the "Big 3" banks' Internet/Web browser online banking services. However, you probably need to visit a branch if you want to use CPF Ordinary Account funds to buy a SGS.

bargin

How about early withdrawal penalty ?

Some Bank FD will impose penalty for early withdrawal.(Like put in $10, take out only $9)
no penalty and no daily savings interest till the days before withdrawal

wira

definitely SG t bill much better thsn puting in FD !! and 100% online no need Q !

sohguanh

definitely SG t bill much better thsn puting in FD !! and 100% online no need Q !
Agree. It is so ironic UOB mobile app has this place FD feature but you need to go branch. Anyway as of now T-bill is good a lot is eyeing the upcoming 12 month T-bill for which I am too. I think can bid 3.5%? hmmmm

sohguanh

Problem is many boomers dun even know what a t bill is.
Agree I also dunno SSB, T-bill until I learn from this forum from the new young ppl lobang. Sometimes one need to update with the times. E.g now I know credit card can function as ATM without incurring cash advance fees for e.g. 1 lot in SGX is no more 1000 shares but 100 shares another e.g etc

CyberTan

Agree I also dunno SSB, T-bill until I learn from this forum from the new young ppl lobang. Sometimes one need to update with the times. E.g now I know credit card can function as ATM without incurring cash advance fees for e.g. 1 lot in SGX is no more 1000 shares but 100 shares another e.g etc
But older folks still regard lot as 1k shares

sohguanh

But older folks still regard lot as 1k shares
It is ok. Old habits hard to break for some. Now you ppl say 1 lot 100 shares wait when you all reach age 50 same like me 1 lot can be 10 shares already who knows. Then you all will change and adapt? All ppl get old eventually

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.