UOB one card

paurusu

Wah... take so long to get this card cancelled. Raised the request on 27th Sep, because i heard recently they won't entertain annual fee waiver requests anymore. I have nothing outstanding when i made the request on 27th Sep. Until now still processing. Not a simple on off switch meh?

Strange - i remember my card annual fee just waived last month actually hmmm

betaunknown

Hi, I would like to check whether this is the norm.

So my quarter is Jun, Jul, Aug. I had charged at least $2k qualifying transactions each month, and minimally 5 transactions. However I was only awarded the rebate for the $500 worth of qualifying transactions tier.

So I called UOB and checked. They told me that's because in Jun, I had $1.4k of refund (for transactions posted in May). So they computed qualifying transactions netting off the refund i.e $2k - $1.4k = $600. I already know this refund is coming in May, so I had made $4k worth of transactions in May (thinking that the refund would be against the month the transactions were posted). So now they are telling me that they would net off refund against the month the refund was posted and not against when the transactions were posted?

Am I missing something? So from now on I can charge 2k each month and refund the transactions subsequently and still get the rebate?

maumu

So my quarter is Jun, Jul, Aug. I had charged at least $2k qualifying transactions each month, and minimally 5 transactions. However I was only awarded the rebate for the $500 worth of qualifying transactions tier.

So I called UOB and checked. They told me that's because in Jun, I had $1.4k of refund (for transactions posted in May). So they computed qualifying transactions netting off the refund i.e $2k - $1.4k = $600. I already know this refund is coming in May, so I had made $4k worth of transactions in May (thinking that the refund would be against the month the transactions were posted). So now they are telling me that they would net off refund against the month the refund was posted and not against when the transactions were posted?

Am I missing something? So from now on I can charge 2k each month and refund the transactions subsequently and still get the rebate?

they would have given you the rebate for Mar, Apr and May based on your 2k spending in May (before refund was in effect) right? so, they had not taken back your rebate for the previous quarter. thus, with the refund in Jun, they will of course not give you the rebate for spending in June, unless you spend the extra 1.4k (i.e. $3.4k in June).

it is either they take back the rebate for Mar/Apr/May, or they don't give you the rebate for Jun/Jul/Aug.

I think you tried to go one step ahead and spend the extra 1.4k in May which doesn't count towards Jun.

in any case, if you had indeed spend the extra 1.4k, they will surely agree to your appeal to give you the rebate from Jun/Jul/Aug. they're quite kind and flexible and I have gotten such good will from them twice alone this year (despite them saying that normally they only allow one appeal per year).

don't worry if you have already done your part to cover the 1.4k refund with another 1.4k spend.

Trazora

By right you should only spend extra to make up the amount negated by the refund in the month the refund is made. This is how banks deal with refunds in general. You can try to appeal to UOB.

betaunknown

they would have given you the rebate for Mar, Apr and May based on your 2k spending in May (before refund was in effect) right? so, they had not taken back your rebate for the previous quarter. thus, with the refund in Jun, they will of course not give you the rebate for spending in June, unless you spend the extra 1.4k (i.e. $3.4k in June).

it is either they take back the rebate for Mar/Apr/May, or they don't give you the rebate for Jun/Jul/Aug.

I think you tried to go one step ahead and spend the extra 1.4k in May which doesn't count towards Jun.

in any case, if you had indeed spend the extra 1.4k, they will surely agree to your appeal to give you the rebate from Jun/Jul/Aug. they're quite kind and flexible and I have gotten such good will from them twice alone this year (despite them saying that normally they only allow one appeal per year).

don't worry if you have already done your part to cover the 1.4k refund with another 1.4k spend.

I see, good to know that. Yes I have covered the refund amount in May (spent $4k) because I thought the refund would be to net off the qualifying spend for May.

I have submitted an appeal.

zhxiaobian

fed up with uob cs.

Past few months I have been using ipaymy to pay my insurance with onecard. Called cs in the morning to check if this month meet eligible spending. The cs is nice to calculate and called me back to tell me the result in the afternoon, but the eligible amount is way too low than what I expected. I guess it could be insurance payment by ipaymy.

I clarified with him the MCC is still 7399 same as previous months. He keep insisting the insurance payments are not counted and so 7399 is excluded. I reminded him 7399 is never excluded so why not counted, and check if tnc updated. he told me his tnc version is 16 March, the version I downloaded from uob website is 4 July...

Think uob never pay me money why waste my time to educate him? Thank him nicely and end the call.

Good thing the oncecard statement can be downloaded in excel format. I can do the sum by myself. Next time only need to call to check MCC for transactions that's unsure.

spikeling

fed up with uob cs.

Past few months I have been using ipaymy to pay my insurance with onecard. Called cs in the morning to check if this month meet eligible spending. The cs is nice to calculate and called me back to tell me the result in the afternoon, but the eligible amount is way too low than what I expected. I guess it could be insurance payment by ipaymy.

I clarified with him the MCC is still 7399 same as previous months. He keep insisting the insurance payments are not counted and so 7399 is excluded. I reminded him 7399 is never excluded so why not counted, and check if tnc updated. he told me his tnc version is 16 March, the version I downloaded from uob website is 4 July...

Think uob never pay me money why waste my time to educate him? Thank him nicely and end the call.

Good thing the oncecard statement can be downloaded in excel format. I can do the sum by myself. Next time only need to call to check MCC for transactions that's unsure.

Dunno what is the purpose of your call since you already have all the answers to the questions.

You keep calling them to verify this and that and I am sure sooner than later the CS will feedback to the product team to exclude all ipaymy payments in order to avoid confrontations from ppl like you.

kurt111494

fed up with uob cs.

Let's all just work together and just quote the MCC in future ok? :) I don't wanna give them more ideas of merchants to exclude...interest rate so low liao, I don't wanna further lose any rebates :(

b0ring

My annual fee cannot waived. Just called in to cancel today and they cancelled. Oh well.

zhxiaobian

Dunno what is the purpose of your call since you already have all the answers to the questions.

You keep calling them to verify this and that and I am sure sooner than later the CS will feedback to the product team to exclude all ipaymy payments in order to avoid confrontations from ppl like you.

Do you know me? How do you know I keep calling them to verify this and that?

Do I need to explain to you why I called? Okay. Simply because I have fewer regular payments this month as compared to previous months so to check whether my spending meeting the quota. Didn't i mentioned in my post at the end I learn to download the statement in excel format and calculate it by myself? And concluded only need to ask mcc that's unsure in the future? And what "confrontation?" Didn't I mentioned I ended the call by thanking the CS nicely?

So what's the purpose of you replying? It seems to me you are ready to blame ppl who has called UOB CS when UOB decided to exclude ipaymy and cardup. You thought they don't know what services ipaymy and cardup offer? Even if they are as you mentioned cannot tahan their customers "keep calling to verify this and that," whose fault is this? Isn't it the CS's job to answer customer's question when he needs help?

Pls think before next time you reply, and better don't reply me, I cannot tahan unreasonable confrontations from ppl like you.

JuniorLion

fed up with uob cs.

Most CSO haven't heard of ipaymy.

maumu

... blame ppl who has called UOB CS when UOB decided to exclude ipaymy and cardup.

:eek: they have decided to exclude ipaymy and cardup meh? my latest statement (for Aug spend) still includes. haven't check for Sep.

anyway, just letting you know that there're some of us here who're anxious about such things... so it is better not to ask the bank this and that as they think the banks will take action to exclude more and more stuff, also that they have 'spies' who often come here to read what is posted here.

so it's a catch-22. you know, you keep quiet. but when you keep quiet, others won't know. then if you're them you won't know and you end up asking.

then those who know will buay song. that's what I learnt from here.

so... moral of the story - know already keep quiet. don't know, don't ask. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.