UOB one card

adviseandadvices

like to ask

if i spend S$300 on fixed local bills via automatic recurring giro payment, and another S$400 on overseas bills in USD.

do i get

3.33% of $300 + 5.33% of S$400?

I posted this on another thread.

If you spend 300/300/300+400(overseas), you will get:

$30+$8

Which works out to be 2.92% (38/1300*100%)

Hence using UOB One overseas is not recommended if you are currently hitting the tiers with your recurring bills. Only 2% extra for the overseas expenses

adviseandadvices

So something weird happened.. My fiancé and I both have the UOB ONE card, and we have been diligently going down to the hotel for our wedding banquet to pay $1000 each every starting of the month.

My cut off date for each statement period is on the 23rd, and his is the 12th, and this month we went down a few days later than usual, on the 7th to make payment.

He received his statement yesterday and his $1,000 transaction was not included for some reason. Yet when I logged in to my iBanking (he doesn't have it yet), I saw that my own transaction was posted on 8th November.

From the 7th to 12th that's 5 days difference. And mine was posted 1 day later so not sure what happened to his transaction.

Anyone ever encountered such a delay before? I'm not sure what are the chances of a dispute to get the quarterly rebates now. But it just doesn't make sense... $150 goooone. :(

Call up UOB to check.

This cannot be the case that the hotel did not post the transaction because yours went through.

The reasons I can think of are:
1) UOB system screwed up
2) Hotel voided his transaction without informing

I hope you have kept the charge slip as you may use it as evidence. Alternatively, call the hotel to get a copy or photo of the merchant's charge slip.

zoossh

3.33% on $300 (because tiers are 300, then 800)
2% on $400 (because overseas spending earn 2% regardless of achieving tiers or not).

If you had spent $300 + 500 then it'll be

3.33% on $800
2% on $400 (overseas spending)

hmmm...

3.33% x $300 (local) + 3.33% x $400 (overseas) + 2% x $400 (overseas).

isnt it the same as my initial question of

3.33% x $300 + 5.33% x $400?

but must have
- 3 transaction per calender month,
- ensure they are dated on 1st-20th of each month (just in case of late merchent posting date) and
- ensure at least $300 per month, and
- ensure no cancellation in any month, and
- ensure the month before and the month after that 3 months also had > $300, just in case they flip on the period counted.

a lot of thing to ensure woh...:(:(:(

zoossh

ok i see it liao.

for $300, they give u 3.33% x $300.

for $301-$799, they dun give u rebate at all. so if i got local bills and overseas spend, die die got to hit $800, if not will lugi. so best is to ensure that local bill hit $300, then apply card. then if overseas can have fixed spending or fixed bill of $500, then use uob one? tio boh?

3.33% x >$300 (local) + 5.33% x >$500 (overseas)

local + overseas spending/bill must be >$800, but still spend beyond $800 again they cheat on the extra spending dun give u rebate. i got it right?

dlrowehtleah

hmmm...

3.33% x $300 (local) + 3.33% x $400 (overseas) + 2% x $400 (overseas).

isnt it the same as my initial question of

3.33% x $300 + 5.33% x $400?

i don't think that is correct on the 3.33% part. basically, for this portion, no calculation is required. you get either $30, $80 or $150 nett.

overall, you charged $700 which is less than the 2nd tier of $800. so for the 3.33% rebate, u would only receive $30 and that is provided that the other 2 months you also charge at least $300/mth to the card. otherwise, you get nothing for the 3.33% portion.

the 2% rebates for the overseas expenditure is correct. it is independent from those tiers.

Edited with example:
month 1 - charged $700 (local)
month 2 - charged $800 (local)
month 3 - charged $800 (local)
rebates = $30

zoossh

i don't think that is correct on the 3.33% part. basically, for this portion, no calculation is required. you get either $30, $80 or $150 nett.

overall, you charged $700 which is less than the 2nd tier of $800. so for the 3.33% rebate, u would only receive $30 and that is provided that the other 2 months you also charge at least $300/mth to the card. otherwise, you get nothing for the 3.33% portion.

the 2% rebates for the overseas expenditure is correct. it is independent from those tiers.

Edited with example:
month 1 - charged $700 (local)
month 2 - charged $800 (local)
month 3 - charged $800 (local)
rebates = $30

basically must have fixed bills of $300-400 or $800-900 each month consistently rite?

not good for ad hoc buys.

hogrider88

basically must have fixed bills of $300-400 or $800-900 each month consistently rite?

Yes fixed bill like insurance premium or instalment plans gd.. But nt too close to the statment date cuz sometimes the posting date will be different 1-2 days..

dreamyboy

Yes fixed bill like insurance premium or instalment plans gd.. But nt too close to the statment date cuz sometimes the posting date will be different 1-2 days..

Do note that the statement will be generated earlier if your statement date falls on a Sunday.

sandwicher

Zoosh you're quite confused.

3.33% is only for $300, $800 or $1,500 spending (local AND overseas.

2% is for overseas, with no tiers at all, on top of any rebates (or lack of) given by UOB.

So, say you spent $300 in local spending + $400 in overseas,

$400 x 2% = overseas 2% rebate is given, regardless of tiers

$700 of total spending (local plus overseas) = $30 rebate for the quarter because you've hit the $300 tier but missed the $800 tier per quarter.

The only way to achieve 5.33 rebates for overseas is
1. $300 of overseas spend, only. = 3.33% for basic $300 tier plus additional 2% on overseas spending.

edwinttt1978

2% is for overseas, with no tiers at all, on top of any rebates (or lack of) given by UOB.

$700 of total spending (local plus overseas) = $30 rebate for the quarter because you've hit the $300 tier but missed the $800 tier per quarter.

1. $300 of overseas spend, only. = 3.33% for basic $300 tier plus additional 2% on overseas spending.
zoossh will be less confused with closed-ended questions.
The 2% information has been regurgitated again and again to no avail.

zoossh

actually not. i think i got it liao.

just hit the tier of $300 (or a little over. just to make sure that u never got under $300 for any month). anything far more than $300+, use other bank cc and dun spend using uob one.

if fixed bill is able to hit $800 consistently every month, then use uob one again.

given the multiple pitfalls, this card is only good for fixed bills or very painful calculation otherwise. anything that u spend far beyond the tier actually decreases your rebate ratio, hence the best is to spend exactly $300-400, 800-900, 1500-1600 per month consistently. and it is difficult to maintain that accurately with non-fixed bills.

ilovecheese

actually not. i think i got it liao.

just hit the tier of $300 (or a little over. just to make sure that u never got under $300 for any month). anything far more than $300+, use other bank cc and dun spend using uob one.

if fixed bill is able to hit $800 consistently every month, then use uob one again.

given the multiple pitfalls, this card is only good for fixed bills or very painful calculation otherwise. anything that u spend far beyond the tier actually decreases your rebate ratio, hence the best is to spend exactly $300-400, 800-900, 1500-1600 per month consistently. and it is difficult to maintain that accurately with non-fixed bills.

hi there no need to fret over such details, can always overpay singtel or telco bills to hit the tiers

zoossh

hi there no need to fret over such details, can always overpay singtel or telco bills to hit the tiers

must understand how it works before going to apply card mah. if not dun even know how much to spend to hit the tier. initially i dun even know there is a bank trap of spending over and between the tiers.

what i intend to do is get about $200-400 of local fixed bill as a base using my parents name as main holder. then i see if i can pay overseas rental to hit the $1500 or $800 tier as myself being supplementary card holder.

now using amex tcb. overseas online use frank. overseas offline and income tax use anz travel. local groceries use citibank smrt once a while. manhattan as standby for big bills.

retiring my dividend, premiermiles, rewards, 365, plus, bonussaver and delight cards. so that life get simple again.

beri stupid idiot

must understand how it works before going to apply card mah. if not dun even know how much to spend to hit the tier. initially i dun even know there is a bank trap of spending over and between the tiers.

what i intend to do is get about $200-400 of local fixed bill as a base using my parents name as main holder. then i see if i can pay overseas rental to hit the $1500 or $800 tier as myself being supplementary card holder.

now using amex tcb. overseas online use frank. overseas offline and income tax use anz travel. local groceries use citibank smrt once a while. manhattan as standby for big bills.

retiring my dividend, premiermiles, rewards, 365, plus, bonussaver and delight cards. so that life get simple again.

channel to one or two core cards as now most cards need min spend, for me, i giving up frank and 365, using the uob one and maybank plat instead

Rokusaburo

wtf found out cannot pay SP power bills using UOB one card online.

Only way is to go down to SP services at Toa Payoh or Somerset physically to pay.

chiokcc

I use POSB Everyday to pay SP bill, 1% rebate for the 1st $100 if I am not wrong.

Maybe I should go SP to pay using UOB One.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.