US help.

patryn33

Niagara and Toronto is like my backyard.
I am visiting Niagara again in May.
for me there are more things to do in Niagara vs Toronto, I don't stay too long around the falls more winery and makan there.
Niagara is like the Napa of Canada

Philly or Boston is really up to U. check out their tourist convention sites.
thing is Phily is on the way there from NYC to DC and Boston is a way out. cheap to fly from Boston to Toronto just US$125 to $200 plus check bags fees. not alot but considering U have like US$2k to blow. oh does it include shopping? U planning on visiting outlet malls and buying any big ticket items? ppl can tell U can get made in USA shoes cheap and save on shipping etc. but U can blow US$1K fast.

I don't station in NYC unlike Telur17 so cannot give U good inputs on what to do, eat and see. I go there once or twice a yr. I fly down to Cali like every mth.

Shiny Things

Shiny Things, i realised that you didn't include Phily in your suggested itinerary unlike patryn33. Do you think it would be okay to maybe slip Phily in and take a day out of boston or DC?

As i looked through the numerous pages on this thread, i also realised that many said that there isn't much to do in Boston. Do you have any suggestions on how i can spend the two nights there?

Thank you :D

There are people who like Philly, but honestly it's not as interesting as DC or NYC. I wouldn't bother.

And honestly yeah, I guess Boston's not all that exciting. Spend more time in DC, or NYC, or a couple of nights at Niagara instead of just one night.

ccjjxx

Niagara and Toronto is like my backyard.
I am visiting Niagara again in May.
for me there are more things to do in Niagara vs Toronto, I don't stay too long around the falls more winery and makan there.
Niagara is like the Napa of Canada

Philly or Boston is really up to U. check out their tourist convention sites.
thing is Phily is on the way there from NYC to DC and Boston is a way out. cheap to fly from Boston to Toronto just US$125 to $200 plus check bags fees. not alot but considering U have like US$2k to blow. oh does it include shopping? U planning on visiting outlet malls and buying any big ticket items? ppl can tell U can get made in USA shoes cheap and save on shipping etc. but U can blow US$1K fast.

I don't station in NYC unlike Telur17 so cannot give U good inputs on what to do, eat and see. I go there once or twice a yr. I fly down to Cali like every mth.

There are people who like Philly, but honestly it's not as interesting as DC or NYC. I wouldn't bother.

And honestly yeah, I guess Boston's not all that exciting. Spend more time in DC, or NYC, or a couple of nights at Niagara instead of just one night.

Hey patryn33 and Shiny Things, thanks for your advice so far they have been really helpful! I have kinda adjust my itinerary based on them haha.

I have revised my itinerary to be as follows:

NYC (3D3N) [24 - 27 Morning June] (Train to Boston)
|
Boston (1D1N) [27 Noon- 28 June Morning] (Fly to Toronto)
|
Toronto (2D1N) [28 Noon- 29 Afternoon] (Train to Niagara?)
|
Niagara Falls (2D2N) [29 Evening - 1 July Morning] (Unsure, as I will be at Canada side of Niagara)
|
Washington D.C. (2D2N) [1 July Noon - 3 July Morning] (Bus to save $?)
|
NYC (3D3N) + Philadelphia Day Trip (1 Day) [3 July Noon - 7 July]

I do have a few questions with regards to this though.

1) May i ask if the above is feasible? As i will be spending Independence Day in US, should i schedule my Philadelphia day trip to Independence day so as to avoid the crowd in NYC?
The above dates are not fixed though. It doesn't have to be from 24 - 7 July, but I am looking at these dates tentatively.

2) There are some parts of the trips which i am unsure of what mode of transport to take. I have underlined them above. Especially the Niagara to DC part, as i will be at the Canada side of the falls, how do i get to DC?

3) Is Brooklyn an alright and convenient place to stay in NYC? Accommodation around Midtown or other parts of Manhattan is kinda beyond my budget even for airbnb.

Thanks again :)

Shiny Things

1) May i ask if the above is feasible? As i will be spending Independence Day in US, should i schedule my Philadelphia day trip to Independence day so as to avoid the crowd in NYC?
The above dates are not fixed though. It doesn't have to be from 24 - 7 July, but I am looking at these dates tentatively.

Most stuff will actually be closed on Independence Day, so you might not even be able to make the tour.

2) There are some parts of the trips which i am unsure of what mode of transport to take. I have underlined them above. Especially the Niagara to DC part, as i will be at the Canada side of the falls, how do i get to DC?

Probably cross the border to Buffalo International Airport and fly BUF-DCA or BUF-IAD (there are hundreds of nonstops and I'm getting quoted about $100 one-way). If you don't cross the border, you either have to do a horrendously expensive two-stop on Westjet out of Hamilton, or go all the way to Toronto.

3) Is Brooklyn an alright and convenient place to stay in NYC? Accommodation around Midtown or other parts of Manhattan is kinda beyond my budget even for airbnb.

Yeah, it's fine. Make sure you're close to a subway stop, and the closer to Manhattan the better. Park Slope is quite nice.

patryn33

I have revised my itinerary to be as follows:

NYC (3D3N) [24 - 27 Morning June] (Train to Boston)
|
Boston (1D1N) [27 Noon- 28 June Morning] (Fly to Toronto)
|
Toronto (2D1N) [28 Noon- 29 Afternoon] (Train to Niagara?)
|
Niagara Falls (2D2N) [29 Evening - 1 July Morning] (Unsure, as I will be at Canada side of Niagara)
|
Washington D.C. (2D2N) [1 July Noon - 3 July Morning] (Bus to save $?)
|
NYC (3D3N) + Philadelphia Day Trip (1 Day) [3 July Noon - 7 July]

I do have a few questions with regards to this though.

NYC to Boston us$109 on Business
6:20am - 10:05am (3 hr, 45 min) on 2190 Acela Express

Boston to Toronto us$147 + bag fees (fly 8.30a - 10.15a)

Toronto to Niagara cad$24 (08:20 AM - 10:16 AM)

DC to NYC on chinatown bus is cheap like US$22 (8-11a)
but if U going to Philly, might as well go there 1st. greyhound adv purchase is like usd$10, normal rate us$50.
Amtrak cost more like us$40 and up and travel times is like half of bus, get there like 7-10a.

from Niagara to DC U have to go from Buffalo side. no flights from Niagara NY/ON. U will have to catch a cab to get there. Buffalo airport Taxi will run U ~us$50.

on July 4th there wil be a crowd in NYC, Philly, DC etc. Outlet malls are open on 4th July. places are open
there are stuff going on in philly to draw a big crowd.
July 4th in Philadelphia - Fireworks, Concerts and More - Wawa Welcome America! Events — Visit Philadelphia — visitphilly.com

Brooklyn - really depends stay near some kind of public transport to get to places U wanna go. do your research on the schedules before booking a place. Brooklyn is a big place its like 0.35 the size of Singapore (with all the islands).

oh.. I would rent a car a day in Niagara. Enterprise I think still have pick u up thingy. without a car in Niagara, ON hard to move outside the touristy area. if U can drive can visit Niagara-on-the-lake downtown. I would check out a few wineries and restaurants. if U have a little $$ to blow.

some winery to check out (all wines under cad$45)
- Chateau des Charmes (Equuleus rated 93pts)
- vineland estates ( Falsetto Riesling 93pts, Semi-Dry Riesling 90pts, Cab Sauvignon ice wine 92pts)
- Pillitteri (kerner icewine 91pts)

I always enjoy the below, near the falls its not nice and expensive.
http://www.niagaracollege.ca/content/Services/TeachingEnterprises/BenchmarkRestaurant/Menus.aspx

keigo0

Yo all, now i planning my itinerary and budget allocation, would like some advice below.

Complusory spending = meals
7days in nyc.
I am planning - breakfast 20usd, lunch 30usd & dinner 50usd for one day. Perhaps some sandwich from pret a manger, some american food for lunch and dinner. Maybe one or two fancy rest if possible for the whole duration.
Is the above budget allocation ok?

I am going vegas as well, can i use the same budget as above?
In pret a manger or subway rest., do i still need to give tip? Or what kind of places do i need to tip? 15% is it ok?

And anyone know roughly the cost of groceries in nyc? Like the cost of litre of mineral water and a litre of juice? Thanks for advice!

yo all
I have just booked my tickets even though still got about 8 months away. my itinerary:

travel dates: 19th Dec 2014 - 3rd jan 2015
international
sin - jfk (via nrt)
las - nrt (via sfo)
nrt - sin

booked via united air, except for las - sfo, the rest of the flights are codeshare flights; operated by ana. cost is 2130sgd.

domestic
jfk - las

booked via aa, cost is abt 340sgd.

I got one qns, on my eticket for all the codeshare flight segments (international), there is a covering sentence that says "If this is an originating flight on your itinerary, please check in at the ana ticket counter."
does it simply mean I check in at ana counter at changi airport and narita?

and do u tink I can go ana office at robinson road and try to do advance seat selection? anyone done that in such similar situation?

thanks.

yo all, can help take a look at my nyc itinerary first?

in nyc from 19th dec - 25th dec 2014
staying at hilton times sq (6 nights)

day 1 - 19th dec, fri (arrival jfk 1515hr)
- taking airtrain to Jamaica station, then xfer to subway E line to port authority station
- reach times sq around 1830hr, check in hotel
- buy prepaid sim card at at&t, got one store near hotel
- get dinner and walk walk around times sq to end the night

day 2 - 20th dec, sat
- natural wake up, go intrepid museum, ,maybe leave around 1600hr
- go grand central station & market see see look look
- go back hotel; go pass by Bryant park, see got any activities going on there

day 3 - 21st dec, sun
- natural wake up
- go central park walk, maybe tabao breakfast and have it there?
- go natural history museum
- go top of rock for views
- continue at 5th ave for some shopping

day 4 - 22nd dec, mon
- natural wake up
- see lady liberty, take staten ferry at whitehall terminal, to and fro
- walk the brooklyn bridge
- finish the day at little italy and chinatown

day 5 - 23rd dec, tue
- natural wake up
- go soho
or day trip to niagara falls? how should I do it? take bus or train?

day 6 - 24th dec, wed
- natural wake up
- do some xmas shopping
- catch a broadway show

day 7 - 25th dec, thurs
no activities coz 0730hr flight out to vegas

can help to comment on my itinerary esp day 5 & 6? or have I missed out anything, open to suggestions. thanks!

Telur17

yo all, can help take a look at my nyc itinerary first?

in nyc from 19th dec - 25th dec 2014
staying at hilton times sq (6 nights)

I like your itinerary. not super packed so still got time to relax and enjoy the city. xmas time is v nice esp if you lucky and meet with light snowfall. heavy snowfall not so good. :p There are normally several xmas markets going on. confirmed locations for the last few years include bryant park (includes free outdoor ice-skating. go early cos q can b quite long), union sq and colombus circle. n of cos the rockerfeller tree is gorgeous esp at nite. don't forget the light show at saks 5th avenue just opp rockerfeller.

rather than eating at the tourists traps around times sq, maybe you wanna just take a short walk to 9th avenue. less touristy and lots of restaurants to makan at. many of them have offers for pre-broadway meals. amy's bread is good for breakfast n supper.

for your day 5, if you really want to do a day trip maybe go somewhere nearer like philly or one of the smaller towns in ny state or even new jersey. yale is oso quite near and is a nice town to walk around and explore. it might be a bit quiet though as many students would have gone back for the hols. niagara will take too long to reach by bus and train. more than 9 hours by train one way. otherwise, maybe consider something different like the cloisters? or explore queens/brooklyn

crowds in the malls are likely to be crazy on day 6. book your broadway tix early if you can.

keigo0

I like your itinerary. not super packed so still got time to relax and enjoy the city. xmas time is v nice esp if you lucky and meet with light snowfall. heavy snowfall not so good. :p There are normally several xmas markets going on. confirmed locations for the last few years include bryant park (includes free outdoor ice-skating. go early cos q can b quite long), union sq and colombus circle. n of cos the rockerfeller tree is gorgeous esp at nite. don't forget the light show at saks 5th avenue just opp rockerfeller.

crowds in the malls are likely to be crazy on day 6. book your broadway tix early if you can.

ya planning to keep itinerary not so packed so I can relax and chill. past few holidays too rushed and too little time. so this time round cater abit more time.

oh ya almost forgot the xmas markets, quite enjoy the xmas markets I went to in London last dec..so how abt this below?
day 3 - 21st dec, sun
- natural wake up
- go top of rock for views, hand around rockfeller centre for the xmas lightings and experience
day 5 - 23rd dec, tue
- go soho walk walk
- travel up to union sq for xmas markets
- broadway show
day 6, 24th dec, wed
duno wat else to do liao, was thinking of visiting of taking a walk down 5th ave, and check out macy?

Telur17

ya planning to keep itinerary not so packed so I can relax and chill. past few holidays too rushed and too little time. so this time round cater abit more time.

oh ya almost forgot the xmas markets, quite enjoy the xmas markets I went to in London last dec..so how abt this below?
day 3 - 21st dec, sun
- natural wake up
- go top of rock for views, hand around rockfeller centre for the xmas lightings and experience
day 5 - 23rd dec, tue
- go soho walk walk
- travel up to union sq for xmas markets
- broadway show
day 6, 24th dec, wed
duno wat else to do liao, was thinking of visiting of taking a walk down 5th ave, and check out macy?

sounds good. I quite enjoy the window displays on 5th avenue and macy's. v different from SG.

other possible sights depending on your interest:
met
moma
cloisters
highline
roosevelt island tram
botanical gardens (Winter at The New York Botanical Garden | NYBG)

or explore other parts of NY eg: lower east side, lower west side, brooklyn, queens. depends on what you are interested in.

keigo0

sounds good. I quite enjoy the window displays on 5th avenue and macy's. v different from SG.

other possible sights depending on your interest:
met
moma
cloisters
highline
roosevelt island tram
botanical gardens (Winter at The New York Botanical Garden | NYBG)

or explore other parts of NY eg: lower east side, lower west side, brooklyn, queens. depends on what you are interested in.
great, thanks for the suggestion, will keep these in mind. nyc itinerary almost there liao. will check back with your guys on my las itinerary (though maybe not be much to do at las) lol

invisible999

Grand Canyon/Bryce/Canyonlands travel

This, ladies and gentlemen is how the road to North Rim of Grand Canyon looked two days ago.

2014-05-11%2013.02.01.jpg

So if you plan to travel to Grand Canyon, Bryce or Canyonlands, make sure that a) you check your travel dates and b) check weather

2014-05-11%2013.06.52.jpg

Beefcaketees

Alaska Cruise with Canadian Rockies

Hi all!

Has anyone been on a Alaska Cruise or Canadian Rockies tour before?

I will be going on a tour in 2 weeks time!

Itinerary as below:

Day 1
Assemble at Singapore Changi Airport for your flight to Seattle. Upon arrival at Seattle, transfer hotel after dinner.

Day 2
After breakfast, embark to a city tour covered as following;
The Space Needle: Picture-perfect views from the top of Seattle’s iconic landmark.
Ballard Locks: Witness the locks in operation for boat passing between Lake Union and Puget Sound.
Pike Place Market: An authentic market that sell seafood, vegetable and fruits, crafts, flower and others local
produce. Don't miss the first Starbucks Café just around the corner.
During the city tour we will drive pass Downtown and Chinatown. We will also make a photo stop at Waterfornt.
Spend the rest of the day at leisure.

Day 3 - 9
Cruising on Tracy Arm Fjord, Alaska - Celebrity Cruises

Day 10 / SEATTLE - VANCOUVER
Disembark and transfer to Vancouver for overnight accommodation, enroute stop at Premium Factory Outlet.

Day 11 / VANCOUVER - KELOWNA - WINERY - LAKE OKANAGAN - REVELSTOKE (B/L/D)

Day 12 / REVELSTOKE - EMERALD LAKE - GONDOLA - BANFF (B/L/D)

Day 13 / BANFF - LAKE LOUISE - JASPER NATIONAL PARK - ICEFIELD - VERNON (B/L/D)

Day 14 / VERNON - KAMLOOPS – VANCOUVER (B/L/D)

Day 15 / VANCOUVER - SINGAPORE (B)

Any kind advice?

What to buy and where is the best view?

Thanks!! :s13: (Excited)

Hisashiburi

Whats at revelstroke?

Are u on a tour in canada or self guided?

It seems to me that the Canada portion is very rushed.
There is a lot of travel time and there isnt a lot of time to see a place.

4 to 5 days from vancouver to jasper to vancouver is very rushed to me.
U will miss out on a lot of experiences.
Just touch n go, it seems.

On your cruise, u will prob stop at Victoria.
Highly recommend going to Butchart gardens
Simply beautiful.

Also during parts of alaska u can opt tp try the zip lines. If u like those, it is fun and worth it.

Hisashiburi

During the cruise, iif u wake up early for bf, u can sometimes see orca whales in the water.

This is one cruise where it is worth getting a balcony room.with a decent view.

The sun will stay out for a long time.
Set past 11pm.
Very cool.

Beefcaketees

I will be going on a tour package so hence the itinerary tightness!

Just a question!

I am reaching Victoria only at 6pm and going for Butchart Gardens tour at 6:30pm...

Will it be dark by then? :s11:

Whats at revelstroke?

Are u on a tour in canada or self guided?

It seems to me that the Canada portion is very rushed.
There is a lot of travel time and there isnt a lot of time to see a place.

4 to 5 days from vancouver to jasper to vancouver is very rushed to me.
U will miss out on a lot of experiences.
Just touch n go, it seems.

On your cruise, u will prob stop at Victoria.
Highly recommend going to Butchart gardens
Simply beautiful.

Also during parts of alaska u can opt tp try the zip lines. If u like those, it is fun and worth it.

Beefcaketees

Yeah going on a tour cause lazy to plan and drive :D

Any good buys at Seattle Premium Outlet?

I think tour guide at most give 3-4 hours standard..

USA outlet just any American brands
Canada winery ice wine , or their maple syrup

U going with tour? It's super tight, touch and go trip

Hisashiburi

Sun sets really late during the summer months so u have time to walk through butchart gardens.

Seattle premium outlets.
Been many years since I went there.
Last time I was there, there was a burberry outlet and coach outlet.
The coach outlet was quite popular amongst the tourists.
Also a Nike outlet there.
Can probably find the current list of shops online.

Hisashiburi

When the ship goes close to the glacier, it can get cold.
Suggest bringing a light jacket.

Also bring sunglasses if u are getting onto the glacier.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.