Vietnam

lestervan

Hi, I will be heading to HCM next week. My dad told me that his colleague brought back some Freeze Dried Lotus Seeds from VIetnam and they tasted pretty good.

He also said must make sure not to mix up with raw lotus seeds.. Must be the cooked or roasted ones..

Anyone knows abt the Freeze Dried Lotus Seeds?

Thanks

Is it the Dried Lotus Seeds to do sweet soup? Cannot eat raw right? Anyway, it can be found in supermarket or Ben Thanh market with Vietnamese name "Hat sen kho^"

anyone noes how long it takes for the travelling for HCM > Halong Bay > Hanoi?

Can be via Bus or Train.. (but how the heck am i going to buy the tickets?)

not considering internal flights.. cos i don't wanna miss the scenery..

anyone?????

Think you have to go HCM > Hanoi > Halong Bay > Hanoi. From HCM, bus takes around 3 days while train takes around 2 days. Going by bus, you can buy ticket from Eastern Bus Station (go taxi and ask them to go there lah). Going by train, buy ticket from Train Station (only one train station in HCM or Hanoi).

That's from HCM to Hanoi. from Hanoi to Halong bay, suggest taking tour so they can plan for you, usually going by bus.

Ok this seems dumb but my friend jio me to HCM in april cos he has to do something for 5-6 days there but I have stuff to do the 1st 2 days.

So if l join him is only for 3 days. Worth to go anot? I don't want to spend since is quite unplanned. Also for only 2-3 days enough for light trip? He claims total will cost me less then go KL, true?

Jetstar has offer now $28 so I really thinking over properly.

for 3 days I think you just can go ard HCM, Cu Chi tunnel. should be ok. I dun think total cost less then going KL. suppose you get jetstar offer $28, total flight cost is about $250 already (both way plus tax). at least $100 for staying, shopping, going around. totally at least $350.

IMO, better you go HCM on a planned trip and more time, you can go other place and enjoy more.

miao2

Hi, I will be heading to HCM next week. My dad told me that his colleague brought back some Freeze Dried Lotus Seeds from VIetnam and they tasted pretty good.

He also said must make sure not to mix up with raw lotus seeds.. Must be the cooked or roasted ones..

Anyone knows abt the Freeze Dried Lotus Seeds?

Thanks

i think u are after the dried Lotus seeds. they can be eaten just like a snack. U can get it at Ben Thahn market. it is about 30,000 dong per kg. u can get it at stores that sell coffee. if at ben thahn market, it is at the row where there is fruits stall and coffee stall.

Techadd

Ok this seems dumb but my friend jio me to HCM in april cos he has to do something for 5-6 days there but I have stuff to do the 1st 2 days.

So if l join him is only for 3 days. Worth to go anot? I don't want to spend since is quite unplanned. Also for only 2-3 days enough for light trip? He claims total will cost me less then go KL, true?

Jetstar has offer now $28 so I really thinking over properly.

Adding Tax and the Costs of accomodation in Saigon, i'm not sure if its cheaper than KL (unless u opt for one star or 2 star accomodation), take note Saigon Hotels in April are still pretty expensive..compared to the month of June..

vintheman

Think you have to go HCM > Hanoi > Halong Bay > Hanoi. From HCM, bus takes around 3 days while train takes around 2 days. Going by bus, you can buy ticket from Eastern Bus Station (go taxi and ask them to go there lah). Going by train, buy ticket from Train Station (only one train station in HCM or Hanoi).

That's from HCM to Hanoi. from Hanoi to Halong bay, suggest taking tour so they can plan for you, usually going by bus.

Thanks bro! wau.. like that will spend 50% of my time travelling sia... going for a 6 days trip... any suggestions on my iternary? think hanoi should be out then.. =(

lestervan

Thanks bro! wau.. like that will spend 50% of my time travelling sia... going for a 6 days trip... any suggestions on my iternary? think hanoi should be out then.. =(

I think 6 days is not enough for your plan also. whats ur flight tickets like? fly from sg to hcm then fly back from hanoi? or fly back to sg from hcm?

Bearded Oiran

for 3 days I think you just can go ard HCM, Cu Chi tunnel. should be ok. I dun think total cost less then going KL. suppose you get jetstar offer $28, total flight cost is about $250 already (both way plus tax). at least $100 for staying, shopping, going around. totally at least $350.

IMO, better you go HCM on a planned trip and more time, you can go other place and enjoy more.

Adding Tax and the Costs of accomodation in Saigon, i'm not sure if its cheaper than KL (unless u opt for one star or 2 star accomodation), take note Saigon Hotels in April are still pretty expensive..compared to the month of June..

Yeah I prefer something more planned too. Shall see how.

Thanks guys for the replies. :D

wintermute

wow, this is a nice thread and great resource for travelers to vietnam :D

i plan to go to vietnam too, about late april or early may. also plan to go to siem reap (cambodia) also. is that too packed for 10 days?

planned itinerary:

day 1: singapore to ho chi minh
day 2: ho chi minh
day 3: ho chi minh to hanoi (flight?)
day 4-5: hanoi
day 6: halong bay, then back to hanoi
day 7: hanoi to siem reap (flight)
day 8-9: angkor wat
day 10: return to singapore

my key concern is how to book the flights. hcm to hanoi and hanoi to siem reap. can book vietnam air from internet?

actually, i would like to spend a little time in central vietnam (hoi an / da nang area), but seems lack of time. is it feasible to squeeze in? maybe instead of flying from hcm to hanoi, take overnight train from hcm to da nang, spend a day around there, then take overnight train from da nang to hanoi?

appreciate any advice :D

lestervan

its quite packed but not a problem I think, as long as u r healthy enough hehe. if u wanna visit central vietnam, I think 10 days not enough liao. train from hcm to danang takes nearly one day already. it will be very tired I think.

maybe you take train from hcm to hanoi? 1 day plus but it is more interesting.

hanoi to siem reap, not very sure which airlines. vietnam air dun have internet booking (correct me if I wrong), I often book vietnam air from this agent, got a sweet vietnamese lady there, hehe
http://www.sunnyholidays.com.sg/

Techadd

wow, this is a nice thread and great resource for travelers to vietnam :D

i plan to go to vietnam too, about late april or early may. also plan to go to siem reap (cambodia) also. is that too packed for 10 days?

planned itinerary:

day 1: singapore to ho chi minh
day 2: ho chi minh
day 3: ho chi minh to hanoi (flight?)
day 4-5: hanoi
day 6: halong bay, then back to hanoi
day 7: hanoi to siem reap (flight)
day 8-9: angkor wat
day 10: return to singapore

my key concern is how to book the flights. hcm to hanoi and hanoi to siem reap. can book vietnam air from internet?

actually, i would like to spend a little time in central vietnam (hoi an / da nang area), but seems lack of time. is it feasible to squeeze in? maybe instead of flying from hcm to hanoi, take overnight train from hcm to da nang, spend a day around there, then take overnight train from da nang to hanoi?

appreciate any advice :D

You can try and ask ticketing agent in Singapore how much would it costs for a round trip by

1) Vietnam Airlines - Singapore -> Saigon -> Hanoi -> Siem Reap - >Hanoi (Transit) -> Singapore

2) Pacific Airlines - Singapore -> Saigon -> Hanoi -> Siem Reap - >Hanoi (Transit) -> Singapore

unless you are travelling by other airlines.. , u can book pacific airlines online

wintermute

hey lestervan and Techadd, thanks for the replies.

on second thoughts, my friend and i decided not to do angkor wat this time. instead, it's hcm -> da nang -> hanoi. logistics should be a little easier :s22:

will check out sunny holidays and pacific airlines online site

Opps-gal

In Vietnam, any recommendation on which place to go for shopping and the weather is not too hot?

lestervan

think Hanoi is suitable for you, its chiller than HCM. around 22-27oC, shopping place in Hanoi, not very sure.

tangal

Vietnam Trip

hi,

am planning for a trip abt 7days

Fri 8+am Arrive HCM
Thur 9+pm Leave from Hanoi

Anyone can advise if we (grp of 4-5gals)
-should book full land package first (will solve all logistics/hotel issue) or
-juz agar where we wan to go, book hotel only.. find the transport as we move around
-don do anytink, just go there and whack?

We plan to cover HCM and Hanoi city Tour, sapa and the boat hotel (ha lang bay??)

Thanks!

Techadd

hi,

am planning for a trip abt 7days

Fri 8+am Arrive HCM
Thur 9+pm Leave from Hanoi

Anyone can advise if we (grp of 4-5gals)
-should book full land package first (will solve all logistics/hotel issue) or
-juz agar where we wan to go, book hotel only.. find the transport as we move around
-don do anytink, just go there and whack?

We plan to cover HCM and Hanoi city Tour, sapa and the boat hotel (ha lang bay??)

Thanks!

you could just opt for hotel accomodation arrangments and then join an open tour group when you're in saigon & hanoi, its cheaper compared to private tour ;).

however if you're doing a hanoi-halong-sapa-saigon in a 7days itinerary, i'm afraid it can be quite a rush..probably leaving you with little time for shopping..:D

doink24

Hi guys, any stayed @ Hai Long 2 hotel b4? looking for budget hotels for 4 guys...lol...then wonder when jetstar will have promo cause flying in june...

vintheman

Saw that it's the monsoon in MAY!!!:eek: die alr.. i'd booked my tickets in end may.. can anyone confirm whether would it be wet wet over at HCM - Hoian area then?

Techadd

Saw that it's the monsoon in MAY!!!:eek: die alr.. i'd booked my tickets in end may.. can anyone confirm whether would it be wet wet over at HCM - Hoian area then?

erm.. end of may is the start of the monsoon season...it should be kinda wet wet..during the period you visit..

kemsheong

Hi guys, any stayed @ Hai Long 2 hotel b4? looking for budget hotels for 4 guys...lol...then wonder when jetstar will have promo cause flying in june...

If you don't mind australian (ah mo), you can try this http://www.hanoibackpackershostel.com/

You can email them and ask them if they have the 4beds/dorm available. the beds are double deck and cost around US$7.50 (check web for actual price).

Although it is a backpacker hostel, the cleanness and quality of the room is given 3.5star (from me:D). Confirm + Chop : GOOD ..but don't compare with 4star hotel.

You can even ask the people at hostel to pick you up at a small amount of $ from airport.

Just a reminder, Hanoi has nothing much to shop. It is a very down-to-earth kind of place but you will enjoy their friendliness if you can get use to it :D

Correct me if i am wrong. :D

YelloGorilla

Just came back from my Hanoi-Sapa-Halong Bay-Cat Ba-HCMC trip. Total of 10 days with a couple of days at HCMC for R & R and shopping before hitting back home. Overall quite hectic with the travelling consisting domestic flights, trains, long bus rides. Some pics taken to share.
(Limited, so post Sapa only)
Sapa
2407422556_b5d30bdb59_b.jpg

2406621301_85ce1946fd.jpg

2407455562_7e556ce768.jpg

2406619871_6f1f218f95.jpg

bslim67

Hi ,

I am thinking of going HCM free n easy. But just to check if there will be any communication problem.

Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.