USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

mooseolly

And TSMC manufactures Trainium chips using ASML machines. Seems like TSMC and ASML are the safer AI plays. Whether the AI capex results in profits for the capex spenders or not, TSMC and ASML still huat. No wonder TSMC (other than Saudi Aramco) is the only non-US trillion-dollar company.
TSM and ASML moat is godlike.

sumako

Sold out of Gatekeeper Systems (GSI on TSX, GKPRF on US OTC) on the lucky pop to 50-day EMA after analyst upgrade today. Short-term MAs and price all have crossed below 50-day EMA which violates my technical constraints, and high chance that it will not recapture 50-day MA while AI and neocloud stocks are all getting sold down.
did you buy back tsla? i brought back on 2-dec and 8-dec with cheat code.

stanlawj

did you buy back tsla? i brought back on 2-dec and 8-dec with cheat code.
I didn't. I not sure what is going on with TSLA and the US stocks, but looking back, now I can see that I'm too easily shaken off and jumping around too much between different stocks. But I think now the market is starting to believe in TSLA's autonomous taxi scaling up faster than Waymo, which was my original thesis.
@stanlawj I bought gold miner AEM :s12:
K92 Mining outperforming AEM. Sadly, I already let go long time ago and never bought back due to the insane volatility.

sumako

I didn't.

K92 Mining outperforming AEM. Sadly, I already let go long time ago and never bought back due to the insane volatility.
i brought NEM recently. trimed a lot last friday. now left a bit only. if want to buy metal, but doesnt want so much volatility can stalk PPLT, PALL, PLTM. Mentioned by clement. commodity is buy during pull back, cannot chiong breakout.

sumako

I didn't. I not sure what is going on with TSLA and the US stocks, but looking back, now I can see that I'm too easily shaken off and jumping around too much between different stocks. But I think now the market is starting to believe in TSLA's autonomous taxi scaling up faster than Waymo, which was my original thesis.

this choppy market, who doesnt get chop. i almost becomes slice fish soup for the market maker.

yslvlys

Haha can't win everything. All the 3 counters I bought AEM, AU and HMY all still in the green I happy liao~ I didn't buy K92 cos it's listed in TSX and I wasn't too keen to change CAD dollars😅

stanlawj

Good companies buy liao and hold as long as you can until you need to cash out. So far works for me. But I also itchy hand sometimes.
Yeah... actually I realised now, long-term investing gives great returns with minimum trading action on my part.

But the fundamental analysis must be good, otherwise you'll get shaken out of good stock or baghold bad stocks. All of them start as innocent good-looking stocks.

DevilPlate

Yeah... actually I realised now, long-term investing is great, but the fundamental analysis must be good, or you'll get shaken out of good stock, or baghold bad stocks. All of them start as innocent good-looking stocks.
This post will eventually leads to DCA Msci world index fund :ROFLMAO:

mooseolly

Yeah... actually I realised now, long-term investing is great, but the fundamental analysis must be good, or you'll get shaken out of good stock, or baghold bad stocks. All of them start as innocent good-looking stocks.
That’s why it is very important to do own research and calculate the intrinsic value on own. That way you will know what figures you have put in and can confidently hold the stocks if they fall below the intrinsic value.

In the long run stocks will almost certainly go back to their intrinsic value if their moat has not been deteriorated.

yslvlys

Good companies buy liao and hold as long as you can until you need to cash out. So far works for me. But I also itchy hand sometimes.
Must be very confident of own analysis to be very sure the good companies are really good companies. For me, I do some analysis but I think my analysis or view not 100% comprehensive and all knowing. So if price increase more than 100%, I will try to sell some.

elvintay07

not true. i have been DCA into global equities and the returns are decent over the last 8 years and with a lot less stress
I totally agree with this point. If parents start from children at age 1 and eventually children have the discipline to continue until age 60 till retirement, confirm huat big big.

(1) Most of the ppl will lose their pants. Parents rather buy useless toys, bring them to holiday and eventually invest in companies that lose money. I asked some friends whether they bought shares or etf for children. Most will reply no money but family can go Japan for holiday etc

(2) The other group I saw is some young folks that started working. I see them go 3-4 holidays a year to everyone and eat a meal that cost $15-20 every day. But they got no investment citing now money

(3) I have 1 classmate that everyday eat cai png and bring water bottle to drink. Knn! His stocks power. This include some of his mistakes in S shares and some companies,

I strongly believe what munger said. Staying in market and do nothing is sibei difficult. If today 1 person just put $200k in world index and get coma for 60 years and woke up, probably become tens of millions.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.