USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

twosix

Someday another brand or brands will pop out. I wont hold apparals for too long. Just look at giodarno, hang ten etc. Haha.

limster

Limster, can share why Nike shorts are so good? I want to try whether I can run my 21km faster when I change shorts. Currently I using the taobao $8-10 shorts.
I am not at the level where expensive shorts can make me run faster 😅 , on the other hand, many non-sponsored competitive athletes use NikePro apparel because they feel it can shave a few seconds off their 21km run.

For me they just seem to fit me better and theres no rubbing/chafing during long runs.

elvintay07

I am not at the level where expensive shorts can make me run faster 😅 , on the other hand, many non-sponsored competitive athletes use NikePro apparel because they feel it can shave a few seconds off their 21km run.

For me they just seem to fit me better and theres no rubbing/chafing during long runs.
For me, Nike is still a good business. We can argue got adidas, Nike, Asics, Hoka etc…But when I was in China, every Chinese is wearing Nike. At that time I wear Asics but most ppl think it is some cmi brand

For long term, I think apparel company not as attractive an investment. But short term ok. Just like Lululemon. I feel it is a crazy over price brand. But many ladies are wearing it and they really look good

d9_lives

Someday another brand or brands will pop out. I wont hold apparals for too long. Just look at giodarno, hang ten etc. Haha.
This pretty much applies to all, not just apparels and fashions.
Friendsters, Sony, Yahoo, Nokia, Toshiba, and probably Tesla later.
Then you've brands like McDonald, Ferrari, Hermes, Coca, Nike, and Rolex that have stood the test of time and competitions.

Nike spends billions for innovation and branding to stay relevant.
Giordano and Hangten? Not so much.

d9_lives

For me, Nike is still a good business. We can argue got adidas, Nike, Asics, Hoka etc…But when I was in China, every Chinese is wearing Nike. At that time I wear Asics but most ppl think it is some cmi brand

For long term, I think apparel company not as attractive an investment. But short term ok. Just like Lululemon. I feel it is a crazy over price brand. But many ladies are wearing it and they really look good
A local China brand, Bosideng offers ridiculously great quality apparels.
I swear Bosideng's quality is greater than TNF, CK and the likes. But people are not buying it.
It's the brand.

twosix

This pretty much applies to all, not just apparels and fashions.
Friendsters, Sony, Yahoo, Nokia, Toshiba, and probably Tesla later.
Then you've brands like McDonald, Ferrari, Hermes, Coca, Nike, and Rolex that have stood the test of time and competitions.

Nike spends billions for innovation and branding to stay relevant.
Giordano and Hangten? Not so much.
Yah, spend billions so what. Clothes are clothes. When one gets tired of it people moved on. Asics, adidas were also once super popular.

you r vested of course will say everything good. I'm not vested at all.

Anyway, there r so many counters out there. I wont be touching things that can go out of fashion in a wink.

limster

Ok. That's all that I need to know from you.
Those people that don't mingle with the health and fitness crowd won't understand, which is fine. Thats how one makes money in stocks, by having more knowledge than others :cool:

I think a significant % of the higher SES health and fitness crowd do exercise because they want to look good (or at least, not look overweight), and getting comfortable but good looking attire is probably high on the list. If you exercise 4,5 times a week, you are actually going through quite a bit of apparel, and for that crowd, Nike gear is often part of the rotation.

After say, a 10km run with friends, you change out of your Nike running gear, and put on some sporty Lulu gear (if you are female), because you want to tell people you just exercised without tellling them, then go for breakfast and chat with friends. So thats 2 sets of athleisure clothing for 1 day of exercise. 😅

Those kiasu people who run in carbon plated supershoes, after the run, may also change into a 2nd pair of shoes for breakfast.

twosix

Ok. That's all that I need to know from you.
uniqlo good enough for me.

thanks for spending 100s or even 1000s in clothings to support the economy. without people like u, we will go into recession very soon. haha.

and btw, the chart speaks for itself.

Screenshot-2024-08-17-133355.png

twosix

Those people that don't mingle with the health and fitness crowd won't understand, which is fine. Thats how one makes money in stocks, by having more knowledge than others :cool:

I think a significant % of the higher SES health and fitness crowd do exercise because they want to look good (or at least, not look overweight), and getting comfortable but good looking attire is probably high on the list. If you exercise 4,5 times a week, you are actually going through quite a bit of apparel, and for that crowd, Nike gear is often part of the rotation.

After say, a 10km run with friends, you change out of your Nike running gear, and put on some sporty Lulu gear (if you are female), because you want to tell people you just exercised without tellling them, then go for breakfast and chat with friends. So thats 2 sets of athleisure clothing for 1 day of exercise. 😅

Those kiasu people who run in carbon plated supershoes, after the run, may also change into a 2nd pair of shoes for breakfast.

i exercise a lot, but hor, i wear only uniqlo and decathlon. i have adidas but i wear very light and comfy decathlon shoes that cause less than $30 to run.

again, thanks for contributing to the economy.

d9_lives

thanks for spending 100s or even 1000s in clothings to support the economy. without people like u, we will go into recession very soon. haha.

You use this chart to support your argument about clothes are clothes?
Really bro?
Are you going to show us the current hot cake, lulu's chart too?
How about you check their annual revenue.

I'd suggest you to pick up any marketing book to learn about branding and consumer behaviours.

d9_lives

i exercise a lot, but hor, i wear only uniqlo and decathlon. i have adidas but i wear very light and comfy decathlon shoes that cause less than $30 to run.

But hor, you're not the representative of....I don't know, whatever.
Investors definitely don't look at you to get a conclusion about nike.

d5dude

There's a sinister reason for this US stock market rally. Skamala Harris need to look good for the next debate with Trrump.
If you stay doubtful and nervous, when market is crashed to make Trrrump look bad, you'll be nimble enough to get out early. Personally, I'm watching things like a hawk, never know when the ppl behind Skamala pulls the plug.

The market went up because you are bearish and short the market. I think my conspiracy theory sounds better than yours...

stanlawj

My current positions mostly red (or within margin of error of daily volatility) while market already zoomed up 10% to 20%, so no point sharing anything, I may drag you down with me.
Positions where? On paper? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
But if you interested in my past positions, check my last report in May 2024 here:
I'm contributing from trading perspective. Currently only 14% still invested while waiting for next opportunity. Account is six figures size (since the start). This is my liquid investible net worth, excluding emergency cash savings and CPF.

A lot of ups and downs but I finally got back to ATH again after 3 years.
Averaged annualized return since the start is 23% per year (low due to the big drop during 2022 crash and having to recover from it).

IBKR's TWR stats:

embed

embed

Regrets: I missed most of the uranium boat and the AI boat in 2023, due to being overly focused chasing a few rabbits that got me nowhere. For 2024, I caught the gold and silver boat.

I would like to comment about losing all the profits in 2022. It truly sucks. BABA was a major contributor.
Being forced to recover after that equally sucks. You can see the drawdowns were very tightly controlled after 2022 bottom.

yslvlys

Wow same here! Though for shoes I would go for branded sports brand.

yslvlys

I'm vested in Uniqlo a few weeks ago. Already up about more than 15%. Will see how it goes. 😁

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.