US Dividends Aristocrats thread

Mr. Wood

Mr Wood's investment style (part 2)

know how much I want to retire on and how much it shld last me.
am I happy with $1000/mth at today's price? --> ok. CPF life is enuff.
am I happy with $2000/mth? -> ok. CPF life + $1000 passive income frm divys, liquidate stocks
etc etc

eg, I wan $1000/mth passive income in 20yrs time.
current inflation rate is 3%
and I assumed dat there will still be instruments which can give me average of 4% returns pa when I retire.
I want to last for 25yrs

frm now till retirement time, I will need to hv a sum of $484k.
(p/s worked this out in excel spread sheet)
(pp/s or there shud a free app for this)
(ppp/s no need to pay money to course sellers or insurance agent to work this out)

with the end goal of $484k in mind, I look at how much can I and willing to put aside monthly for 20yrs.
if I can put aside $2020/mth (2020 * 12 *20 = 484k) congratulations. I can just put in fixed d and relax.

if I can afford only $1000/mth, I need 7% pa

knowing wht kind of returns I need, den I choose wht investment class I wan.
whn there is no need to, den dun even need to be exposed to marijuana stocks, bitcoin, property at the nxt growth corridor etc.

wht is the purpose of being like buffett if there is no need to? why need 1mil 10mil in the bank if there is no need to.

i believe set the basics first. once the foundation is fixed and retirement is secured, then anything extra is a bonus.

whn i die, i think the big guy up there is not going to ask me why i did not hv 1mil in the bank or why i din pay $5000 investment course to learn to becum buffett.

rather i think the big guy is going to ask me whether hv i spent enuff time with my family, whether hv i done enuff for myself such dat i did not burden the nxt generation.

Mr. Wood

Microsoft takes court action against fourth nation-state cybercrime group
Dec 30, 2019

Like many cybercriminals and threat actors, Thallium typically attempts to trick victims through a technique known as spear phishing. By gathering information about the targeted individuals from social media, public personnel directories from organizations the individual is involved with and other public sources, Thallium is able to craft a personalized spear-phishing email in a way that gives the email credibility to the target. As seen in the sample spear-phishing email below, the content is designed to appear legitimate, but closer review shows that Thallium has spoofed the sender by combining the letters “r” and “n” to appear as the first letter “m” in “microsoft.com.”

capitalists and democrats are no saints but communists are no better
:s22:
anyway, be careful online.

Mr. Wood

The S&P 500 surged 29% this year, its best return since 2013Dec. 31, 2019

The S&P 500 tore 29% higher this year, its best performance since 2013.
The tech-heavy Nasdaq jumped 35% to notch its best gain since 2013
The 30-stock Dow index soared 22%, its strongest yearly performance since 2017.
The global bull run saw the Stoxx Europe 600 jump 23% during the year.
China's Shanghai Composite rose 22%, and Japan's Nikkei 225 gained 18%.
Gold posted its biggest jump since 2010 after soaring 19%. Oil finished up 35%, its best performance since 2016.

got any scum course sellings tell u they outperform market? :s13:
a rising tide raise all ships.
tell them show u their portfolio during recession then we talk.

if make money those scums claim credit, if lose to market will the scums take responsibility?
so why waste money on those scums ken cheepie, quack dr tee and patrick xialiew?

Mr. Wood

AMD hits first record since 2000
Jan. 2, 2020

The analyst firm reiterated its "buy" rating for the chipmaker and boosted its price target for the stock to $65 from $52. The new price target is the highest among firms covering the company and implies a 33% increase from Tuesday's $49.10 closing price.

I am always weary of analysts raise TP after a good run. later price fall they will revise TP down oso.
read with caution.

Mr. Wood

Mr Wood's investment style (part 3)

there is one thing which mr wood agrees with shiny. STI.

it is not exactly true dat STI is concentrated only in sgp.

https://www.dbs.com/iwov-resources/images/investors/annual-report/dbs-annual-report-2018.pdf?pid=sg-group-pweb-investors-pdf-best-bank-in-the-world
DBS has biz in 18 markets

https://www.jardines.com/assets/files/Investors/Reports/matheson/jm-ar2018.pdf
Jardine is in SEA and china

https://www.singtel.com/content/dam/singtel/investorRelations/27th_AGM_slides_final.pdf
singtel has presence in AU and IND

https://wilmar-iframe.todayir.com/attachment/20190411162436345449392_en.pdf
wilmar is in china, Africa, Europe, Russia..

and the reits oso has overseas properties portfolio.

so I am actually alrdy exposed globally.

it is not exactly illiquid either.
https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/STI:IND
30day av vol is 272M. :s22:
unless u got cash to buy 300M units, which is probly like $900mil.:s22: den pls do some good and donate to charities. :o

it is oso not exactly non performing.
price appreciation is hardly attractive. but dun forget there is dividends (I will re-invest) and I oso do dca evy mth.

yes, it is small and *could be* manipulated by global BB funds.

but u must ask yrself whether u think sg economy will survive frm now till yr retirement time. I think it wud, not stellar results but good enuff.

other advantage of STI ETF:
units quoted in S$. no currency risk at retailer level.
low expense ratio, low commissions, compared to unit trust and scum ILPs
currently trading at PE 10 and PB slightly abv 1. (and not forgetting the dividends).

Mr. Wood

Dividend Aristocrats In Focus Part 40: Pentair
December 31st, 2019

Pentair has a strong business model, and competitive advantages. This is particularly true in the company’s new, pure-play water model. These qualities have fueled its steady dividend growth over the past four decades and we don’t see any reason to believe that won’t continue for many years to come.

While Pentair isn’t considered tremendously cheap today, it has a decent dividend yield, and it has a promising future outlook. The company should be able to continue increasing its dividend each year. As a result, we rate shares of Pentair a hold right now, but would raise our rating to a buy if the stock valuation experiences a pullback to fair value.

Mr. Wood

Dividend Aristocrats In Focus Part 41: 3M
December 31st, 2019

3M remains a high-quality business, and is likely to continue raising its dividend each year. There are very few companies that can match the company’s history of dividend growth. 3M has raised its dividend for 60 consecutive years, and will likely continue to increase the dividend each year for many years to come.

However, the current valuation, though not extreme, reduces total expected returns over the next five years. 3M remains a strong holding for its above-average dividend yield and annual dividend growth. That said, investors looking to add 3M to their portfolio are encouraged to wait for a pullback in the share price, resulting in a lower stock valuation and even higher dividend yield.

Mr. Wood

Dividend Aristocrats In Focus Part 42: Colgate-Palmolive.
January 2nd, 2020

Colgate-Palmolive is a high-quality business, with several category-leading brands. The company has growth potential, through product innovation, its Hill’s pet food brand, and expected growth in the emerging markets.

Now might not be the best time to buy shares of Colgate-Palmolive, however, as the stock appears to be meaningfully overvalued. The company needs to prove it can generate higher levels of growth in order to justify its premium valuation.

Colgate-Palmolive does not offer a high yield, or high dividend growth. That said, investors can still count on steady dividend increases each year. The overvaluation of the stock, however, warrants a sell rating. We believe there are a number of Dividend Aristocrats that are likely to generate higher returns for shareholders over the next several years.

Mr. Wood

Mr. Wood

Mr Wood's investment style part 4

I invest not becoz I need to put food on the table tmw or nxt week or nxt mnth. I invest not becoz I want to go bahamas to chillax, or sun tan in Hawaii.

it is not to accumulate 10, 20mil in the bank. having too much money is a curse. suddenly u will hear frm relatives whom u nvr seen be4. suddenly tour guide want to be yr god son. suddenly swt find u attractive. suddenly insurance agents will call u hey bro long time no see I got this new product super exciting.... :s13:

rather I invest so dat I can choose not to work when I can no longer.
so dat is why my horizon is long term (frm now till desired retirement). I will continue to work if I can and I choose to. Or I can choose to spend time with the underprivileged. Or I can use excess money to buy more tissue paper and cardboard boxes frm the collectors at a higher price. (just so to give them dignity)

which is why majority of my portfolio is 5, 10, 20 yrs orientated. and it makes no sense to trade in and out daily. commissions will negate the profits. and there are fees to deposit, withdraw money, close positions etc.

so with a long term view, these are the criteria I look at the determine what are attractive stocks or funds to enter.
P/E < 20 for US, <12 for SG
EPS or NAV is generally increasing
P/B (for cash or asset backed counters) or D/E (for non assets backed) <1
earnings yield + div yield > 7%
tracking error <1%
expense ratio < 1%
management fee < 2%
reputable fund manager or fund house
is in a sector, biz I like and see it still relevant.

I dun look at interest rates, beta, vix, trump tweets or whether winnie sneezes. life goes on. the two uncles will not be there forever. winnie can be life time chairman but I dun expect him to live forever. eventually trump will have to end office. and xi will die. policies will shift again.

Mr. Wood

SPY 500

free analysts for download!

I will stop paid subscription service this yr. so dun care anymore :s13:
got free stuff just share with u all. :s12:

as usual, dyodd.

Mr. Wood

January 2020 free analysts are out :s12:
for those who rather download and read, here is a link.
Jan 2020

sud hav done this long ago :s13:
those who rather read online, I will post here. :D

Mr. Wood

49339165357_59696f78d0.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.