US help.

Shiny Things

Hi all,
Day 11: Santa Cruz: via HWY 1, stop by paso Robles, Hearst castle, Carmel and end in Santa Cruz.
Anyone has recommendations for hotels in Santa Cruz and attractions there?

So your itinerary sounds pretty great. I personally wouldn't stop in SLO, it's a bit meh; stop in Pismo Beach instead, and stay at the Shore Cliff Lodge (which has a phenomenal restaurant attached to it).

In Santa Cruz, stay at the Beach Street Inn if you can get it - it's literally right on the beach, and it's really really great. Don't miss the Boardwalk, if you like amusement parks; and the restaurants on the pier are pretty meh but the views are fantastic.

If you're not going to spend a night in Big Sur (and you should!), at least eat at Nepenthe restaurant on the way through.

JAYBAOKONG

Hi shiny,

Thanks for your advice.

Have changed my accommodation plan stay from SLO to Big Sur or somewhere near it as I read that there are a few nice bed n breakfast places there. Do you have any good recommendations?

Have also made some slight change to Day 12 since will not be staying in SLO.

Are the dim sum places open throughout the day in Monterey? Any good recommendations of the eatery?

Read that LV is a place where they have good buffets as well.

So your itinerary sounds pretty great. I personally wouldn't stop in SLO, it's a bit meh; stop in Pismo Beach instead, and stay at the Shore Cliff Lodge (which has a phenomenal restaurant attached to it).

In Santa Cruz, stay at the Beach Street Inn if you can get it - it's literally right on the beach, and it's really really great. Don't miss the Boardwalk, if you like amusement parks; and the restaurants on the pier are pretty meh but the views are fantastic.

If you're not going to spend a night in Big Sur (and you should!), at least eat at Nepenthe restaurant on the way through.

Shiny Things

Have changed my accommodation plan stay from SLO to Big Sur or somewhere near it as I read that there are a few nice bed n breakfast places there. Do you have any good recommendations?

If you can afford eight hundred bucks a night, the Post Ranch Inn is pretty much the best luxury hotel in America. If you're a normal person, the Glen Oaks Big Sur is just as good and a hell of a lot cheaper (about $200 a night).

Read that LV is a place where they have good buffets as well.

Well, I mean, you don't go to Vegas just for the buffets. You go there for the restaurants, and the Bellagio fountains, and the Celine Dion or the Penn and Teller, and the Cirque du Soleil, and the Gun Range, and Dig This, and Red Rock Canyon and the Valley of Fire and everything else in Vegas.

But yes, the buffets are epic. Wicked Spoon at the Cosmopolitan is the best of the bunch, and Bacchanal at Caesars isn't half bad either.

rocky86

Guys, LAX airport got sell those prepaid sim card? I heard ppl AT&T and T mobile is better coverage for 3G?

fone

Guys, LAX airport got sell those prepaid sim card? I heard ppl AT&T and T mobile is better coverage for 3G?

IIRC, no. Need to go to the AT&T or T-mobile store. There's someone selling in the marketplace, for a fee, collect in SG. Coverage sort of varies, but AT&T is the 2nd largest is US, while T-mobile is 4th largest. Large may not be good, in the sense network might be overloaded, was using AT&T 3G at Las Vegas, super slow during peak periods, usable speeds during off-peak (ie 12am), that was like 5 to 6 years back.

rocky86

IIRC, no. Need to go to the AT&T or T-mobile store. There's someone selling in the marketplace, for a fee, collect in SG. Coverage sort of varies, but AT&T is the 2nd largest is US, while T-mobile is 4th largest. Large may not be good, in the sense network might be overloaded, was using AT&T 3G at Las Vegas, super slow during peak periods, usable speeds during off-peak (ie 12am), that was like 5 to 6 years back.

thanks bro, any idea do if our phone is unlock by default? or all phone sold in singapore is unlock, am using S4 here

JAYBAOKONG

Ha.. I wouldn't go LV just for buffets la.. Can't eat much too.. But since they say LV is also good for buffets, so must go try at least to see how fantastic abt it.. Haha.. Thanks for the recommendations. Done a search and it and read of the good reviews. Will try to book one of it during my trip.

Will be catching shows there as well.. Just that we haven't decided on which one, though I have read that cirque is a must watch. Will be visiting the bellagio fountains, walking along the strip, and also the Fremont street experience. Is mike hammer-comedy magic show nice?

Oh ya, will be checking the atomic testing museum as well.

Well, I mean, you don't go to Vegas just for the buffets. You go there for the restaurants, and the Bellagio fountains, and the Celine Dion or the Penn and Teller, and the Cirque du Soleil, and the Gun Range, and Dig This, and Red Rock Canyon and the Valley of Fire and everything else in Vegas.

But yes, the buffets are epic. Wicked Spoon at the Cosmopolitan is the best of the bunch, and Bacchanal at Caesars isn't half bad either.

fone

thanks bro, any idea do if our phone is unlock by default? or all phone sold in singapore is unlock, am using S4 here

Yes, it is unlocked, however, phones here and US use different frequencies. Even between different US carriers, there can be different phone variants, for example there was a AT&T version of Nexus one, and another one for T-mobile.

If you are only looking at 3G, S4 supports 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100. AT&T supports 850 and 1900MHz. T-mobile supports 1700, 1900, 2100MHz. So, if there's coverage, you would get on AT&T. But you *might* have no coverage on T-mobile in areas where they only deploy the AWS 1700MHz.

cormet

Anyone has experience booking hotels via Hotwire or Priceline? Which is the preferred website?

Used both, prefer Hotwire as the price is already there for me to select. As mentioned, use better bidding forums as a guide. Usually you can see which hotel the last person booked and use as reference.

Revuelto

Yes, it is unlocked, however, phones here and US use different frequencies. Even between different US carriers, there can be different phone variants, for example there was a AT&T version of Nexus one, and another one for T-mobile.

If you are only looking at 3G, S4 supports 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100. AT&T supports 850 and 1900MHz. T-mobile supports 1700, 1900, 2100MHz. So, if there's coverage, you would get on AT&T. But you *might* have no coverage on T-mobile in areas where they only deploy the AWS 1700MHz.

US network are PITA, especially Tmobile LTE network which works only on 1700MHz/2100MHz (AWS) aka LTE band 4. Practically only for US cellphones, not even iphone 5S(Sgp Model) which covers most LTE frequencies. Best chance is only TMo HSPA+(3.5G) running on 1900MHz for international phones, provided and the area you visiting uses that frequency. Worst case is only 2G network available.

fone

US network are PITA, especially Tmobile LTE network which works only on 1700MHz/2100MHz (AWS) aka LTE band 4. Practically only for US cellphones, not even iphone 5S(Sgp Model) which covers most LTE frequencies. Best chance is only TMo HSPA+(3.5G) running on 1900MHz for international phones, provided and the area you visiting uses that frequency. Worst case is only 2G network available.

Please refer to Apple iphone website, for the different models.

US Iphone 5s (A1533) supports LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 13, 17, 19, 20 and 25.
Japan / US model supports LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25 and 26.
Singapore A1530 supports LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20, 38, 39 and 40.
I don't see how this is "most" LTE frequencies with only 10 frequencies, whereas adding everything possible on that particular page up, there are LTE 17 frequencies.

That's why I get a mifi device specially for US trips, it won't be possible to have all the antenna in a small phone currently.

critical888

For tmobile , dont worry about the band issue, as long your phone has 1900 for 3g for WCDMA/3G, you are safe at unlimited 3g band, iphone5s confirm has 4G, many customer has used it without any problem.

There is only two phone that will fall to 2g because they do not have 1900 3G band they are the samsung S3 LTE I9305 model and samsung Note2 LTE. Also some china budget phone like REDMI, has no 1900mhz band at all for 3g, so u will get 2g

Can always check your phone spec at gsmarena.

from mid next month onwards, i will be bringing in some tmobile specific LTE phone, you can rent one to use if you need.

keigo0

yo all, can help take a look at my nyc itinerary first?
in nyc from 19th dec - 25th dec 2014
staying at hilton times sq (6 nights)
day 1 - 19th dec, fri (arrival jfk 1515hr)
- taking airtrain to Jamaica station, then xfer to subway E line to port authority station
- reach times sq around 1830hr, check in hotel
- buy prepaid sim card at at&t, got one store near hotel
- get dinner and walk walk around times sq to end the night
day 2 - 20th dec, sat
- natural wake up, go intrepid museum, ,maybe leave around 1600hr
- go grand central station & market see see look look
- go back hotel; go pass by Bryant park, see got any activities going on there
day 3 - 21st dec, sun
- natural wake up
- go central park walk, maybe tabao breakfast and have it there?
- go natural history museum
- go top of rock for views, hand around rockfeller centre for the xmas lightings and experience
day 4 - 22nd dec, mon
- natural wake up
- see lady liberty, take staten ferry at whitehall terminal, to and fro
- walk the brooklyn bridge
- finish the day at little italy and chinatown
day 5 - 23rd dec, tue
- go soho walk walk
- travel up to union sq for xmas markets
- broadway show
day 6, 24th dec, wed
duno wat else to do liao, was thinking of visiting of taking a walk down 5th ave, and check out macy
day 7 - 25th dec, thurs
no activities coz 0730hr flight out to vegas
can help to comment on my itinerary esp day 5 & 6? or have I missed out anything, open to suggestions. thanks!

great, thanks for the suggestion, will keep these in mind. nyc itinerary almost there liao. will check back with your guys on my las itinerary (though maybe not be much to do at las) lol

continuing from previous threads
yo all, thks for the suggestions on the nyc itinerary. would like to just check with you guys on my las itinerary. am staying for 4 nights and kinda having trouble filling up a little bit :)

day 7
- reached macarran at ard 1000hr. cab to hotel I shd ask the cab driver to take the paradise road and not the freeway, right?
- explore the hotel and part of the strip
- gamble
- watch O at the Bellagio
day 8
- grand canyon tour, using Grand Adventure (Grand Adventures Tours Grand Canyon Tours | Grand Canyon Sunset) anyone used them before or got good review of any GC operators? can share?
day 9
* duno what to do *
day 10
* duno what to do*
day 11
fly out of las.

I m also planning to watch penn and teller in either day 9 and 10. I also dun mind going for outdoor daytrip but I not sure where can go. not planning to go gun store, atomic museum, neom boneyard. appreciate any suggestion. thanks.

jackieatbtu

yo all, thks for the suggestions on the nyc itinerary. would like to just check with you guys on my las itinerary. am staying for 4 nights and kinda having trouble filling up a little bit :)

day 7
- reached macarran at ard 1000hr. cab to hotel I shd ask the cab driver to take the paradise road and not the freeway, right?
- explore the hotel and part of the strip
- gamble
- watch O at the Bellagio
day 8
- grand canyon tour, using Grand Adventure (Grand Adventures Tours Grand Canyon Tours | Grand Canyon Sunset) anyone used them before or got good review of any GC operators? can share?
day 9
* duno what to do *
day 10
* duno what to do*
day 11
fly out of las.

I m also planning to watch penn and teller in either day 9 and 10. I also dun mind going for outdoor daytrip but I not sure where can go. not planning to go gun store, atomic museum, neom boneyard. appreciate any suggestion. thanks.

For your grand canyon trip, want to consider staying overnight at the canyon? I booked a rim cabin at bright angel lodge that is only minutes away from the canyon rim. can stay longer enjoy the sunset and sunrise. Most tour company will allow to pick you up the next day, but you will have to pay the 80-99 dollar tour fee again. If I am not mistaken, Grand Adventure dont allow this picking up service though. I am going with the original grand canyon tour company. They even specifically mention transportation only. I found their rate for overnight cabin more expensive than if I book direct from the national park.

keigo0

For your grand canyon trip, want to consider staying overnight at the canyon? I booked a rim cabin at bright angel lodge that is only minutes away from the canyon rim. can stay longer enjoy the sunset and sunrise. Most tour company will allow to pick you up the next day, but you will have to pay the 80-99 dollar tour fee again. If I am not mistaken, Grand Adventure dont allow this picking up service though. I am going with the original grand canyon tour company. They even specifically mention transportation only. I found their rate for overnight cabin more expensive than if I book direct from the national park.
thanks for the suggestion. but I already booked all my 4 nights at the hotel liao. not sure where to burn my time though...

Shiny Things

day 9
* duno what to do *
day 10
* duno what to do*
day 11
fly out of las.

You're spoiled for choice with things to do on those two days.

Here's a few outdoor ideas:

* Red Rock Canyon
* Hoover Dam
* Valley of Fire
* Zion National Park (it's 2.5 hours' drive each way but it's totally worth it, and you can hit the Valley of Fire on the way there or back).

And a few indoor ideas:

* Breakfast at the Wicked Spoon buffet in the Cosmopolitan;
* The Shark Reef aquarium at the Mandalay Bay;
* The Fine Art Gallery at the Bellagio;
* A little bit of light shopping at Crystals in the Aria complex;
* Ride the gondolas at the Venetian;
* Have lunch by the faux-Trevi Fountain at Caesars;
* Catch the Deuce bus to downtown (the "old Strip") and walk along the old-style neon of Fremont Street.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.