US help.

genie47

Flying from SF - Vegas. 80usd. Then driving from Vegas - LA.

The buffets of buffets for harrahs/rio/planet hollywood etc damn enticing :p

Quality of the buffets vary even though the hotels are really upmarket.

patryn33

Any recommendations for food then? :p

U can't go wrong with many upscale places. I been to a few, even my parents are impress with Pearl at MGM.
http://www.lasvegasrestaurants.com/top10.cfm

there are tons of info out there that try to rate top 10 pig out places. Take your pick.
if U love steak alots great steak house.
http://www.askmen.com/top_10/travel/top-10-las-vegas-restaurants.html
http://travel.usatoday.com/destinat...1/02/top-10-restaurants-in-las-vegas/143993/1
http://www.zagat.com/l/las-vegas/top-lists

fone

Lol, if you are on budget, there's McDonalds, or drive/take cab go chinatown eat.

Isn't YMMV = Your Method May Vary?

pinkhippo

hello!! just to share with u a little of wat me and my friends have planned (and hope it will go acc to wat we planned). im not too sure of the details in la,sf and lv cuz i wasnt the one planning those parts but roughly have an idea.
we will be taking china eastern from sg to lax(in LA) during end june and cuz it's so cheap, we r not rly expecting much. haha. just hope we get to slp!

first 4 days will be touring ard LA in which 2 days will be spent at disney and universal studios. one day will be spent touring beverly hills. another one day to get over jet lag and wat nots.

next we will travel to SF and spend some time touring ard the place. the next 3-4 days will be spent on travelling to lake tahoe, yosemite. we will be driving to the places. as far as i know, SF is rather small but you can travel out of the place. :)

next up, we will fly from SF to Boston and spend the same day touring Harvard U or maybe go to their museum of science. the next day, we will go to freedom trail and the surroundings.
will be travelling to nyc say in the midnight or early in the morning. as we will be in nyc during the july 4 periods, shopping is a must i guess, with the additional discount. so 2 days will be spent shopping (just hope we dun spend all our money away then).
after two days of shopping, we will be taking tour to niagara falls (2D1N).
after we are back from our tour, we will spend one day to liberty island and elis island before travelling to DC at night.
the next day will be spent in DC, where we will tour the white house and yada. not planning to go to Smithsonian Museums unless there is more time.
We will then go back to nyc the next day morning and visit the American Museum of Natural History, the same museum in night at the museum. Finally at night, we will go to central park for some concert, if there is. if not, we will just go nom nom nom.

Finally, we will be going to Las vegas for 3-4 days. activities include grand canyon, tour of casinos in the strip and shopping agn. Lastly, we will be taking a southwest flight from LV to LA as it was cheap (ard S$77) and allows us to check in 2 luggage, before we fly back to singapore with china eastern.

accomodations that we have booked are mostly hostels as we rather spend the money on food/shopping/travel.
here goes:
LA: USA hostel hollywood
SF: USA hostel SF
LV: Flamingo
Boston: YMCA of Greater Boston
NYC: Big Apple Hostel
DC: River Inn

please feel free to comment abt the itinerary! :D thank you! :D

Wow..thanks for sharing. Seems like lots of travelling too. We will be doing NY-Philly-DC-Niagara Falls-Boston and maybe thinking of flying to Orlando as we have about 18 days. Have not booked our accommodation yet. Still planning. Thanks again.

Erwinlow

Lol, if you are on budget, there's McDonalds, or drive/take cab go chinatown eat.

Not really on a budget lah but obviously won't spend 100USD on a steak at Morton's...

Will probably book my Vegas hotels tmr...better decide by tonight!

How much will it cost roughly to go from...lets say MGM/Monte Carlo to Harrah's? 4 persons, with luggages.

fone

Not really on a budget lah but obviously won't spend 100USD on a steak at Morton's...

Will probably book my Vegas hotels tmr...better decide by tonight!

How much will it cost roughly to go from...lets say MGM/Monte Carlo to Harrah's? 4 persons, with luggages.

$100 probably if you order wine liao, usually is around $80 after tips if just order meal + sides. I didn't try much restaurants, so can't tell you much. I've never taken cab in Vegas either. The cab drivers are quite good, I see them going via the rear roads instead of on the strip (which is usually jammed and always some parts under construction).

genie47

The original is "mileage". It is a term to tell people that it varies a lot.

starstruck123

Wow..thanks for sharing. Seems like lots of travelling too. We will be doing NY-Philly-DC-Niagara Falls-Boston and maybe thinking of flying to Orlando as we have about 18 days. Have not booked our accommodation yet. Still planning. Thanks again.
hellos! if u are thinking of gg orlando, u must go to disneyland! my friend had a rly good time over there! i wld want to go there if i had enough time and $kaching.

fone

Anyone stayed in Paris Las Vegas before?

Reviews were generally good: http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Hotel...s-Paris_Las_Vegas_Hotel-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

About 90usd/night.

Monitor these rates and read the T&Cs, see if there is any advance booking requirements. When you going? If not wait and see if any promos pop up before you really need to book these rooms. I have gotten $159 for a room at Encore plus $50 resort credit (F&B and shows), when I booked like a week before I went.

Just saw this promo for Mandalay bay, up to 20% off plus early check in and late check out.

Erwinlow

Monitor these rates and read the T&Cs, see if there is any advance booking requirements. When you going? If not wait and see if any promos pop up before you really need to book these rooms. I have gotten $159 for a room at Encore plus $50 resort credit (F&B and shows), when I booked like a week before I went.

Just saw this promo for Mandalay bay, up to 20% off plus early check in and late check out.
Will be in Vegas from 28/3 to 1/4... Wah, good deal for Encore...

& Mandalay Bay little bit far away leh. Like the other end of the strip along with Luxor?

Bills Gambling Hall & Saloon, very good location it seems? Just that little bit run down. Hmm.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.