US Dividends Aristocrats thread

Mr. Wood

Waste Management Announces Plan to Increase the Quarterly Dividend Rate and Confirms Authorization for Share Repurchases
December 16, 2019

“Dividends remain our top priority for capital allocation after we invest in the business to drive long-term profitable growth,” said Jim Fish, President and Chief Executive Officer of Waste Management, Inc. “Our business continues to generate strong and consistent free cash flow,(a) and we are pleased to be increasing our planned quarterly dividend rate for the seventeenth consecutive year.”

waste management like good business....
last time sgx got 800super oso perform very well, but got one BB pump and dump then low ball offer to privatise.

Mr. Wood

FedEx Corp. Reports Second Quarter Result
December 17, 2019
Operating results declined due to weak global economic conditions, increased FedEx Ground costs from expanded service offerings, the loss of business from a large customer, a continuing mix shift to lower-yielding services and a more competitive pricing environment. In addition, the later timing of the Thanksgiving holiday resulted in the shifting of Cyber Week into December, which negatively impacted the quarter’s results. These factors were partially offset by lower variable incentive compensation expenses and increased yields at FedEx Freight. Net income includes a tax benefit of $133 million ($0.51 per diluted share) from the recognition of certain foreign tax loss carryforwards.

I think lost business from ecommerce. can only sustain doing corporate orders. but nowadays corporates oso moving to digital. :s22:

FedEx is unable to forecast the fiscal 2020 year-end mark-to-market (MTM) retirement plan accounting adjustment. As a result, the company is unable to provide a fiscal 2020 earnings per share or effective tax rate (ETR) outlook on a GAAP basis.

Mr. Wood

Paychex, Inc. Reports Second Quarter Results
December 18, 2019
Martin Mucci, President and Chief Executive Officer, commented, “During the second quarter, we
delivered solid growth across our major business lines. In particular, our human resource (“HR”)
outsourcing services, time and attendance solutions, and retirement services performed well.”

Mucci added, “We are heavily focused on continued innovation to meet our customers’ and their employees' evolving needs, simplifying HR complexities and offering solutions to help them thrive and grow. We are investing in innovative technology in the areas of flexible payments, integrations, data analytics, and artificial intelligence, while still maintaining our commitment to personalized service. Our state-of-the-art technology and exceptional service distinguish us in the market as we deliver a more personalized and technology-enhanced experience for our clients and their employees.”

probably we will see more of such outsourcing roles. more and more independent and small biz in this gig economy might find it useful to outsource HR and payroll.

but with growth comes competition.

Mr. Wood

Shell writes down up to $2.3 billion on weaker economic outlook
DECEMBER 20, 2019

In a trading update ahead of full year results, Shell also lowered its oil products sales forecast, pointing to the first annual slowdown in sales since at least 2014, while maintaining spending on the lower end of forecasts.

The Anglo-Dutch company warned in October that trade tensions between the United States and China, the world’s two largest energy consumers, could hurt demand and take a toll on its performance.

its a sunset industry. trade war or no trade war, I believe green energy will be the future. but maybe not by this generation.

Mr. Wood

NIKE, INC. REPORTS FISCAL 2020 SECOND QUARTER RESULTS
Dec. 19, 2019
Revenues for NIKE, Inc. increased 10 percent to $10.3 billion, up 13 percent on a currencyneutral basis.

Gross margin increased 20 basis points to 44.0 percent primarily due to higher average selling prices and margin expansion in NIKE Direct and Converse, partially offset by impacts from higher product costs, primarily due to incremental tariffs in North America.

Selling and administrative expense increased 6 percent to $3.3 billion.

The effective tax rate was 10.7 percent, compared to 15 percent for the same period last year

Net income increased 32 percent to $1.1 billion driven primarily by strong revenue growth

retail, however, will still be here for this or next generation. pple still need to wear shoes clothes underwear, but dunno which brand.

unless next generation go commando culture :eek:

Mr. Wood

something some of u may be interested. free growth investing course. but i did not go through out wht he teaching in the course. dunno is it a sale pitch anot.

but frm wht i see frm his regular yt vids, it shd be sincere free sharing.

same, i dun earn any referral fees frm sharing. click or no click does not matter to me.
cheers!:D

Mr. Wood

Johnson & Johnson Acquires TARIS Biomedical with Focus on Transforming the Treatment of Bladder Cancer

Dec 20, 2019

"The TARIS technology provides a first-in-class clinical stage platform to evaluate novel, locally-delivered therapeutics for patients with localized bladder cancer," said Peter Lebowitz, M.D., Ph.D., Global Therapeutic Area Head, Oncology, Janssen Research & Development, LLC. "Together with the TARIS team, we look forward to advancing complete regimens to push towards early interception of bladder cancer with the goal of improving outcomes for patients and, ultimately, delivering cures."

JNJ consumer products to medical? :s22:

bigger better richer:s12:

Mr. Wood

Visa and TD Expand Offering to Help Canadians Move Money Easily
December 23, 2019

At Visa, we want to empower Canadians to send, receive and access their money where they want, when they want, and how they want," said Brian Weiner, vice president & head of product, Visa Canada. "Visa Direct is providing Canadians more convenient ways to move their money, and we are pleased to be working with TD to expand this capability to Visa cardholders.

with many borderless transfer apps still need traditional money wire meh?
:s22:

Mr. Wood

Contracts For Dec. 20, 2019

Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Co., Fort Worth, Texas, has been awarded a $7,000,000,000 modification (P00009) to a previously awarded indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity contract FA8205-18-D-0001 for F-22 air vehicle sustainment.

Lockheed Martin Corp., Baltimore, Maryland, is awarded a $1,955,776,266 fixed-price-incentive firm target modification to a previously awarded contract N00024-18-C-2301 for the detail design and construction of four Multi Mission Surface Combatant ships (MMSC)

Lockheed Martin Space, Titusville, Florida, is awarded a $58,222,564 cost-plus-incentive-fee and cost-plus-fixed-fee modification (P00003) to exercise options under a previously awarded and announced contract (N00030-19-C-0100) for Trident II (D5) missile production and deployed systems support

Lockheed Martin Rotary and Mission Systems, Syracuse, New York, is awarded a $23,014,847 cost-plus-incentive-fee modification to previously awarded contract N00024-09-C-6247 to exercise options for fiscal 2020 electronic warfare kits and spares

Lockheed Martin, Mission Systems and Training, Baltimore, Maryland, is awarded $15,238,337 cost-plus award-fee change order, N62786-19-F-0069, against the previously awarded basic ordering agreement N00024-15-G-2303 to provide engineering and management services for Littoral Combat Ship 17 (LCS)- Post Shakedown Availability (PSA).

Lockheed Martin Corp., Orlando, Florida, was awarded a $9,513,840 modification (P00003) to contract W52P1J-19-F-0533 to procure Common Sensor Electronics Unit and engineering services.

maybe one sector will not be disrupted is there will always be conflicts and war :sad:

Mr. Wood

I remember wht I promised. I will share my investment methodology here. when it is ready I will post.

Mr. Wood

GEICO’s Roberts to Retire at the End of 2020, to Be Succeeded by Todd Combs of Berkshire Hathaway
December 23, 2019

Replacing Bill as CEO will be Todd Combs, one of Berkshire Hathaway’s investment managers. “Todd has a strong career in insurance,” said Ajit Jain. “He initially worked at Progressive Insurance Company before going to graduate school to begin an investing career.” Since 2010, Combs has been an investment manager at Berkshire Hathaway.

In addition to becoming GEICO’s CEO, Combs will continue to manage $14 billion of investments for Berkshire Hathaway.

grip stronger on subsidiaries. cannot allow one company two systems. :s22:

Mr. Wood

Franklin Templeton Expands Active ETF Lineup with First Alternative ETF, Franklin Liberty Systematic Style Premia ETF
December 23, 2019

The fund seeks to deliver absolute return (positive returns in rising or falling markets) by employing a multi-asset, long/short strategy. FLSP is actively risk-managed, seeking a target annualized volatility of 8 percent, and targets four style factors: quality, value, momentum and carry.

so many funds out there, so many different strategies. pick one which u like.
now a days with robos u can hv even lower fees.
why still need to learn frm course sellers?
go forth and invest. forget abt searching for the holy grail.

Mr. Wood

3 Worst Performing Dow Jones Stocks in 2019
DECEMBER 23, 2019

The stock market has done well for most investors this year. The Dow Jones Industrial Average (DJI) is up ~22% year-to-date (as of December 21, 2019). The tech heavy S&P 500 (SPX) is up ~28.5% as of the same date. These are excellent returns and 2019 is seemingly shaping up to be the best year for the Dow Jones since 2017. For the S&P 500, this will likely be the best return since 2013. Despite the good composite returns there are always a few stocks that perform poorly in any index for the year. The Dow Jones and S&P 500 are no exception in 2019.

dividend stock may not work for u, especially if in the past year, u see fb, appl shoot up like nobody biz and yr heart itchy alrdy.

dat is when scum course sellers make the most money. not frm stocks. but frm selling expensive courses to pple.

Mr. Wood

Tiffany Presents Its Interim Holiday Period Sales Results
December 26, 2019

During this period, we continued to see the Chinese Mainland drive our overall sales growth with a strong double-digit increase, offset by the persisting declines in the Hong Kong market and, to a lesser degree, Japan - which we believe continues to be negatively impacted by the recent increase in the consumption tax. We are happy to see sales growth in the Americas, a momentum shift in the region

Mr. Wood

Dividend Aristocrats in Focus Part 36: Becton Dickinson
December 20th, 2019
Becton Dickinson’s business continues to perform very well. The company posted solid growth rates, both with and without the addition of C.R. Bard. Given the positive growth outlook for the healthcare industry, we feel that Becton Dickinson has room for strong earnings growth.

In addition, Becton Dickinson has a high likelihood of annual dividend increases for many years. That said, the stock has a relatively low dividend yield of 1.2%, which is well below the average yield of the S&P 500 Index.

Furthermore, Becton Dickinson stock appears to be overvalued today, which negatively impacts its future return potential. As a result, we rate shares as a hold at current prices, and recommend investors interested in Becton Dickinson wait for a pullback before buying shares.

Mr. Wood

Dividend Aristocrats In Focus Part 37: Stanley Black & Decker
December 23rd, 2019

Stanley Black & Decker is not a high-yield stock, but it has all of the qualities of a strong dividend growth stock. It has a top position in the industry, strong cash flow, and durable competitive advantages.

The company has a positive growth outlook, which bodes well for the dividend. The stock appears overvalued today, but at the same time it is very likely Stanley Black & Decker will continue to hike its dividend each year for the foreseeable future.

Since the stock is expected to produce mid single digit annualized total returns over the next five years, Stanley Black & Decker remains a hold–but not a buy at the current price–for long-term dividend growth investors.

Mr. Wood

Dividend Aristocrats In Focus Part 38: McCormick
December 27th, 2019

McCormick dominates the spices and seasonings category. Its strong brands provide the company with high profit margins and growth opportunities, both in the U.S. and the international markets.

Income investors may be turned off by McCormick’s 1.5% dividend yield. However, McCormick has a very strong dividend growth history. It should be able to lift the dividend each year, at a high single digit annual rate.

That being said, the stock is not a buy right now. It has a premium valuation multiple, and while it could be argued that a high-quality company such as McCormick deserves a higher stock valuation, we have a low expected rate of return. Still, the very high price-to-earnings ratio makes the stock a sell, as we believe investors should take profits in the stock and reinvest the proceeds in a stock with a higher expected rate of return.

That said, we would be buyers of McCormick on a meaningful pullback in the share price, which would result in a lower valuation and a higher dividend yield.

Mr. Wood

Mr Wood's investment style:
1. pay off all credit card bills on time, in full. pay off all loan instalments in full on time too.

2. be4 any investments, make sure there is enuff liquid cash for rainy day. either to take advantage of the market when it crash or just for emergency. nvr use rdy credit or credit card advance cash facility. if relly need to, call the loan dept and ask for loan at favourable rates.

3. nvr invest with borrowed money.
how much and how long banks can lend to an individual probly depends on his current networth or his salary. and i am not sure whether can generate enuff monthly returns for the loan instalments.
and remb, high returns involve higher risks.
there are some course sellers (**** ken cheepie kar kia) out there who will tell u take personal loan to invest and sell u a course at $4000+++

4. know thyself. i am long term i cannot stare at screen all day to monitor price movement. i cannot log in daily to check my watch list whether it hit entry price.
therefore i average in and average out at regular intervals, regardless price up or down.

5. know how much returns i want frm now till retirement age. hav a plan to invest regularly. ovr long terms,
banks fixed d 1%
sg gov bond 2%
endowment 2-3%
STI, SG REIT fund, CPF 3-4%
individual reits 5-7%
S&P500, nobl index 10%
(avoid ILPs. but unit trust is ok, imho. this is for another topic)

if i hav 500k to invest now for 20years, there is really no need to over expose myself to global index. 5% returns is good enuff to compound to 1mil over 20yrs at av 5% pa.

which is why for a some sgreans, they can work hard diligently and just transfer to CPF SA over their working lives and probly get to 1mil in CPF when they retire, and assume they do not overspend on their 1st property.
[politics, conspiracy theory and policy shifts aside]

Ok, there will some who disagree with me and will say property is part of investment and can make money frm HDB/condo etc. but i am against using HDB as a cash cow. but dat is another topic.

and some will say insurance. blah blah. u can go to insurance thread if u are interested. i am not a big fan of insurance. just the plain vanilla insurance for me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.