US help.

hermes76

Hi guys. How did you all rent a car and drive it across the state? Is it a service they are offerin at US ? I will be going to the states and was thinking of renting a car and drive from LV to LA.. And then fly back to Singapore. Is it possible that I drop the rented car at LA airport?

Thanks!

you can make a reservation online, i reserved mine from Hertz. dropping the car at a different location may cost more, yes it is possible to drop-off at the airport as most major airports in US have most car rental service

TOKARA

Hi guys,

can anyone recommend good hotels in LV? need those near to outlets for my shopping needs (not too exp ones - less than $100)

also please advise the general safety in LV...reasonably ok to travel at night?

and also how much for a ride from LA to LV? thx

Erwinlow

if you stay right smack in the centre of the strip, it's a 10-15mins by taxi to both outlets on the north and south of the strip.

stayed at flamingo's new wing, paid only 45usd/night. total steal. brand new room, nice decor. room was facing bellagio's waterfall.
also stayed at mgm, paid about 80usd. mgm also has a resort fee of 20usd iirc, compulsory to pay.

relatively safe at night... but always exercise caution.

r0_ger

If u dun like to sleep at nite, I recommend u to stay in the middle of the strip. There are outlest in both the north and south of strip. There is a 24 hrs bus service along the entire strip and so it is very convenient and cheap! Taxi can be quite scary especially in the late nite peak where the traffic flow can be very bad. I stayed in the south, Tahiti Village Resort. It's like a chalet and the southern outlet store is only a walking distance away!! That place is far away from the buzz... if you would like some quiet time from all the hoohaa... Room is damn big and spacious, good for family as it has got a living room with sofa bed and full facility kitchen.

Town Sq is a good place for some Old Navy and A&F away from the buzz. Can get good deals there as it is less touristy...

Erwinlow

but it makes more sense to stay on the strip, no? i mean...you're in vegas! unless you're really looking for a quiet, laidback place in vegas.

is town square the one near the famous 'welcome to las vegas' sign? passed by but diddnt go in the end.

genie47

Check hotel portals for good deals. I would think the southern most on the strip would be Luxor and Excalibur. No further south if you want to stay on the strip.

Finally, rent a car and drive. It is worth it. Hiring a car in Vegas is cheaper than other parts of the US. But the prices fluctuate like stock market. Keep checking the portals like Travelocity for deals.

Erwinlow

lvhotels.gif

r0_ger

Check hotel portals for good deals. I would think the southern most on the strip would be Luxor and Excalibur. No further south if you want to stay on the strip.

Finally, rent a car and drive. It is worth it. Hiring a car in Vegas is cheaper than other parts of the US. But the prices fluctuate like stock market. Keep checking the portals like Travelocity for deals.
I strongly agree to the fact that u should stay along the "mainstream" of the strip for the truely vegas experience.

But I beg to differ from the car renting suggestion. PERSONALLY, I think the hotels, casinos, clubs and everything else are so near to one another. It's like orchard road from Tanglin to PS, maybe? Imagine if u stay in tanglin area and drive, then u park at ion and u walk down... takashimaya is so near and connected, u decided to walk down and then it goes on... end of the day, u have to walk back to ion from where ever u end up (which I suspect will be far away) and then drive in the congested traffic to tanglin? u are better off walking or take public. It's $7 for 24 hrs of unlimited ride (but no one check the tix if u dun have one)...

Car will be good if u are exploring vegas beyond the strip as it is basically a desert out there. The hotel rates are really crazy. it can vary from $48 per nite to $148 per nite for the same room during different period of stay!! if u are ok with hotel hopping, then I suggest u can do some planning to stay at the differnt hotels during their "cheaper" period.

o0KelviN0o

If u dun like to sleep at nite, I recommend u to stay in the middle of the strip. There are outlest in both the north and south of strip. There is a 24 hrs bus service along the entire strip and so it is very convenient and cheap! Taxi can be quite scary especially in the late nite peak where the traffic flow can be very bad. I stayed in the south, Tahiti Village Resort. It's like a chalet and the southern outlet store is only a walking distance away!! That place is far away from the buzz... if you would like some quiet time from all the hoohaa... Room is damn big and spacious, good for family as it has got a living room with sofa bed and full facility kitchen.

Town Sq is a good place for some Old Navy and A&F away from the buzz. Can get good deals there as it is less touristy...

does A&F @ Town Square have a discount section?

i know some flagship stores around the US does not have a discount section

genie47

I strongly agree to the fact that u should stay along the "mainstream" of the strip for the truely vegas experience.

But I beg to differ from the car renting suggestion. PERSONALLY, I think the hotels, casinos, clubs and everything else are so near to one another. It's like orchard road from Tanglin to PS, maybe? Imagine if u stay in tanglin area and drive, then u park at ion and u walk down... takashimaya is so near and connected, u decided to walk down and then it goes on... end of the day, u have to walk back to ion from where ever u end up (which I suspect will be far away) and then drive in the congested traffic to tanglin? u are better off walking or take public. It's $7 for 24 hrs of unlimited ride (but no one check the tix if u dun have one)...

Car will be good if u are exploring vegas beyond the strip as it is basically a desert out there. The hotel rates are really crazy. it can vary from $48 per nite to $148 per nite for the same room during different period of stay!! if u are ok with hotel hopping, then I suggest u can do some planning to stay at the differnt hotels during their "cheaper" period.

The car rental is not for Vegas. It is for beyond Vegas. There is much more to that area than just Vegas.

I walked from Luxor to the main strip center just to see the difference. Then walked even further north to see much more. Then walk back south to Luxor. If needed, take the bus back to Luxor. After one go, I tell you, Vegas can become very sian. The Strip is a much bigger, glitzier and raunchier version of Orchard Rd.

At the middle, you have to go south, then back to centre then north then back. This eats too much time for a cruise by foot. Hence, either at Excalibur or Luxor so that you are not too far away. Mandalay seems nice and so is any hotel near East Harmon.

South of the strip there is a lot of photo opportunities. Lots of abandoned motels. Damn sad to see. That pink elephant is an icon and I hope that motel continues to thrive.

fone

The car rental is not for Vegas. It is for beyond Vegas. There is much more to that area than just Vegas.

I walked from Luxor to the main strip center just to see the difference. Then walked even further north to see much more. Then walk back south to Luxor. If needed, take the bus back to Luxor. After one go, I tell you, Vegas can become very sian. The Strip is a much bigger, glitzier and raunchier version of Orchard Rd.

Wow! My friend brought me to park at Encore, walked to through Wynn / Venetian / Palazzo think ended at Bellagio, I cmi liao, I told him the next time, I'd drive and valet park at each of the hotels, which I did on my subsequent visits. Actually the back roads are very empty if you need to rush and know the place well. I just follow the taxi drivers on the back roads. To me, vegas, I'd drive from hotels to hotels, unless they are right next door (ie Encore and Wynn).

genie47

Wow! My friend brought me to park at Encore, walked to through Wynn / Venetian / Palazzo think ended at Bellagio, I cmi liao, I told him the next time, I'd drive and valet park at each of the hotels, which I did on my subsequent visits. Actually the back roads are very empty if you need to rush and know the place well. I just follow the taxi drivers on the back roads. To me, vegas, I'd drive from hotels to hotels, unless they are right next door (ie Encore and Wynn).

First time for me mah. I want to leisurely ssrr. After this, most likely if return to Vegas, will drive around. The Strip very congested in the evenings. The 2nd day there, when with the car, I took the back roads. Wife felt very insecure with me driving the back roads. :s13:

fone

Strip traffic really cmi during peak periods, aiya, just lock the doors at night lor. Hate it when I go to hotel valet parking and they say full and only for hotel guests, waste my time, can't they build a larger valet lot.

r0_ger

town has got more than what it seems. Town Square Las Vegas The A&F has a good selection of discount item in the discount session, at least when I was there. Also, Hollister is there, old navy, american eagle, H&M, there is also an apple store where is forever long Q....

You can get some discounted show tickets from one of the outlet. forgot the name already....

The 1st day I checked in at strastophe, the recep ask me if it was my first time in vegas. I told him yes, he passed me my room card and said, "welcome to sin city"...

jarred1223

Hey guys.. going to US at the end of this month.. going for 2 weeks. Planning to go east side, with family

any places that are a must go?
so far we decided to go these places:
NYC (arrival and departure from here)
Niagara Falls
Boston (for seafood)
Orlando (USS and Disneyland)

w3iw3n

Dear all, i am planning a west coast trip covering SF, LA and LV.
Went through this thread and is thinking of doing this:

SG-SF (SQ)
SF-LV (Virgins)
LV-LA (Drive - approx 3 hrs?)
LA-SF (????)

Or should I:

SG-LA
LA-LV (Drive)
LV-SF (Virgins)

which ways is more advisable? If i take the LA to SF route, should i fly, drive or something else?

For domestic flights, are custom clearance a nightmare?

patryn33

no customs clearance for domestic flight, customs only needed when U are traveling into a different country.

Driving 1 way, there maybe a drop of free, check rental company. fee can go as high as usd$200-300.

r0_ger

no custom, but definitely got security clearance! Must take out shoes and go thru human xray!!

Anyway the 1st option looks viable and similar to mine. check out southwest. one of the cheapest domestic flights! Free drinks and peanuts!
LA-SF will be a long drive. Sugg u take Amtrak(train) or Greyhound(bus). As mentioned, one way drive will incur drop fee. But some route they might waive it if it coincide with some of their reservations etc. Can try alamo/national.

Erwinlow

also, those domestic flights, diddn't know beforehand that each checked-in baggage, have to pay 30usd/baggage.

should be 30usd if i'm not wrong, or around there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.