US help.

ksapple

anyone know how is the arrival custom in EWR?? Is it confusing and crowded?

mrashford86

I landed EWR early hours of Monday Monrong - very smooth but obv due to peak hours. Also - depends on passport lah how smooth can go through in America these days

Parmesean

anyone know how is the arrival custom in EWR?? Is it confusing and crowded?

As for crowded, it would depend on your time of arrival. As for confusing, not really. Personally I've never flown to EWR from out of the US before, but friends have told me it's not bad, as there are signs to direct you.

ksapple

As for crowded, it would depend on your time of arrival. As for confusing, not really. Personally I've never flown to EWR from out of the US before, but friends have told me it's not bad, as there are signs to direct you.

I landed EWR early hours of Monday Monrong - very smooth but obv due to peak hours. Also - depends on passport lah how smooth can go through in America these days

My wife is taking the direct to EWR, so reach around 545. I will be on the same flight a week early due to work. She first time solo long distance, worry for a blur queen like her hahah

Our ESTA approved liao, just hope she can answer the custom officer question haha

The last time i went is thru JFK quite pleasant so cannot advise her this time round.

helloworld321

I have a 24 hours layover in New York.

11am flight out of New York JFK.

So I should reach by 8 ah?

Means I’ll be bumping with the peak hour period right?

Should I bring my luggage to Airbnb or leave it at the airport since I can’t check my luggage early.

Shiny Things

I have a 24 hours layover in New York.

11am flight out of New York JFK.

So I should reach by 8 ah?

Means I’ll be bumping with the peak hour period right?

Should I bring my luggage to Airbnb or leave it at the airport since I can’t check my luggage early.

Yeah, you'll be hitting the morning peak - though, if you're heading out to JFK by car or train, most of the traffic will be going the other direction so it won't be tooooo bad. If you aim to get there around 8, that should cover you for most eventualities. And yeah, take your luggage with you.

darklighter

SIA flying non-stop to Seattle! That puts us closer to Yellowstone right! Opens up options to western Canada too

Shiny Things

SIA flying non-stop to Seattle! That puts us closer to Yellowstone right! Opens up options to western Canada too

Not much closer to Yellowstone, but it's definitely better than nothing. If you want to do the great American West - Yellowstone, the Rockies, even up to Glacier National Park - then you could do a lot worse than SIN-SEA, followed by a short hop to Billings, or even Jackson to get straight into the parks.

SkyScraper

Hi I wanna ask, Me landing at LAX, is the immigration process gonna be super hard? My mom cant speak english well, i wanna ask if we are able to go through the immigration tgt as a family

Shiny Things

Hi I wanna ask, Me landing at LAX, is the immigration process gonna be super hard? My mom cant speak english well, i wanna ask if we are able to go through the immigration tgt as a family

Yes, you can go through as a family, don't worry.

That said, immigration at LAX is a pain; LAX and Miami have been my worst immigration experiences in the States. If you ever have a choice, go in through SFO or Honolulu instead of LAX.

archcherub

Hey guys, planning to walk across from USA to Canada via rainbow
Bridge at Niagara Falls.
Applied for Canadian ESTA entry (Singaporeans doesn’t need VISA)
Then approved and received email that says we are approved to enter Canada via air.
Does it matter that we are actually crossing via land? If yes, what should we do?

The Canadian Govt website says ETA not needed but bring relevant travel documents... so we don’t need to apply any additional stuff at all?

dilphinus

Hey guys, planning to walk across from USA to Canada via rainbow
Bridge at Niagara Falls.
Applied for Canadian ESTA entry (Singaporeans doesn’t need VISA)
Then approved and received email that says we are approved to enter Canada via air.
Does it matter that we are actually crossing via land? If yes, what should we do?

The Canadian Govt website says ETA not needed but bring relevant travel documents... so we don’t need to apply any additional stuff at all?

Doesn't matter. No need. Just bring your passport. Bring US coins and/or Canadian coins for the pedestrian toll.

darklighter

Not much closer to Yellowstone, but it's definitely better than nothing. If you want to do the great American West - Yellowstone, the Rockies, even up to Glacier National Park - then you could do a lot worse than SIN-SEA, followed by a short hop to Billings, or even Jackson to get straight into the parks.

Sounds awesome.. What would a rough itinerary for 10-15 days be like? I'm ready to get on the planning wagon

Shiny Things

Sounds awesome.. What would a rough itinerary for 10-15 days be like? I'm ready to get on the planning wagon

So you’ll wanna do this in summer, otherwise the roads will all be closed. I’d maybe aim for either late June, around the solstice when the days are long; or late August-early September, when the kids are back in school and the parks are less crowded.

Something like:
Day 1-3: Seattle
Day 4-6: fly to Jackson, rent a car, explore Grand Tetons National Park from Jackson;
Day 6-8: drive up to Yellowstone; explore Yellowstone National Park from a base in West Yellowstone or Gardiner (Gardiner would be my pick)
Day 8: drive the Beartooth Pass: Gardiner-Cooke City-Red Lodge
Day 9: drive to Billings, fly back to Seattle

If you want to stretch this out, then:

Day 8: instead of the Beartooth Pass, drive north toward Great Falls instead
Day 9-10: Glacier National Park; drive Going-To-The-Sun Road
Day 11: Drive to Kalispell and/or Coeur d’Alene
Day 12: Fly back from Spokane to Seattle

Tommybooy123

Someone help me. I will be traveling under student visa to Seattle on May 2019, my friends and I is planning to drive into Canada like a few days short trip when we are there. We will be renting car from this app called TURO.

1) Is it a must to get IDP for the driver as we will be driving a US car into Canada with a SG passport? I know for us to drive in US we don’t need IDP, but we are going into Canada, I scare kenna problem.

2) Going into Canada is Visa free, But do I need to bring/prepare anything or apply CanAdian ESTA online? And somemore we are not going in by air as we are driving in.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.