Vietnam

suangern

Cam On.. self learning now.. the phonetics is killing me..
it is recommended to have a vietnamese person to teach initially build foundation, then slowly self learn, because 60% of vietnamese language comes from chinese, it is quite easy to learn assume you know chinese liao... following are good examples...

970517_10151917935017573_1297246756_n.jpg

Viet: Công Ty Điện Lực
Chinese: 电力公司

483080_10151503800547573_478725727_n.jpg

Viet: Tổng Lãnh Sự Quán
Chinese: 总领事馆

mdtl.jpg

Viet: kỳ quan thiên nhiên
Chinese: 天然奇观

Luffy Pirate King

Hi, will be going to vietnam during Mar for a 4d3n FnE tour.
Still deciding Hanoi or HCM.

Prefer exploring then shopping. Can advise how should i plan my itinerary?

For hotel wise, which 4-5stars one is recommended either Hanoi and HCM?

eagletay

Hanoi is for exploring.

Hanoi is like bejing,
HCM is like shanghai

butterbarter

If you prefer exploring, then Hanoi is probably a better bet. If you have time and want to see some scenery away from the noise and bustle of Hanoi, you can take a day trip to Hoa Lu and Tam Coc (aka Halung On Land) in Ninh Binh, which is a great way to spend a day amidst beautiful limestone karsts rising out of a river/lake. Many tour agencies offer this.

In Hanoi, the nicest 5 star hotel is the Intercontinental, which sits on a lake. Ask for a room on the lake itself. Very nice esp in the night when the paths are lit up.

The nearby Sheraton is not as nice.

It's quite near HCM's mausaleum, and about 10 mins taxi ride away from the Old Quarter.

Luffy Pirate King

If you prefer exploring, then Hanoi is probably a better bet. If you have time and want to see some scenery away from the noise and bustle of Hanoi, you can take a day trip to Hoa Lu and Tam Coc (aka Halung On Land) in Ninh Binh, which is a great way to spend a day amidst beautiful limestone karsts rising out of a river/lake. Many tour agencies offer this.

In Hanoi, the nicest 5 star hotel is the Intercontinental, which sits on a lake. Ask for a room on the lake itself. Very nice esp in the night when the paths are lit up.

The nearby Sheraton is not as nice.

It's quite near HCM's mausaleum, and about 10 mins taxi ride away from the Old Quarter.

After much considering, as 4d3n is not very long for a short trip, decided to go for agency tour packages provided in SG.

Am i right to say if the package includes Ninh Binh, i can see the limestone thingy?

Btw, say if im getting tour package, which one should i chose in terms of places to visit is then consider the bang for buck package?:)

Charlie_Zhang

After much considering, as 4d3n is not very long for a short trip, decided to go for agency tour packages provided in SG.

Am i right to say if the package includes Ninh Binh, i can see the limestone thingy?

Btw, say if im getting tour package, which one should i chose in terms of places to visit is then consider the bang for buck package?:)
I planned a 5d/4n tour to hanoi (2days)...Sapa (2days).... Halong bay (1day). Flying off end feb 2014....

butterbarter

Choosing a package that is "bang for buck" is usually not a good idea. Visiting as many places as possible usually means rushing from place to place with no time to relax or wonder around.

I think it's usually better to visit fewer places and see things leisurely than to rush like a lunatic, be exhausted at the end of your trip, and yet see next to nothing.

If you only have 4 days (more likely 2 full days + 2 half days), I suggest spending 1 full day for Ninh Binh/Tam Coc, and the rest of the time in Hanoi itself. Just google for the attractions in Hanoi.

Luffy Pirate King

Need some advise.

Friend recommended AVA saigon hotel in HCMC in district 1, for convenience and easy access to most general area. Other choices is Le duy, or Elios, or 4*s is Golden central or Eden? Anyone stay in these hotel before?

By the way, is it cheaper to book land tour locally or it is much cheaper to book it in Vietnam itself? Travelling in a group of 8 pax here.

excalibur324

Need some advise.

Friend recommended AVA saigon hotel in HCMC in district 1, for convenience and easy access to most general area. Other choices is Le duy, or Elios, or 4*s is Golden central or Eden? Anyone stay in these hotel before?

By the way, is it cheaper to book land tour locally or it is much cheaper to book it in Vietnam itself? Travelling in a group of 8 pax here.
book locally

excalibur324

Thru the hotels we staying or some vietnam land tour agency?

Btw, airport to district 1, ideal traveling with cab?or?
generally hotels slightly more mark up than the local tour agencies.

go to pham ngu lao/bui vien street u will see alot of agencies.

bus is the cheapest. but since u 8 pax, for convenience u cab lor.

Topaz8

Hi

Like to know if it make sense to travel into HCM or Hanoi during Tet 30-4 feb for R&R? Will it be a dead town?

Any advice appreciated.
Cheers

suangern

Hi

Like to know if it make sense to travel into HCM or Hanoi during Tet 30-4 feb for R&R? Will it be a dead town?

Any advice appreciated.
Cheers
yes, quite quiet, many people balik kampung to celebrate new year... :s12:

beanstalk6

Not sure how dead the cities will be, since the Vietnamese do celebrate the Lunar New Year (Tet) as a major festival.

Topaz8

I guess as much. Thanks for the replies bros!

I though i check as i wasnt sure if the major cities like HCM & Hanoi will shut down <10% exc Int Hotels during Tet.

Some place in HK, Shanghai & Beijing will at least be 30-50% operational.

d3fc0n

going for 4d3n in may to HCMC with gf... first time to vietnam

which hotel most convenient? nice and not too expensive?

what can i do there for 4d3n ah?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.