thanks shiny. i plan to eat at bacchanal
Yes.
& watch la reve
Yes.
/penn teller.
Hell yes.

For Penn and Teller, make sure you pay the extra $10-$20 for seats in the front three rows, mostly because their magic is even more amazing up close, but also because it's a little more likely you'll get dragged up on stage. (Guess who got called on stage for their TSA Metal Detector trick?)

Weaboo

Yes.

Yes.

Hell yes.

For Penn and Teller, make sure you pay the extra $10-$20 for seats in the front three rows, mostly because their magic is even more amazing up close, but also because it's a little more likely you'll get dragged up on stage. (Guess who got called on stage for their TSA Metal Detector trick?)

will they pick from the 1st 3 rows only? dun like going up stage :(

Weaboo

also would like to ask if there's any place selling SIM at mccarran? need data :(

crunsik

Hi all

been quite a busy time doing alot of research and CNY. finally the pieces are falling in place but need some help from the kind community in HWZ.

If I were to go to Death Valley for Day 7 from google map, it seems that it could possibility provide a shorter journey for me

If I take in Zion National Park between LV to Antelope Canyon, would I have to book a lodging in the park? Or this could be done in a few hours?\

Between Grand Canyon to Palm Spring, would there be a few choices to stop over?

DeathValley&Zion https://goo.gl/maps/ghkwu2unsJM2

Current route that I have came up route https://goo.gl/maps/kJSgm7VJRfS2

This seems to be my itinerary for now, wondering if anyone can share their view on this?

1. SFO
2. SF
3. SF
4. SF
5. Napa Valley
6. Yosemite
7. ??
8. Las Vegas
9. Las Vegas
10. Las Vegas
11. Antelope Canyon
12. Grand Canyon South Rim
13. Grand Canyon South Rim
14. Any suggestion for a pit stop from Grand Canyon to Palm Spring?
15. Palm Spring
16. DESERT HILLS
17. DESERT HILLS (Can the outlet be covered within 1 days of shopping?)
18. Disneyland at Anaheim
19. LA
20. LA
21. Santa Monica
22. Santa Monica
23. LAX

patryn33

Hi all

been quite a busy time doing alot of research and CNY. finally the pieces are falling in place but need some help from the kind community in HWZ.

If I were to go to Death Valley for Day 7 from google map, it seems that it could possibility provide a shorter journey for me

If I take in Zion National Park between LV to Antelope Canyon, would I have to book a lodging in the park? Or this could be done in a few hours?

DeathValley&Zion https://goo.gl/maps/ghkwu2unsJM2

all places can be done in a few hours really depends on what you want to see.
I know ppl who feel driving thru these national parks and snap a pic or 2 is enough and love to spend days in outlet malls.
Singapore is 277 mi2 and zion is 229mi2... yes u don't have to go to all corners and every sq inch.

dessert hills premium outlet can be done in a day if u have a lady with u who loves to browse slowly. for men style shopping 2hrs is enough.

Shiny Things

Hi all

Yeah, do Death Valley. It's slightly shorter than Las Vegas, and it's an amazing experience.

If I take in Zion National Park between LV to Antelope Canyon, would I have to book a lodging in the park? Or this could be done in a few hours?\

I'd spend a night in Springdale if you can; it'll make the trip a little less rushed (and it'll give you some flexibility in case you hit snow). If you really don't want to, you could do it like this:
  • Leave Las Vegas really early: like 7am
  • Arrive in Springdale about 10am
  • Park in Springdale town, and ride the shuttle bus to Zion (leave an hour or so for this, plus you'll want to get some food too, and there's lots of great places to get breakfast in Springdale)
  • Spend three or four hours in the park - at the very least, stop at the Temple of Sinawava, Weeping Rock, and the Court of the Patriarchs; and spend a little time in the visitor's center.
  • Head back to your car around 4pm; drive through the park, up the hill to Mt Carmel Junction, and then down to the town of Page, in Arizona. You should get there about 6:30pm. Check into your hotel; have a shower, and get ready for Antelope Canyon the next morning.

Of course, if you hit snow, all bets are off. If it's not too heavy, you can get from Springdale to Page by doubling back and going via Kanab, but if it's really heavy you might have to spend a night in Springdale.

Not really. It's six hours' solid driving; I'd just push through and do it all in a day.

There are towns on that route, but none of them are especially inspiring; Kingman's a bit depressing, and Lake Havasu City is sort of meh and will probably be infested by teens on Spring Break (though it does have the original London Bridge! LHC bought it from London in 1968 and shipped it over stone by stone, and plunked it in the middle of a lake). I'd just blast through and try to get to Palm Springs relatively early.

17. DESERT HILLS (Can the outlet be covered within 1 days of shopping?)

Yes. It's a shopping mall, come on. You don't need any more than one day here.

And you've got separate times marked for "LA" and "Santa Monica"... save yourself some hassle and just stay in Santa Monica for all of those. All the stuff you'll want to see (except for Disneyland) is within half an hour's drive/Uber of Santa Monica, and that'll get you away from the worst of LA's traffic and crowds.

crunsik

Yeah absolutely. You want Napa Valley Bike Tours in Yountville, for two reasons: firstly, because Yountville's a great place to start a bike loop around a ton of brilliant wineries; and secondly because they rent electric bikes, which make the ride so much easier (especially toward the end of the day when you've tied a few on and there's a couple of bottles of primo Napa cab sauv in your backpack).

So you've got a few options here:

1) Appoint a designated driver, obviously.
2) Get your hotel to book a tour or a driver for you;
3) Cycle! You can technically still get done for drunk-driving on a bike, but it's a little less of a bad idea, and Napa in the spring is lovely to cycle around. You can start out of Yountville and hit a loop of six or seven wineries within a few miles.

Yeah. All within shouting distance of Yountville, I like Opus One, Cakebread, Round Pond, Caymus, Paraduxx, Cliff Lede, and Stag's Leap, by which time you'll just about be falling off your bike.

Duckhorn Vineyards, the big brother of Paraduxx, is about ten miles up the road toward St. Helena, and is excellent too.

Iron horse, robert mondavi . these 2 vineyards are superb. If you are interested in olive oil vineyard i can recommend you too. Ohh. They do tasting portions. Or u can chill there until alcohol wear off / pee off?

Ohhh must go trader joes get 2 buck chug. Lolol

Just a tip. If more than 1 person drive then alternate lo. Means u drink at 1 out of 2 vineyard or smth.
Sent from vanvan's kitchen using GAGT

Wondering if 1 day at Napa valley is considered too short given the numerous suggestions from all you guys? If I start to drive from SF in the morning, probably reach there by noon leaving me with half a day to explore the wineries. It seems to little time to accomplish so many wineries. This is the route i have come up with
https://goo.gl/maps/a3DEbqxDhT82

Yeah, do Death Valley. It's slightly shorter than Las Vegas, and it's an amazing experience.

I was wondering if a drive from Yosemite through Death Valley would be possible? Or would it be recommended to stay over for a day or even a pit stop such as Lone Pine or Ridgecrest?

My current route is https://goo.gl/maps/3r44yTfKghE2

And you've got separate times marked for "LA" and "Santa Monica"... save yourself some hassle and just stay in Santa Monica for all of those. All the stuff you'll want to see (except for Disneyland) is within half an hour's drive/Uber of Santa Monica, and that'll get you away from the worst of LA's traffic and crowds.

I had a look at the accommodation in LA and Santa Monica, it seems that the accommodation is pricier in Santa Monica. Would West Hollywood be similar too? I am still unsure if I should return the car and use Uber instead. I read that parking in LA is usually free but anyone know if this is the same in Santa Monica? Any thoughts on this?

I am thinking of viewing Citadel Outlet before going down to Santa Monica, should I stay somewhere near Citadel Outlet eg: Hilton Doubletree or should I drive down from Santa Monica?

Shiny Things

Wondering if 1 day at Napa valley is considered too short given the numerous suggestions from all you guys? If I start to drive from SF in the morning, probably reach there by noon leaving me with half a day to explore the wineries. It seems to little time to accomplish so many wineries. This is the route i have come up with

I wouldn't say you can hit all of those wineries, mostly because you'll end up pissed as a newt after all the tastings. Maybe pick three - you can easily do three tastings in a day. Leave SF early - like 8am - and you can be in Napa by 10am.

I was wondering if a drive from Yosemite through Death Valley would be possible? Or would it be recommended to stay over for a day or even a pit stop such as Lone Pine or Ridgecrest?

My current route is https://goo.gl/maps/3r44yTfKghE2

You can do Yosemite to Furnace Creek (in the middle of Death Valley) in one solid day's driving. Get to Furnace Creek in the evening; have dinner there; then explore Death Valley early the next morning while it's still cool. By midday you'll be done with Death Valley and you can be on the road to Vegas during the heat of the day.

I had a look at the accommodation in LA and Santa Monica, it seems that the accommodation is pricier in Santa Monica. Would West Hollywood be similar too? I am still unsure if I should return the car and use Uber instead. I read that parking in LA is usually free but anyone know if this is the same in Santa Monica? Any thoughts on this?

I am thinking of viewing Citadel Outlet before going down to Santa Monica, should I stay somewhere near Citadel Outlet eg: Hilton Doubletree or should I drive down from Santa Monica?

Citadel Outlets is baaaaasically on the way from Palm Springs to Santa Monica, and it's not going to be wildly different from what you find at Desert Hills. You can stop in there on the way from Desert Hills to Santa Monica - or, if you get really bored and run out of things to do in Santa Monica (you won't), just get an uber over to Citadel for the day.

fone

First time I asking question in this thread.

Looking for a family trip to US, with 2x one way car rentals. How reliable is the car rental from expedia? The rates are less than 50% if I go direct to the car rental companies which I've always done so. For example, one rental expedia says S$1310 from Alamo, but when I go to Alamo, it is US$2600. Expedia says included for free the CDW and includes taxes and airport surcharges (not sure is say included in the price or need to pay later). Should I be expecting this to be the final value or what additional charges should I be expecting?

Also, it says 7 seater minivan, should I be expecting the smallest type of 7 seater (ie Toyota Wish or equivalent, or bigger ones)? Will the on-the-spot upgrade charges be the standard rate, same as I just book the car from the car rental site, or add on from the standard rate car size to standard rate car size?

patryn33

Also, it says 7 seater minivan, should I be expecting the smallest type of 7 seater (ie Toyota Wish or equivalent, or bigger ones)? Will the on-the-spot upgrade charges be the standard rate, same as I just book the car from the car rental site, or add on from the standard rate car size to standard rate car size?

toyota wish is compact MPV, USA no Toyota wish size. more like Toyota Previa size for referrence

dilphinus

I will be in NY first 2 weeks of April. Can't change this cos my friend is hosting me :)

Places I would like to visit includes DC, SFO, Miami, Grand Canyon and Yosemite.

Have planned NY > DC > SFO (via Amtrak California Zephyr) > Yosemite > LA > Grand Canyon. From Grand Canyon, I have to go via Chicago to Miami. I don't want to take a flight cos I'm bringing a bicycle. Any other alternative routing? I don't mind visiting other parts of the US. I was trying to fit Vegas in but had problems doing so in terms of transport (train/bus). I'll be flying from Miami to Botoga, therefore Miami will be the last stop.

Also, any recommendations of National Parks besides Grand Canyon and Yosemite?

I don't have time restriction except that I'll need to exit by the 90th day.

Thanks!

Shiny Things

First time I asking question in this thread.

Looking for a family trip to US, with 2x one way car rentals. How reliable is the car rental from expedia? The rates are less than 50% if I go direct to the car rental companies which I've always done so. For example, one rental expedia says S$1310 from Alamo, but when I go to Alamo, it is US$2600. Expedia says included for free the CDW and includes taxes and airport surcharges (not sure is say included in the price or need to pay later). Should I be expecting this to be the final value or what additional charges should I be expecting?

Yeah, you can expect that to be the final value. Car rental pricing is a huge pain in the proverbial; rental companies price-discriminate like crazy, there are inconsistent coupons and discount codes; renting a car is the one place where I always feel like I get ripped off. Tell me what your rental details are - where you're going from and to, what type of car - and I'll see what I get quoted for it.

crunsik

I'd spend a night in Springdale if you can; it'll make the trip a little less rushed (and it'll give you some flexibility in case you hit snow). If you really don't want to, you could do it like this:
  • Leave Las Vegas really early: like 7am
  • Arrive in Springdale about 10am
  • Park in Springdale town, and ride the shuttle bus to Zion (leave an hour or so for this, plus you'll want to get some food too, and there's lots of great places to get breakfast in Springdale)
  • Spend three or four hours in the park - at the very least, stop at the Temple of Sinawava, Weeping Rock, and the Court of the Patriarchs; and spend a little time in the visitor's center.
  • Head back to your car around 4pm; drive through the park, up the hill to Mt Carmel Junction, and then down to the town of Page, in Arizona. You should get there about 6:30pm. Check into your hotel; have a shower, and get ready for Antelope Canyon the next morning.

Of course, if you hit snow, all bets are off. If it's not too heavy, you can get from Springdale to Page by doubling back and going via Kanab, but if it's really heavy you might have to spend a night in Springdale.

Wondering if anyone can advise between these 2 routes A https://goo.gl/maps/oHsFhifMaL42
B https://goo.gl/maps/EF6qwAywDt52

Difference being that for A, from LV I will be heading to Zion then Antelope Canyon first and then to Grand Canyon South Rim .

For B I will be leaving from LV to Grand Canyon South Rim then to Antelope Canyon.

Laneige

dont be greedy la
do one area first unless u dont plan to visit USA anymore then take a longer route
if u go LV rem to go see that wonder. we took helicopter to go see... went to the south side or what. cant rem. need to take small plane out to change. havent start to enjoy the ride, already finished :(

Weaboo

just came back from us... damn sian never go grand canyon... not enuff time :(:(:( i was there for 6 nights nia :(

Shiny Things

Wondering if anyone can advise between these 2 routes A https://goo.gl/maps/oHsFhifMaL42
B https://goo.gl/maps/EF6qwAywDt52

Difference being that for A, from LV I will be heading to Zion then Antelope Canyon first and then to Grand Canyon South Rim .

For B I will be leaving from LV to Grand Canyon South Rim then to Antelope Canyon.

Go clockwise, on route A. The drive up the hill into Zion is magical, especially if the roads are clear and you can keep going up past Zion to Mount Carmel Junction; and Zion is 100% worth visiting, it's absolutely magical.

crunsik

Go clockwise, on route A. The drive up the hill into Zion is magical, especially if the roads are clear and you can keep going up past Zion to Mount Carmel Junction; and Zion is 100% worth visiting, it's absolutely magical.

Hi Shiny. Thx for the inputs. My concern is that I currently have 21days or so to play with and was thinking if I should carve out another day for Zion. I was thinking if it's possible to do a drive through instead since I'm visiting A number of NP eg Yosemite, GC and Antelope Canyon haha.

Separately the journey from Yosemite to Lone Pine is a 6-7hrs drive. Should I stay over at a location or push through this journey? I was thinking if i should ditch Yosemite and travel via the coastal view from Napa down to LA instead. any thoughts on this?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.