USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

d5dude

All bros still a lot of bullets here. No crash. The next pullback if ever it happens will wipe out AI and tech by 40-50%

50% is a crash, not pullback. I agree theres just way too much cash out there, its hard to crash without a systemic crisis. I dun think a couple of regional banks writing off some bad loans to NDFIs is going to cause a systemic crisis, these regional banks are too small to matter, they are very easy to rescue anyway.

stanlawj

Gold miners with increasing revenue and op cash flow and reasonable P/S are really good investments during Trump era. They rise when market falls and when they fall they don't drop too much. They are also not that affected by erratic Trump behavior. Glad I invested in a few like AU, AEM and HMY recently when they pulled back slightly. They never pulled back to below my buying price so I didn't buy more. Help to Cushion some of my paper losses from other counters now.
I seriously regretted selling my miners to try to time the small pullback during Sept FOMC.
KNT went up like a rocket after I sold.
Major producers are now super cash cows with oil below $60 and record gold silver prices.

d5dude

Looks like the gold fever is not going to end anytime soon.
Time to use a small amount of kopi money and gamble on gold miner leveraged etf to fund for CNY children Ang Bao money

I think this move in gold is much nearer to the end than the beginning. Gold is a 30T asset and its still just a rock that produces zero income and has very few industrial applications. Most of its demand come from jewelry and I dun think people are going to go out to buy more jewelry when prices just went up by 30% in 2 months.

This vertical move is likely the work of speculators, GLD option volumes have 3X in a month, its trading like any other speculative meme stonk now.

sumako

I’m still on 100% firepower since last Friday. Execute risk management whenever there’s a big long disgusting red candle on QQQ, spx and spy. Respect and give face to this full red candle, the biggest and longest ever since 22-Apr.
This week has been very choppy, didn’t reach last week high. Bull won’t want to see today close below last Friday low.

yslvlys

I’m still on 100% firepower since last Friday. Execute risk management whenever there’s a big long disgusting red candle on QQQ, spx and spy. Respect and give face to this full red candle, the biggest and longest ever since 22-Apr.
This week has been very choppy, didn’t reach last week high. Bull won’t want to see today close below last Friday low.
100% firepower means what? Still have dry powder or all in liao?

elvintay07

A lot of times everyone think crash means no crash and everyone thinks no crash will suddenly crash. No one can tell. This kind of thing will come very sudden and extremely unexpected.

But I think there is too much m2 money around so I think won’t crash like 50-80% like dotcom. Likely will be like those 20-40% quick crash which freaks out a big group and then surge up again. Haha

Also could be AI crash 30% then “value investing stocks” up 50% like sector rotation.

mooseolly

A lot of times everyone think crash means no crash and everyone thinks no crash will suddenly crash. No one can tell. This kind of thing will come very sudden and extremely unexpected.

But I think there is too much m2 money around so I think won’t crash like 50-80% like dotcom. Likely will be like those 20-40% quick crash which freaks out a big group and then surge up again. Haha

Also could be AI crash 30% then “value investing stocks” up 50% like sector rotation.
Ya when everyone is expecting an AI bubble it means there is still has more runway until it burst.

stanlawj

closed my silver short a little too early pre-market... silver now confirming the start of mini-correction with a failed $54 breakout.

stanlawj

K-shaped economy.

American Express's high-income cardholders, typically earning $100,000 to $500,000 annually, form the core of its user base, driving the brand’s premium reputation. These affluent professionals, often with credit scores above 700, favor cards like the Platinum Card for their robust travel and lifestyle benefits. With average annual spending of $22,000–$24,000 per card—well above the industry’s $8,000—they leverage Amex’s rewards programs extensively, with 87% enrolled. This group’s financial stability and high spending power align with Amex’s focus on exclusive perks and elevated customer experiences.

AMEX earnings call:
https://www.investing.com/news/tran...-q3-2025-reports-strong-eps-beat-93CH-4294928

American Express Q3 2025 reports strong EPS beat​

• American Express reported robust third-quarter earnings, with earnings per share (EPS) reaching $4.14, surpassing the forecast of $3.99.
  • The company’s revenue also exceeded expectations, coming in at $18.43 billion against a forecast of $18.05 billion.
  • Following these results, American Express shares rose 3.67% in pre-market trading, reflecting positive investor sentiment.
  • The company also raised its full-year guidance, projecting 9-10% revenue growth and EPS between $15.20 and $15.50.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.