US help.

Telur17

I am going over to NewYork next Jan 5th! First time there. May I know if it is still worth it to travel down to Niagara Falls during this time as I know that its going to be pretty cold during Jan.

I will be spending 2 weeks there.

thanks!

paiseh, never been to Niagara Falls so not too sure. I understand that some sights are closed during this season though.

chimpchimp

I am going over to NewYork next Jan 5th! First time there. May I know if it is still worth it to travel down to Niagara Falls during this time as I know that its going to be pretty cold during Jan.

thanks!

The good thing about Niagara Falls is that you can see the Falls all year round, though it is said that the volume and sheer velocity of the Falls is reduced during the winter season because of more build-up of ice. Anyway, I have been there around the time you are going, and there was a lot of snow, mostly ice on the ground. It was also very cold at that time, my hands froze up the moment I took out my gloves to press the camera shutter button, and my hands really hurt so bad after that. Still, a pretty good experience, so no harm making a trip down. The Maid of the Mist boat ride is definitely not available.

patryn33

thanks!

I just want to see the falls?
I was there in late October b4 Halloween.
Maybe my 5 time there.
Friday and Sunday nite u get to see fireworks over the falls
I visited wineries and distillery. U get to hoot some limited product great whiskey. Food at a few wineries so good better than what u get in the tourist traps. Driving in the winery route there are much nice views even u not into wine culture learning is fun. Dec is harvest time for ginseng there is a farm there for u to hoot some great ginseng direct from the farm

I maybe there again next yr for ice wine festival. I was there yrs ago for that event in jan/feb. Much colder then.

B4 I have kids we stay at b&b. I recommend u doing so

twinklingstars

u can use kayakcom to check airticket prices.
if U plan on places such as San Francisco, LA and Grand Canyon. consider playing into LAX and leaving from SFO. that will save some traveling time.

U can certainly take a la-cart tour from those chinese tour agency or those American our agency to go outlet.

From vegas its easy to get tours out to Grand Canyon.

cost of labor is high in USA, I am preety sure twinklingstars took group tours not private tours.

there are plenty of 1 to 3 day tours if U are looking to go to Yosemite or spending a nite at Grand Canyon
TakeTours Search Results

thanks!! is it advisable to heard to NYC for a few days, then take domestic flight to west coast? is it too much, maybe just stick to west coast for 3 weeks?

twinklingstars

It exclude Sin-SFO and LAX-Sin. Everything else included, including domestic flights.
For all the day tours except grand Canyon, I used a mini bus tour. Only the SF city tour was full with eleven people total. The rest ranges from four to six people only including ourselves. So almost like private tours. The Grand Canyon was a bus tour due to long driving hours.
For the companies, we used Dylan's Tour for SF, Best Bay Area Tour for Monterey, Grand Canyon Tour Company for the bus to and from Grand Canyon and Anaheim Visitor Centre for the LA and shopping transportation.
The whole trip could be cheaper if your dates in SF does not clashed with any major conference. We had DreamForce and Nike Women Run during our stay. Hotel rates went almost tripled. We stayed in at least three stars hotels during our trip.

thanks! in that case you probably spend $5K plus in total? im still doing my budgeting, not sure how much to set aside for a 3 weeks tour.

twinklingstars

I used this company for my last Oct trip. Pick up was punctual on a big bus from my hotel to the company check in place. There, joined a long queue to pay for your trip as well as receive bus number etc. They give out free water, coffee and danish.

The bus comes with wifi and power point (USA style). My driver actually has some spare USB converters for people to borrow. The trip was quite long, stopping at Hoover Dam as well as passing through route 66. Buffet lunch not bad. We reached Grand Canyon near 3.30pm at Mather Point. We have the option of walking along the rim towards Bright Angel Lodge or taking the bus at 4.15pm to the lodge. After dropping us at the lodge, the driver picked up people for the return trip at 6pm. On the way back, there was a stop for dinner at Carl's Jr. Bus dropped off at the hotel. Guests were already sorted to be staying near each other. So, no need to go up and down the strip dropping passengers.

Overall, not too bad. The bus was comfortable and the driver kept us supplied with water. There are also a toilet onboard the bus. They play out movies as well for those not sleeping.

how many people in a group? any guide around to give elaboration on the tourist sites? or just ownself walk around? thanks!

patryn33

thanks!! is it advisable to heard to NYC for a few days, then take domestic flight to west coast? is it too much, maybe just stick to west coast for 3 weeks?

3 weeks stick to west coast, if your west coast includes
- LA
- San diego
- San Francisco and suburbs cities
- Yosemite
- Napa valley
- las Vegas
- grand canyon
- Columbia river gorge
- Seattle
- while at Seattle lets throw in Vancouver
- Lake Tahoe

If u think u still have time after all these then go nyc

patryn33

how many people in a group? any guide around to give elaboration on the tourist sites? or just ownself walk around? thanks!

Iirc they don't hit all the look out, best choose those u get to stay over nite.
Been to the canyon like 4-5x, best if u can catch sun rise or sun set very pretty. I could sit out and just stare for a long time

JAYBAOKONG

Hi all,

Thanks to the inputs of ShinyThing, Telur n Patryn,I have enjoyed myself in my recent trip to the west .

I have bought a GARMIN GPS with real time traffic updates from US and would like to offer the rental ($3 per day) to whoever is looking to drive in the States. I used it during my road trip and it's really handy.

I must say it's really an experience in driving in the States.

JAYBAOKONG

Hi, I used this company as well for my recent trip. However my pickup wasn't punctual as I believed that they came earlier than the pickup time and then when we were down at the pickup point, we don't see the bus . I had to call the company after 15mins of wait and they sent another driver to pick us up.

Therefore, do take note of the timing if u are using them. Be down earlier than the pickup time.

However the overall experience with the company is good. Driver is also the guide which explains to us the sights along the way to Grand Canyon.

I used this company for my last Oct trip. Pick up was punctual on a big bus from my hotel to the company check in place. There, joined a long queue to pay for your trip as well as receive bus number etc. They give out free water, coffee and danish.

The bus comes with wifi and power point (USA style). My driver actually has some spare USB converters for people to borrow. The trip was quite long, stopping at Hoover Dam as well as passing through route 66. Buffet lunch not bad. We reached Grand Canyon near 3.30pm at Mather Point. We have the option of walking along the rim towards Bright Angel Lodge or taking the bus at 4.15pm to the lodge. After dropping us at the lodge, the driver picked up people for the return trip at 6pm. On the way back, there was a stop for dinner at Carl's Jr. Bus dropped off at the hotel. Guests were already sorted to be staying near each other. So, no need to go up and down the strip dropping passengers.

Overall, not too bad. The bus was comfortable and the driver kept us supplied with water. There are also a toilet onboard the bus. They play out movies as well for those not sleeping.

JAYBAOKONG

Hi, there is no guide to give u an elaboration in Grand Canyon. The bus will drop u at the viewing points of the Grand Canyon and u are free to walk around to take pics. The driver acts as a guide along the way to Grand Canyon like elaborating on Hoover Dam, Route 66.

donut33

Remember to go to the Christmas markets! Weather is below 10 degrees Celcius. If got wind, lagi cold. Better bring more warm stuff or be prepared to buy here. Uniqlo heattech is great

Hi, Uniqlo heattech is a thermal wear or jacket? If it is a thermal wear, is it good for -10 degrees in New York?

I just got micro fibre thermal wear from a local winter wear shop, cost me $65 for a set of top/bottom...:eek:

Oh, where is Christmas market? Is it open during the day or night only?

Telur17

Hi, Uniqlo heattech is a thermal wear or jacket? If it is a thermal wear, is it good for -10 degrees in New York?

I just got micro fibre thermal wear from a local winter wear shop, cost me $65 for a set of top/bottom...:eek:

Oh, where is Christmas market? Is it open during the day or night only?

Wah u kena cheated lah. Uniqlo has heattech for undies, top n some jackets. Their ultra light down is good for layering too. Dont think their top n long johns cost so much together.

Ny doesnt often fall into such cold temp bah. Unless u suay n meet polar vortex.

Got xmas markets in lots of places. Bryant park is my fav. Union sq is v big. Colombus circus is not bad n close to central park. Lic flea is indoors n can combine with visit to gantry state park for great views of manhatten.

y0nGsAn

I just want to see the falls?
I was there in late October b4 Halloween.
Maybe my 5 time there.
Friday and Sunday nite u get to see fireworks over the falls
I visited wineries and distillery. U get to hoot some limited product great whiskey. Food at a few wineries so good better than what u get in the tourist traps. Driving in the winery route there are much nice views even u not into wine culture learning is fun. Dec is harvest time for ginseng there is a farm there for u to hoot some great ginseng direct from the farm

I maybe there again next yr for ice wine festival. I was there yrs ago for that event in jan/feb. Much colder then.

B4 I have kids we stay at b&b. I recommend u doing so

HI,

Thanks all for your help and recommendation.

I am thinking of using the following for my niagara falls trip from New York.

3-Day Bus Tour to Washington D.C., Philadelphia, Niagara Falls (Night View), Watkins Glen & Howe Caverns from New York (Super Value Tour)

Do you think it is recommended? How realiable is tours4fun.com?

Any other advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

sam9959

patryn33

Niagara will not close because of weather, just frozen no water falling down. That's even better a rare sight!

To say Niagara Falls close is like Singapore river close because of weather. How to close Singapore river...hmmm

patryn33

HI,

Thanks all for your help and recommendation.

I am thinking of using the following for my niagara falls trip from New York.

3-Day Bus Tour to Washington D.C., Philadelphia, Niagara Falls (Night View), Watkins Glen & Howe Caverns from New York (Super Value Tour)

Do you think it is recommended? How realiable is tours4fun.com?

Any other advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

3 day tour hit DC, philly, niagara? Not my kinda tour.
From nyc take your own transport to philly and dc easy, it's easy to move around in these places.

Dc alone can stay like 3-5 days if u into museums, moreover they all free.

y0nGsAn

Niagara will not close because of weather, just frozen no water falling down. That's even better a rare sight!

What is the easiest way to travel to Nigara Falls from New York (I will be staying near Time Square).

I was thinking of getting the bus tour as there will be a tour guide. Is it recommended?

Thanks!

patryn33

What do u need tour guide for at Niagara Falls? That area is like orchard rd, u need guide? U walk down to the falls area and u pretty much done!
U can do behind the falls, there will be guide to go down. If u joint tour that guide will just hand u off to the other guide.

U can take Amtrak it's long but not affected by weather.
Will be a little walk from station to tourist attraction but not that far.
Tour bus usually visit usa side, u want to go Canada side.

If u don't drive or all wanna drink can go for such tour
http://www.tourniagarawineries.com

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.