US Dividends Aristocrats thread

Mr. Wood

Apple to close all stores outside of China until March 27 in response to coronavirus
MAR 14 2020

Apple said it had learnt lessons from the outbreak in China and that “the most effective way to minimize risk of the virus’s transmission is to reduce density and maximize social distance.”

After that it took a while for stores to reopen. By Mar. 13, all of its mainland China stores had re-opened but with limited operating hours. China is a critical market for Apple and its business has been hurt because of the epidemic.

Mr. Wood

Nike is closing all of its stores in the US because of the coronavirus outbreak
MAR 15 2020

Its locations across the U.S., Canada, Western Europe, Australia and New Zealand will close from Monday through March 27, the company said.

Workers will still be paid in full during this time off, a spokeswoman confirmed to CNBC.

Meantime, Nike is still keeping open its stores in South Korea, Japan, most of China and in “many other countries,” the company said, based on daily assessments of the COVID-19 pandemic.

paid leave siol :eek:
siao liao south korea and japan still open :eek:

Mr. Wood

Dollar General Announces First Hour of Operations to Be Dedicated to Senior Customers
March 16, 2020

Senior Hour Encouragement

Beginning tomorrow, Dollar General is strongly encouraging that the first hour of operations each day be dedicated solely for the shopping needs of senior customers, who are one of the groups most vulnerable to the COVID-19 coronavirus. In keeping with the Company’s mission of Serving Others, Dollar General wants to provide these at-risk customers with the ability to purchase the items they need and want at the beginning of each day to avoid busier and more crowded shopping periods.

this kind of community support businesses we are lacking in sg.

Mr. Wood

FedEx Corp. Reports Third Quarter Results
March 17, 2020

“We are suspending our fiscal 2020 earnings forecast for our consolidated and segment results due to the uncertainty caused by the coronavirus pandemic,” said Alan B. Graf, Jr., FedEx Corp. executive vice president and chief financial officer. “To mitigate these near-term headwinds and position the company for future earnings growth, we are attacking costs throughout the company by managing capacity, retiring our oldest and least-efficient aircraft, integrating TNT Express, and lowering our residential delivery costs by having FedEx Ground deliver FedEx SmartPost and certain day-definite FedEx Express packages.”

moolala

may i ask if the ex dividend for stock on nasdaq is 20 March for example, if i bought the stock at 7.59PM during extended hours, will i still get the dividend if i sell it on 20 March?

Or is the cutoff timing during the core trading hours i.e. 4pm?

Mr. Wood

may i ask if the ex dividend for stock on nasdaq is 20 March for example, if i bought the stock at 7.59PM during extended hours, will i still get the dividend if i sell it on 20 March?

Or is the cutoff timing during the core trading hours i.e. 4pm?

u mean buy one day be4 ex div?
yup I think it is counted as long as is still trading on 19mar.
20 Mar 0000hrs then is xd.

Mr. Wood

Mnuchin makes a counteroffer
Mar. 19, 2020

The Democratic House leadership last night proposed monthly cash payments of $2K to all adults and $1K to all children during the crisis. Appearing on TV this morning, Treasury Secretary Mnuchin offers $1K and $500, respectively (not positive if he's talking monthly, or a one-time payment). He says checks could be sent in as soon as three weeks.
:s22:

spend! spend! spend!

aside, sometimes moi think giving out cash freely may not be the best policy. it may be populistic, but then, not evyone can handle money responsibly.
remember yang yin the scum tour guide, and oso batam cheekon stories.

moolala

u mean buy one day be4 ex div?
yup I think it is counted as long as is still trading on 19mar.
20 Mar 0000hrs then is xd.

ya, thanks bro
u are right..if buying during extended hours, still can get dividends

Mr. Wood

he TJX Companies, Inc. Provides COVID-19 Update

March 19, 2020

Effective today the Company is closing all of its stores in the United States, Canada, Europe, and Australia for two weeks. In certain regions, including Germany, Poland, Austria, Ireland, and the Netherlands, and a number of U.S. and Canadian locations, the Company had previously closed stores based on several factors, including government or health department requirements. The Company is also closing its online businesses tjmaxx.com, marshalls.com, and sierra.com. Further, the Company is temporarily closing its distribution centers and offices, with Associates working remotely when they can. We know our Associates are very concerned for their health and financial well-being, and we plan to pay our store, distribution center and office Associates for two weeks during these closures.

more closures

Mr. Wood

Walmart announces special cash bonus and early payment of Q1 bonuses totaling nearly $550 million for hourly associates
March 19, 2020

Walmart today announced plans to provide a special cash bonus for hourly associates for their hard work and dedication to serving customers in a time of an unprecedented national health crisis. The bonus is for all U.S. hourly associates in stores, clubs, supply chain and offices. The bonus will be $300 for full-time hourly associates and $150 for part-time hourly associates and will add up to more than $365 million. Every hourly associate employed by the company as of March 1 will qualify, and it will pay out on April 2.

:s12::s12:
power lah Walmart. never took advantage of employees.
make America great again!

Mr. Wood

AT&T Inc. (“AT&T” or the “Company”) is filing this Current Report on Form 8-K to provide an update regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.
Mar. 19, 2020
While our business continues to operate effectively during the COVID-19 global pandemic, we have decided at this time to cancel this ASR agreement and any other repurchases to maintain flexibility and focus on continued investment in serving our customers, taking care of our employees and enhancing our network, including nationwide 5G. These continued investments will help ensure the Company is well positioned when the pandemic passes and economies begin to recover.

:s12::s12:
power lah AT&T. management understand to prioritise what is important.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.