US help.

derazor

A one way fee of USD 50.0 + TAX will be charged for dropping off your car at a different location
@ carrentals.com

collect at JFK, return at NYC

>> is this free quite standard?

patryn33

for my niagara car rental, the SUV( ford escape ) is cheaper than full sized car ( Impala/Malibu). Should I SUV? :)

Also should I need to rent the GPS or I just use google phone GPS ( with subscribed data ) ?

Escape is just as big as my rav4. Can seat 5 ppl but no space for 5 check in bags. 2 check in and 2 carry on tops.
Today they are more like CUV not SUV

U can use your phone, or just pay for a phone app.
U can decide which is cheaper

U can test it out in sg to see it covers the area u traveling
https://support.google.com/gmm/answer/2650218?hl=en

patryn33

A one way fee of USD 50.0 + TAX will be charged for dropping off your car at a different location
@ carrentals.com

collect at JFK, return at NYC
>> is this free quite standard?

U pay for a cheaper rental, drop off fees varies.
U can only check with hertz etc to see if overall is cheaper since u are taking cab

Telur17

Basically, normally would ppl use cab ( no choice due to luggage ? ) or the subway is fine? Most of the car rental return is at West or East Side

Typically in manhattan when does traffic goes crazy?

Manhatten traffic can be really bad. If you just need airport transport, can take those shuttle buses that come with luggage below (example: New York Airport Shuttle Bus Service | JFK | LaGuardia | Newark) or pay for the taxi fare. JFK-Manhatten is flat $52 fee + tips. Taxi, Car and Van Service - Ground Transportation - John F. Kennedy International Airport - Port Authority of New York & New Jersey

Alternatively, you can also call for a call. Prices are generally cheaper. One example of a company is New Golden Horse ???

then travel within NYC take the subway/taxi/bus can le. The city is quite well-connected traffic wise. Only if you going somewhere further then I think u rent a car

genie47

I'm heading out to Mexico.

Which is the better airport for transit? SFO or LAX?

The time spent for the layover is a good 22 hours for both before heading out to San Jose Cabo.

I heard a lot of good things about SFO as an airport. However the plane sending me over there from NRT is a 747. There is another option where I can go over to LAX which is pretty much crappy but I get to fly a 787.

Advice? Better plane experience or better airport for layover?

derazor

Escape is just as big as my rav4. Can seat 5 ppl but no space for 5 check in bags. 2 check in and 2 carry on tops.
Today they are more like CUV not SUV

U can use your phone, or just pay for a phone app.
U can decide which is cheaper

U can test it out in sg to see it covers the area u traveling
https://support.google.com/gmm/answer/2650218?hl=en

Definitely bigger than a Full Sized Maxima right?

Chose SUV because the price is a tad cheaper than Full Sized . Total 2 persons and 2/3 Luggage. Good enough?

derazor

Manhatten traffic can be really bad. If you just need airport transport, can take those shuttle buses that come with luggage below (example: New York Airport Shuttle Bus Service | JFK | LaGuardia | Newark) or pay for the taxi fare. JFK-Manhatten is flat $52 fee + tips. Taxi, Car and Van Service - Ground Transportation - John F. Kennedy International Airport - Port Authority of New York & New Jersey

Alternatively, you can also call for a call. Prices are generally cheaper. One example of a company is New Golden Horse ???

then travel within NYC take the subway/taxi/bus can le. The city is quite well-connected traffic wise. Only if you going somewhere further then I think u rent a car

Thanks for the info but

We're travelling directly to Woodbury Premium Outlet , stay a night there and maybe drive back to Lower Manhattan before 2pm ( traffic jam kicks in ).

invisible999

I'm heading out to Mexico.

The time spent for the layover is a good 22 hours for both before heading out to San Jose Cabo.

Which is the better airport for transit? SFO or LAX?
In terms of doing something fun - means getting out from the airport and come back SFO is magnitude better than LAX. LAX is plain crappy, period.

You can spend 20 hours in San Francisco way better than in any other city in States. Just my IMHO.

I heard a lot of good things about SFO as an airport.
True. They do have exhibitions running there all the time inside and out.

However the plane sending me over there from NRT is a 747. There is another option where I can go over to LAX which is pretty much crappy but I get to fly a 787.

I truly hope that you are not flying on UA. If yes... I truly hope that you are seated in Y.

But if yes and yes, well, take double dosage sleeping pill to pass out for 13h flight.

UA/SQ are flying 777 to SFO, NH flies 777 to SJC.

xtwis7

Might be heading to Seattle this July for an event. Not sure which route is the best. If fly to sfo only got 777. If go to LAX got 380. If you buy directly from SQ for sin to sea, the transit time is 1 hour plus which makes it pretty tight to transfer.

patryn33

Definitely bigger than a Full Sized Maxima right?

Chose SUV because the price is a tad cheaper than Full Sized . Total 2 persons and 2/3 Luggage. Good enough?

Good enough esp just 2 person. Can fit 4 Check in luggage easily. The back seat can fold down

Telur17

Thanks for the info but

We're travelling directly to Woodbury Premium Outlet , stay a night there and maybe drive back to Lower Manhattan before 2pm ( traffic jam kicks in ).

its up to you lah. but hor my shopping queen friend told me woodbury not worth it anymore. she said the discounts at the shops in Manhatten actually better or equal to Woodbury. N that Woodbury overran by china tourists. Eg: bags all over floor in the shop at Woodbury. Minute SA takes out new bags mobbed by the china tourists. When she choose bag she wants, SA no time to check if got new stock so told her can only take the bag that has been manhandled by everyone. Service in Manhatten much better according to her.

She actually took a bus from Manhatten to Woodbury. cost I think USD30-50 both ways. She said that's cheaper than renting car by herself and she doesn't have to worry abt traffic. I've never been to woodbury so cannot comment. But she shopped everyday she was here so I think she knows what she is talking abt. :p

derazor

its up to you lah. but hor my shopping queen friend told me woodbury not worth it anymore. she said the discounts at the shops in Manhatten actually better or equal to Woodbury. N that Woodbury overran by china tourists. Eg: bags all over floor in the shop at Woodbury. Minute SA takes out new bags mobbed by the china tourists. When she choose bag she wants, SA no time to check if got new stock so told her can only take the bag that has been manhandled by everyone. Service in Manhatten much better according to her.

She actually took a bus from Manhatten to Woodbury. cost I think USD30-50 both ways. She said that's cheaper than renting car by herself and she doesn't have to worry abt traffic. I've never been to woodbury so cannot comment. But she shopped everyday she was here so I think she knows what she is talking abt. :p

when your shopping queen came to NYC? :s13:

ceecookie

Might be heading to Seattle this July for an event. Not sure which route is the best. If fly to sfo only got 777. If go to LAX got 380. If you buy directly from SQ for sin to sea, the transit time is 1 hour plus which makes it pretty tight to transfer.

Have u considered ANA, Korean Air or EVA Air?

Telur17

when your shopping queen came to NYC? :s13:

last sept/oct so her review is quite recent. I was v surprised she can shop every single day. every day go out say going to see xxx, when come home at nite end up neh go sightseeing only go shopping :o she dedicated 1 day to woodbury but she said not worth it lor. but your mileage might vary cos maybe u shop different stuff :o

derazor

BTW,

Fuel Policy - The vehicle is supplied with a full tank of fuel. It should be returned full or refuelling charges will be applied OR Fuel should be paid for on arrival and it is not necessary to refill the tank before returning.
 Refunds are not given for unused fuel

>> Should one pay for the fuel tank so that when returning no need to go high and low to fill it up.

If didn't pay first for the fuel tank, say you come back with balance 50%, will they just charge the 50% fuel to you?

derazor

last sept/oct so her review is quite recent. I was v surprised she can shop every single day. every day go out say going to see xxx, when come home at nite end up neh go sightseeing only go shopping :o she dedicated 1 day to woodbury but she said not worth it lor. but your mileage might vary cos maybe u shop different stuff :o

Yah thanks bro..

I think everyone's shopping interest is different.

fone

If didn't pay first for the fuel tank, say you come back with balance 50%, will they just charge the 50% fuel to you?

Pre-paid fuel will be slightly cheaper than outside pump rates, however, no refunds given if you return fuel remaining. If you did not pay for this, and return the car with less fuel than when you have gotten the car, you will pay like double the price for the fuel compared to outside pumps. I've once had to pay this, the price of fuel they charge isn't cheap and plus an additional service charge IIRC (returned at San Diego airport, with no nearby gas station early in the morning with a flight to catch). Didn't had GPS / data plan that time, so did not want to risk going too far and getting lost.

fone

You book directly from SQ and if the 1hr plus transit time is of the direct flight, then no issue. SQ direct flight will be the same plane, if your plane arrive late, it will also depart late, you won't miss the connection unless you go shopping/eating too much in ICN or NRT.

If you are going for SQ, then SFO would be much shorter flights as the flights would pass through SEA, SFO then LAX, so the SFO - LAX is like backtracking. However, if you are a mileage junkie (like me), maybe you would opt for the longer route, since you get better miles per dollar spent (assuming same costs). Since SQ and VX are both quite enjoyable to take, though VX don't give miles for *A (think SQ will get redeemable miles only, not elite qualification miles). Personally, I prefer LAX to SFO, SFO has much more travelers, resulting in much fuller flights.

As mentioned by other forumers, you can opt for other airlines to fly straight to SEA, without the hassle of landing in USA, clearing immigration and customs then going to the domestic terminal for the domestic flight. NH, UA, BR all are star alliance and you still get your star alliance benefits as well as miles (if applicable, for the fare class).

derazor

From my observation @ JFK, seems like most cars are picked at Jamaica section, is it easy to navigate there.

Some sort like there have a location whereby they will "feeder bus" you to car rental?
Thanks.

Last but not least , from what I observe

Fuel Surcharge is not included.
Most ,not all , include LDW
GPS is optional
Location surcharge is included in the total.

I went to a lot of sites and their SOP is quite different.

Anything else that I need to take note?

Thanks.

swordspirit

Pre-paid fuel will be slightly cheaper than outside pump rates, however, no refunds given if you return fuel remaining. If you did not pay for this, and return the car with less fuel than when you have gotten the car, you will pay like double the price for the fuel compared to outside pumps. I've once had to pay this, the price of fuel they charge isn't cheap and plus an additional service charge IIRC (returned at San Diego airport, with no nearby gas station early in the morning with a flight to catch). Didn't had GPS / data plan that time, so did not want to risk going too far and getting lost.

Actually the prepaid fuel would be more exp. Unless rent for very short period and yet drive alot such that just nice finish the tank.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.