User Review: Vpost vs. Borderlinx

k0towari

Im not sure u r naive or ignorant .. All the freight industries uses volumetric weight including DHL, Fedex, etc. This is nothing new at all. You have to blame the merchant for packing in such a big box and not vpost. Blame yrself for the bad luck..

For yr second question, i guess this is the 1st time u uses vpost. You are still able to consolidate evn though the parcel has transited to Sin. You just dont generate the bill, wait for the next parcel to arrive, match and your bill will reflect consolidate parcels.

Pls check with the merchant is there any tracking nos. I have use vpost for many years. Though they are quite ex, some cock ups but overall they are quite reliable.

I think you need to get facts right before posting here to grumble and mislead others

Watever, to each his own. The fact is their shipping cost is expensive and my package had already reached its destination according to the tracking no but they didn't update me disallowing me to consolidate my package.

jazdrive

jazdrive, fine so I'm a noob at volumetric weight and forwarding services.

yea, today I called them again. Merchant sent out the package at the end of july. The tracking on JP Post stated the package as received on beginning of August. VPOST didn't update it as received until today when I called them to ask for the 2nd time. I'm forced to pay shipping twice without consolidation.

If you never used their service before please don't act like you did without understanding fully the circumstances and their service.

Sure, I won't use VPOST again. Just giving others a warning before they use vpost.

I didn't act, I have been using vpost and CGW on a regular basis, and your post was so misleading that it has to be put straight.

And if it's indeed vpost's fault in the delayed updating of your package that resulted in the failure to consolidate them, you should ask for the difference back, then stop using them as you had intended.

Ibodnano

i am going to use vpost to buy thinkpad from lenovo usa site

what should i put in firstnam field and lastname field, my vpostusa full name is like VPxxxx Aaaa Bbbb
and they also asked me what county is my vpostusa in?

jazdrive

i am going to use vpost to buy thinkpad from lenovo usa site

what should i put in firstnam field and lastname field, my vpostusa full name is like VPxxxx Aaaa Bbbb
and they also asked me what county is my vpostusa in?

First name and last name just put your own name. The important one is the suite number (VPXXXXXX), don't leave that out.

tekster

i've always have been happy with borderlinx services. never disappointed me.

Ibodnano

First name and last name just put your own name. The important one is the suite number (VPXXXXXX), don't leave that out.

so i just only need to type vpxxxx into address 2?

my vpostusa belongs to which county? ne sacremental road portland, oregon

will lenovo accept my dbs debit mastercard?

jazdrive

Ibodnano

Yes.

This I have no idea, never need to input the county before.

If they don't accept international cards, chances are they will reject your DBS debit card. No harm trying though.

i have tried lenovo checkout, they dont accept my dbs debit mastercard, do you think amazon will work? cant acccess to amazon payment today:( if not, i may consider vconcierge which costs 5 perceent of product cost for handling fee:(

jazdrive

i have tried lenovo checkout, they dont accept my dbs debit mastercard, do you think amazon will work? cant acccess to amazon payment today:( if not, i may consider vconcierge which costs 5 perceent of product cost for handling fee:(

Amazon payments will work because international cards are accepted.

Aetherion

Anyone bought something from Best Buy recently using Borderlinx?
Want to know if Borderlinx is blacklisted by Best Buy.

ambertan

What is the maximum total cost (in USD) of your purchased items (including miscellaneous fees such as tax and shipping) without incurring GST when it reaches SG?

ImThou

What is the maximum total cost (in USD) of your purchased items (including miscellaneous fees such as tax and shipping) without incurring GST when it reaches SG?

They will convert whatever currrency the item was purchased in to SGD via their conversion rate. If the amt >=SGD400, the buyer will incur GST.

starbugs

I would seriously recommend that people stop using Borderlinx. They are very stubborn in not allowing repacking (to protect their profits).

Now, both CGW and Vpost offer repackaging.

If you have kena before huge shipping boxes from merchants for small items, you would know what I mean by getting "slaughtered" by the forwarding charges. At least CGW and Vpost can offer to repack. Not Borderlinx.

brewerkz

Bad experience with VPOST

I have been trying to avoid using VPOST but sometimes, really no choice cos the vendor does not do international delivery. Here's my latest:

3 Items:
Volmetric Weight : 1.4 kg Actual Weight : 1.0 kg
Volmetric Weight : 1.3 kg Actual Weight : 0.6 kg
Volmetric Weight : 1.4 kg Actual Weight : 0.5 kg

Value and actual delivery cost as shown here:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Best part:
1. They revamped their website, and missed out certain instructions. Under the option of VPOST declaring your goods on your behalf, there is no instructions as to where one should upload the invoice to.
2. Call up 1605 and the CSR does not know how to respond to me when I asked where is the URL/email address where we are supposed to submit the invoice. Insisted that it's there on the website, and that I should look again. Finally she put me on hold, then came back to apologise to say that yeah, the instruction is really missing.
3. I asked them if they are going to repack it for me, but they couldn't answer me. Just kept telling me that the invoice will be generated and that I can just follow the instructions there. So I really don't know if my 3 shipments are going to be repacked, though from the looks of it, I don't think so..
4. Called up 1605 and asked why is it that the shipping cost is almost the cost of my goods. And told the CSR politely that I won't use their services anymore. The CSR responded with, "Erm, okay."

So I am going to delete my VPOST account once I receive this shipment. Cannot tahan liew. Lol

jazdrive

I have been trying to avoid using VPOST but sometimes, really no choice cos the vendor does not do international delivery. Here's my latest:

3 Items:
Volmetric Weight : 1.4 kg Actual Weight : 1.0 kg
Volmetric Weight : 1.3 kg Actual Weight : 0.6 kg
Volmetric Weight : 1.4 kg Actual Weight : 0.5 kg

Value and actual delivery cost as shown here:

3. I asked them if they are going to repack it for me, but they couldn't answer me. Just kept telling me that the invoice will be generated and that I can just follow the instructions there. So I really don't know if my 3 shipments are going to be repacked, though from the looks of it, I don't think so..

Repacking is only available when the difference between the actual weight and volumetric weight is >3kg. So in your case, no repacking.

8ahpeng8

I just ordered a monopod from Amazon, using VpostUSA. The product has reached VpostUSA, actual weight 1.91 kg, volumetric weight 15kg, was charged S$141 for shipping charges..

The shipping charges are too high... Can I return the item to Amazon from the VpostUSA address?

correctscore2011

Borderlinx:

Invoice description (1 x mens shoes,1 x mens shoes)
Date 21-Dec-2011
Shipped weight 8.72 kg (volumetric) - actual weight: 2.3kg
Duty USD 0.00 SGD 0.00
Tax USD 0.00 SGD 0.00
Shipping charges USD 59.52 SGD 77.04
Discount amount -USD 11.90 -SGD 15.40
Fuel surcharge USD 8.33 SGD 10.78
Total charges USD 55.95 SGD 72.42

My shoes cost 163usd, shipping charge is 55.95usd, which i was expecting 20usd max.

guess if its possible to arrange the retailer to pack the items as snug fit as possible into smallest package, that would help!!!!

correctscore2011

Borderlinx:

Invoice description (1 x mens shoes,1 x mens shoes)
Date 21-Dec-2011
Shipped weight 8.72 kg (volumetric) - actual weight: 2.3kg
Duty USD 0.00 SGD 0.00
Tax USD 0.00 SGD 0.00
Shipping charges USD 59.52 SGD 77.04
Discount amount -USD 11.90 -SGD 15.40
Fuel surcharge USD 8.33 SGD 10.78
Total charges USD 55.95 SGD 72.42

My shoes cost 163usd, shipping charge is 55.95usd, which i was expecting 20usd max.

guess if its possible to arrange the retailer to pack the items as snug fit as possible into smallest package, that would help!!!!

shipping for borderlinx is stable and fast... im expecting the package today at my office!! online chat with borderlinx staff was prompt too

correctscore2011

jusr received all three package... request to ship on 23rd, jsut arrived at my desk. 3 huge boxes with air... volumetric charge sucks!!!!

Z2user

My Vpost story
in a rut with Vpost shipments

Bought some toys from Amazon for my kids Dec 9. Items eventually reached Sacramento Vpost /shipper on Dec 12. I then discovered Amazon had used really bulky box and Vpost was looking to charge

1. $195 for something 24.4 x 7.3 x 10.6 inches ; 6.8 pounds/9 pounds shipping weight(AMAZON info)
VPOST =Volmetric Weight : 20.6 kg Actual Weight : 4.9 kg

2. $117 for something 5.1 x 5.9 x 25.8 inches ; 2 pounds/ 2.3 pounds shipping weight
VPOST= Volmetric Weight : 13.1 kg Actual Weight : 2.1 kg

Nightmare starts with my first call to their 1605 call centre. Explaining the situation sniping screenshots to their team and requesting a call back paid little returns...actuall NO return..they even asked me to email them details....emails to Vpost...dun expect acknowledgement or replies

Days later i had to call back only to the issue was stuck at re measurement ....really mad because they claim they will do a repack when volumteric weight and package weight are more than 3 kg...well based on my packages its WAY above 3kg diff

Days later after struggles with getting a call centre agent...i finally escalate to a "manager" there...amazing...she goes tells me honestly that there has been response delays from the US office so all request for repack etc NOT done

I am really mad but hold my cool since its now Dec 23th but inform her to get back to me by Dec 28th to get a solution ....by the way i send them more emails on Amazon details and the fact that Amazon can ship internationally for US$36..only reason i used them was one of the items could not ship internationally so thot why not have both shipped by vpost..worst mistake

Its Dec 29th you guessed it Vpost did not retun call...matter has not moved with US office...you see despite very very clear packaging issue...Vpost cannot seem to get their US office to repack!! WTF!! why advertise this if you cannot do it??!!!

Quote "Repacking Service
We repackage items with more than 3kg difference between their actual and volumetric weight to help you enjoy more savings4."

4 Only for packages from the USA.

I called their call centre 3 times to day to get my update...what a way to spend my day off.

It's now been 20days since i paid Amazon and this nightmare started with Vpost

I managed to speak to another manger who informed me that US (last update same) took photos of the packaging and it was obvious my shipments were large...back to point one...open the pack and REPACK!!!

Also she told me since the 20/30% discount on the shipment offered to me was not enough...they now escalated it to their management!!!

Vpost/Singpost has a nameless faceless management....their website has no corporate numbers...try to get a number different from 1605 from their call centre you won't (except for the 8 digit alternate 1605 line)

Emails are not acknowledged, phones calls not returned..looks like their call centre is the face of Vpost...all the managers...bosses are not even contactable or reachable...the highest you can escalate to is the call centre manager who can only offer a 30% discount for all the conflicts!!

Truly truly poor service for a listed company

I am truly shocked and disappointed....the company seems to have no issues with this approach given the time this has taken to look into...even worse teh communications between their US office and local one is similar to the experience of calling/emailing them....DISAPPOINTING and non-existent at times

Not sure how this nightmare ends...i probably have to return the goods...it's a shame as i already paid shipping charges for one of the items...i will have to pay shipping for both the items...

all the money i was suppose to save has gone onto the pockets of the shippers...and made me just frustrated !!

No experience with Tarazz, BL etc but the experience with the only LISTED on the stock exchange company here is just shocking...customer service follow up , communications just a huge let down

will update the saga as it unravels.fingers crossed

btw, my 2 boys were very sad not receiving their dream xmas presents

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.