Very touched. End of china trip

testerjp

Already told you liao. China and India people very hospitable. ASEAN people also very warm. Singaporeans are the worst of the lot. Cold and unfriendly, everything very selfish, arrogant, and entitled and little little bit complain here and there totally no warmth.

You should visit India someday. Like if your Indian colleague get married you should go and enjoy the nice culture and people there. I attended two weddings before - Calcutta and Chennai (one is a CISCO engineer when I was working in a bank and another one was an ex-colleague when I was working in NCS) - now after many years I am still in contact with them although we are all lao funkers liao.
If you go London, the people are very cold too, the more North and ulu you go, the warmer the people though the colder the weather.

Urban dwellers live on different values.

Singaporeans are not the worst.
You can see the same in HK, Tokyo and many competitive main cities, especially in East Asia.

The nicest people I've ever met in my life were indeed from China, in the inner most rural mountainous area.
Did not give them angbao at all, but in my group there's this old lady they knew long ago.
They were genuinely so happy and inviting to see us.
They wanted to treat us to this meal which cost RMB500+ which is obviously very expensive to them. They are farmers who don't earn much, probably RMB 2000+ per month.

Even if you go to Malaysia, the hospitality provided by most service staff is different.
People living in cities have their values eroded by the society

EDMW-Hates-Me

Money usually is parents give elders.

TS' parents will definitely give hongbaos to some elders. It's not much, and try not to fret over these little things. One table of food is not very expensive in a county-level restaurant. If host knows the eatery/restaurant boss, it will even be cheaper. Anyway, you go anywhere this type of EQ (人情世故) always must have, just follow the culture of the place. Normally the person who pays for the welcoming or CNY banquet is usually your parents' generation relative or their son who has made some money in the big cities. All these already have mutual understanding. You don't go and offer to give him the meal money after he has paid for the banquet. They considered it very rude because they take it as not giving them 面子. Thus when your China friend or client gives you a treat, just sit down and eat, that's it. At most you give them a pack of good cigarettes (buy when you touch down at the airport). You can also buy a bottle of good wine at the airport and at the restaurant tell the waitress to open put it on the table. Then everybody can enjoy. You yourself don't drink too much, it is very very strong liquor. They can tank it but we are tropical people we can't drink like them.

So all these table culture must know. When you offer to pour liquor, always pour the boss or the client company boss first or if it is a family banquet like TS' pour the grandparents' generation first, NOT pour for your wife first or the person sitting beside you first. Actually these are common sense which many Singaporeans lack.
Usually need to fight to pay for the meal and reject angpao / gifts. Scold each other 神经病,throw angpao to each other... But all wayang lah, usually already got social rules who should persist till the end.

Kanko San

uh.. actually .. this type of behaviour is common in most countries.

You go malaysia to the town of your wife relative, they will also bring you around and host you in their house (if you want).
You go korea/japan/taiwan , your friends (classmates from last time) will also bring you around their place (at least will take 1 day to acompany you or to meet you up for dinner/lunch etc).

it's just we 不会做人。
Young Sinkies.. don't know manners

tanminghui1

Already said i never bao anyone ang bao except for elderly.

Some edmwers cannot accept the fact. I experience it myself. Then edmwers will say how is it possible. I don't want it to be possible

trailvinzyl

Visited relatives. Here the people really care about you and make sure you really enjoy. They care about one another. Got a law firm partner who drive me all around and very nice to me. Treated me to super grand food like those 25 seaters where food like lobster and fish keep coming in. I lost count of number of food. Last night they put a lot of firecrackers to celebrate my return. Many are not rich but they really tried to do their best.

Like today I wanted to go fz airport for flight. I told them I didi over. They say lots of relatives fight over to send me go airport. Tell me must not didi

I kana this kind of hospitality really grateful. I already think next time they come sg I will set aside 10k sgd to host then back. Maybe take them to malaysia or cruise or something. They coming soon.

Really make me think of sg relatives. A lot real selfish and care for their own. Very big difference. Not sure about your relatives but my sg relatives really care for themself. Like I ask my close friend he also say sg relatives care for themselves and look down on him. I pure sinkie. Did ns. Parents sinkie. Don't tell me go back china hor
Can get happy ending there?

tExtra

Not all Sinkies are giam siap. Many not-so-well-to-do are actually generous. Graduates / richer folks / PR from MY on the other hand…

Mebeater

好客is one thing. More importantly they expect you to do the same if not more when it's their turn to visit.

tanminghui1

Like my papa say. The people here are more united. Like everyone fight to send me back to airport.

In singapore when you want find some help everyone push. At least that for my family

TopGun

Bro, it's competition on the quality of hospitality you received.

Of course you can't Didi to the airport yourself. That would have be a collosal lost of face!

tanminghui1

I give another example. My not so close relatives have a scholarship. He want find someone to sign bond for him. When he find me I agreed. He shared with me he find lots of relatives but all reject him. Don't remember the bond amount. I think 50k

dambio

I have been to china couple of times. Sorry to say but what you have experienced is normal. It is their nature to impress their guests. It is the same reason why the Japanese are so well mannered in the front, but will still stab you in the back when you have it turned. You can label me narcissistic, but one fine day you will come back here, read this and say damn you're right.
Their hospitality is on d surface Oni. There's always a catch somewhere. They r more money faced than us. N Oni think of benefits.

Jeremy1

A lot of foreigners telling me Singaporeans lack of 人情味 :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.