USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

elvintay07

The China-US trade war effect is already felt already lei. I was with wife at some popular hotpot which used to be so crowded. Then strangely today walked in and still go so many seats. Then I spoke to the manager and she said very bad lei. Everything increasing price and all tariff hoot here hoot there and they can’t increase price.

I told her chill la. China come out and say they 5,000 years history, can withstand all storm. How? Any bro feel the effect already?

DevilPlate

The China-US trade war effect is already felt already lei. I was with wife at some popular hotpot which used to be so crowded. Then strangely today walked in and still go so many seats. Then I spoke to the manager and she said very bad lei. Everything increasing price and all tariff hoot here hoot there and they can’t increase price.

I told her chill la. China come out and say they 5,000 years history, can withstand all storm. How? Any bro feel the effect already?
I went to Paya Lebar Sq new Scarlett branch….packed with people. :s13:

COE still rising…..Recession only in edmw :s13:

boringLife-

*******. I went guangzhou the exporters told me when they say economy is bad means last year they earn 5mil but this year only earn 3mil. Maybach and porsche continue to buy, moutai continue to drink but when meet people, complain to them that the economy is bad

wongdawson

Strangely one moment Loo said cannot buy, next moment he fired big bullets. Not sure what he talking lei. Flipped prata sibei fast
For the past 2 month he keep scolding Trump now say Trump is brilliant i keep suaning him in comments he already miss the start of the bull cycle. Now my BTC and crypto start pumping. The gobal M2 money supply already last month the altcoin seasons started huat all the way liao

elvintay07

For the past 2 month he keep scolding Trump now say Trump is brilliant i keep suaning him in comments he already miss the start of the bull cycle. Now my BTC and crypto start pumping. The gobal M2 money supply already last month the altcoin seasons started huat all the way liao
lol! Just weeks ago, he together with the providence gang all like painting a gloomy scenario. Heng like Adam Khoo always say ā€œwhen all say down, mean upā€. Simple as that because most ppl got it wrong. lol

DevilPlate

DevilPlate

BTC different animal liao
No tariff, No counterparty risk, No printing :s13:
Only scare ownself forget/lost pte keys then hong gan :s13:

wongdawson

BTC different animal liao
No tariff, No counterparty risk, No printing :s13:
Only scare ownself forget/lost pte keys then hong gan :s13:
i hold BTC in my cold wallet and hold MSTR as BTC leverage treasury equity had been keep buying the dip now in comfortable profit zone will hit 1638 by end July

stanlawj

According to this article, retail been buying and institution humchi leh
https://finance.yahoo.com/video/retail-investors-buying-dip-more-173719550.html

So i wouldn’t say ā€œmostā€ ppl got it wrong.
It's a repeat of Covid crash. Retail buys and institutions including Warren Buffett are out.
But, the thing is, retail overtrades and eventually loses alot of their gains to the big bank traders and market makers, while institutions tend to keep & compound their small gains over time and win over retail in the long run. (institutions also sometimes lose to big bank traders and market makers, but risk controls limit their losses)

The big banks also have another ace: they can do something that retail cannot do at scale: short-selling, securities lending for shorting
That's why when retails buys, big bank traders & market makers short or sell to take opposite their trades.
Goldman Sachs:

Why don't more retail investors become rich, and I've found the reason is inability to improve (i.e. always keep blindly using the same formula for all kinds of situation leading to big losses at some time in the future). Big banks fire their underperformers, leading to only the best stays. The moment the strategy doesn't work for a few quarters and the trader still doesn't improve, they're fired. For hedge funds that continue to underperform, they get a lot of redemptions and eventually close down. Retail don't fire themselves and are also more limited in their capital to short the market when it goes down.

The monkey's advice/takeaway here is this: book your profits when times are good (or TOO good), withdraw some as safety to keep them out of reach from your own greed in the future.
(for some people, it's called "rebalancing")

image.png

stanlawj

China's statement after meeting with US in Switzerland this weekend:
https://english.news.cn/20250511/8053acd500064830bfc3d0ffdbdb383f/c.html

Below is Grok AI's assessment which I already guessed to be the outcome (that's why I took profit on my silver futures long position before market closed):

Based on the Chinese statement from Xinhua on May 11, 2025, and the available context, there is no immediate de-escalation in tariffs confirmed from the US-China trade talks in Geneva. The statement does not mention any specific agreement to reduce or pause the existing tariffs (145% US tariffs on Chinese goods, 125% Chinese retaliatory tariffs). Instead, it highlights:
  • China’s demand for the US to lift tariffs, describing them as ā€œunfair and disruptive.ā€
  • ā€œPositive progressā€ and an agreement to establish a working group for ongoing dialogue, suggesting procedural steps rather than substantive tariff reductions.
  • A focus on continued communication, indicating future talks but no concrete tariff changes now.

J.P. Morgan’s Scenario Analysis on U.S.-China Trade Negotiations
[10%] - Derailment: Negotiations break down. ā€œAdditional tariffs imposed.ā€ (S&P 500 down 2.5%)
[40%] - Status Quo: No progress, but both sides ā€œagree to continue talks as a formality.ā€ (S&P 500 down 1.5%)
[35%] - Betterment: ā€œSome vague or provisional figures are suggested, but no agreement is reached; not even a broad consensus.ā€ (S&P 500 up 1%)
[15%] - Fairway (Best-case scenario): A secretly prearranged outcome. ā€œTariff hikes are halted or slashed to below 50.ā€ (S&P 500 up 3%)

Market down on Monday?

limster

https://www.theguardian.com/society...-may-be-good-for-mental-health-research-shows

Five studies found that they actually improved mental wellbeing and quality of life in people with schizophrenia spectrum disorders, major depressive disorder and bipolar effective disorder. For adults without mental illness, the weight loss injections had a greater beneficial effect on mental health than insulin and other antidiabetic drugs.

Lead author Dr Sigrid Breit, from the University of Bern, said: ā€œGLP-1 RAs [receptor agonists] may have antidepressant and anti-anxiety effects, potentially due to their anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidative properties, which can also help reduce neuroinflammation.ā€

NVO to the moon!

wongdawson

[10%] - Derailment: Negotiations break down. ā€œAdditional tariffs imposed.ā€ (S&P 500 down 2.5%)
[40%] - Status Quo: No progress, but both sides ā€œagree to continue talks as a formality.ā€ (S&P 500 down 1.5%)
[35%] - Betterment: ā€œSome vague or provisional figures are suggested, but no agreement is reached; not even a broad consensus.ā€ (S&P 500 up 1%)
[15%] - Fairway (Best-case scenario): A secretly prearranged outcome. ā€œTariff hikes are halted or slashed to below 50.ā€ (S&P 500 up 3%)

Market down on Monday?

Invest in S&P 500 is a waste of time based on historial data avg yearly +10-20% ROI. Only the MAG 7 is making money the rest low performance. I only stock picking already rebalance to AI, Robotics and crypto will create generational wealth coming future. Now US in transition from traditional financial system to digital asset just invest in BTC and stablecoins like ETH, SOL and XRP

DevilPlate

Market down on Monday?

Invest in S&P 500 is a waste of time based on historial data avg yearly +10-20% ROI. Only the MAG 7 is making money the rest low performance. I only stock picking already rebalance to AI, Robotics and crypto will create generational wealth coming future. Now US in transition from traditional financial system to digital asset just invest in BTC and stablecoins like ETH, SOL and XRP
Just Hodl BTC.
Trust me Bro

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.