UOB FD is 2.6%, really?

reddevil0728

It was just 6-7 yrs ago where if you had 600k, you could buy a 1 bedder pte condo - full cash. Today, save in what asset class? New launches already over 2k psf. Put 20k or 50k FD x how many queues or clicks at 2.6%, jialat leh. Put in RA for Additional Monthly Payouts maybe their kiddos had helped them do. Only just learned last month from this forum to put into SSB, actually wanted to put in 1k, it says there is an upfront cost of 2 dollars per transaction, so change to 10k. Next to learn from this forum is the 6 month or 12 month Tbills, apply thru DBS UOB or OCBC best? Any difference on upfront transaction costs with cash or CPF OA? What is competitive and non competitive bid?
The Tbill thread post 1 and 2 got explain m

sohguanh

I dont know about you guys, but the difference is not even enough to top up a full tank of petrol for me
For ppl who don't drive, a full tank of petrol is our cai png for one week so it really matter. For your case you can safely ignore since cannot top up a full tank.

BTO_Brah

im really wondering how much money are you guys putting in for tbill and bonds

is the difference of 0.39-0.72 % matters that much?

72 basis is definitely significant, but very importantly for this thread:
Factoring in the time (opportunity cost) is it that much to haggle?
It's faster to do a T-bill bid online than to queue at a UOB branch for hours to be upsold nonsense products by the jr. sales bankes.

8zaoyu

It's faster to do a T-bill bid online than to queue at a UOB branch for hours to be upsold nonsense products by the jr. sales bankes.
Ya, if they see elderlies with hugh savings, they bundle inside cubicles to upsell nonsence insurance savings! We were those then, still paying savings for such product

DriftKing

Sometimes, people just want to talk to people f2f. Who knows maybe got chiobu teller

LouisSaha

Ocbc is a breeze man. Happy they match 2.6% same as UOB.
Open FD via ibanking online. Place money and voila. Settled. Not like stupid UOB bank, the tech is stone age dinosaur. Everything also need to go down to branch.

reddevil0728

Sometimes, people just want to talk to people f2f. Who knows maybe got chiobu teller
Then that’s the intangible cost that has to be paid for with lower rate and inconvenience lor.

but why need to put fd to talk to people? Can talk to people and beo chio bu elsewhere also what

dork32

Open FD via ibanking online. Place money and voila. Settled. Not like stupid UOB bank, the tech is stone age dinosaur. Everything also need to go down to branch.
tbills is a breeze man. happy they topped the stupid 2.6% by uob and ocbc by 0.72%
buy tbill via ibanking. place money and viola. settled. this is guaranteed by gamemen of sg., the same guy that guarantees the 75k deposit for the stupid local banks

DriftKing

tbills is a breeze man. happy they topped the stupid 2.6% by uob and ocbc by 0.72%
buy tbill via ibanking. place money and viola. settled. this is guaranteed by gamemen of sg., the same guy that guarantees the 75k deposit for the stupid local banks
Actually does it require declaration and minimum education to sign up for bills / govt bonds, which old folks may not have the basic requirements? (Like the accredited investor but not until that level)

dork32

Actually does it require declaration and minimum education to sign up for bills / govt bonds, which old folks may not have the basic requirements? (Like the accredited investor but not until that level)
you mean i must show them my psle cert and my kindergarten graduation photo?

sohguanh

You should save some and bid for the upcoming Oct 12 month T-bill I think the auction result should be higher than 2.6%. Of cuz no one can predict the future but recently concluded 6 month T-bill is 3.32% that is a lot!

Kidneypool

Fed likely to raise interest rate this week. I presume T-bill rate will also increase when the Oct 12 month t-bill auction starts next week?

bargin

juz need cash and cdp account

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.