Vietnam

Benjamin91

don't go district 1...tourist place sure tio chop one.
try going other districts...e.g. i went one place in district 10, eat 2 meat 1 veg + soup + avocado smoothie only for 2 persons only 72000 VND

audiovideo

ok ... but district 10 got any attraction to spend the day/night?
or meal in D10 plus taxi fare to D1 walk walk still cheaper than meal alone in D1?

the 980000 fried rice is at night market, something like our chinatown 美食街
should expect the markup :o

audiovideo

those who plan to stay at D1 Sunflower Ben Thanh hotel, the deluxe double room is rather small. Because they focus on the bathroom :s13:. very nice tap, rainforest shower and bath tub, but rest of the room only left with walkway barely 2-4ft around the bed, and the window and "city view" is have like no have :(

ABuNeNe

Any casino in vietnam that give free hotel rooms if you are a member like genting?

Want to explore new places.

suangern

Any casino in vietnam that give free hotel rooms if you are a member like genting?

Want to explore new places.
vietnam only got one ho tram grand casino, recently opened near vung tau.

The rest of the casinos are at cambodian border, moc bai/bavet (2 hours from HCMC) and ha tien that side.

suangern

I don't quite like their bbq seafood, always kana the raw taste
but prawns in other food like fried rice, wantan noodle all ok

went to their chicken rice shop to try their chicken rice (东源茶室),55000VND (S$3.20) a plate with only very few pieces of meat :eek: ... my lotus soup is 50000VND

ate fried rice at night market, price 98000vnd a plate .. that's almost S$6

I find the cost of living in hcmc rather high, matching ours in most area.
if the avg worker earn S$200-300 a month ... that's unbelievable
the avg people eat at home, or the most will eat 15.000 to 25.000 per meal only.

veryred

guys, need some advice.
I been to HCMC a couple years back with my then boyfriend, really love that place.
Want to visit again in dec but no kaki, safe to go alone for a girl? I mean obiously i will practise the necessary precautions, no going out too late at night etc.

dleodleo

I'm planning a trip to Hanoi.

I did some research and found that the 2D1N Halong bay and the train to Sapa is not cheap.

For those who have been to these 2 places, where did you book and how much did you pay?

Thanks.

beast78

guys, need some advice.
I been to HCMC a couple years back with my then boyfriend, really love that place.
Want to visit again in dec but no kaki, safe to go alone for a girl? I mean obiously i will practise the necessary precautions, no going out too late at night etc.

I think if you stay mostly within the touristy District 1 (other than go for day tours), should be quite safe.

Charlie_Zhang

I did some research and found that the 2D1N Halong bay and the train to Sapa is not cheap.

For those who have been to these 2 places, where did you book and how much did you pay?

Thanks.

I use vega travel...good service...totally worthy the money in my opinion
Train to sapa standard....I buy all 4 bed...pay abit more worth it for the privacy with my xmm

Benjamin91

ok ... but district 10 got any attraction to spend the day/night?
or meal in D10 plus taxi fare to D1 walk walk still cheaper than meal alone in D1?

the 980000 fried rice is at night market, something like our chinatown 美食街
should expect the markup :o

dun think there's anything interesting is D10, my friend just bring me to eat there cos he live near there.

guys, need some advice.

As long as you stay in D1 should be quite safe, feel much safer compared to malaysia. I saw quite a number of female single travellers from usa, korea etc.

slandtravel

Thanks.

With restricted budget, there r plenty of Cruise in Halong Bay u can do two days one night with price under 100usd/per person with 3star standard service.
About Sapa Tour for itinerary 2days 3nights ard 100 - 120usd (kind of train is soft sleeper 4bed)

Van

slandtravel

guys, need some advice.
U ar gal. so, be keful when r going out late because robbers alway have eveywhere, especially HCMC, Even those fake taxi driver that u dont know!!!!

audiovideo

guys, need some advice.

I will feel very uneasy and insure if I cannot speak their language.
Worst there is no MRT

butterbarter

I will feel very uneasy and insure if I cannot speak their language.
Worst there is no MRT

If you only go to countries where you speak their language or they have MRT, you'll have to restrict yourself to just a very small handful of countries.

There's nothing to be afraid of. Even if you can't speak the language, all you need to do is ask the hotel staff to write down the name of the places you want to go. Or just google for the local names of places, and put it into your phone. Just make sure you use reliable taxi providers (Mai linh is a good bet).

You are going to a city, not to the jungle. Nothing to be scared of.

butterbarter

guys, need some advice.

Yes it's safe. There are tons of single lady travellers in Vietnam. No problem. As you said, just take the usual precautions. Even in Singapore, you can still get hit by a car, but that doesn't stop you from going out, right?

dleodleo

Since you stay at Vietnam, can you help me check how much is the 2D1N Halong bay cruise? I google online and found most around USD140 but i read blog that they book as low as USD80.

Is there such price that is lower than USD100?

Many thanks.

slandtravel

Since you stay at Vietnam, can you help me check how much is the 2D1N Halong bay cruise? I google online and found most around USD140 but i read blog that they book as low as USD80.

Many thanks.
if you want to book Halong Bay 2days 1nite with the price under 100usd such as: Dragon Cruise, Christina Cruise, Bai Tu Long Junk....& plenty of another one with price as ur request
Otherwise, pls do not hesitate to contact to me via email :slandtravel@gmail.com

Van

slandtravel

Many thanks.
Pls dun book Halong Bay Tour with price under 80usd for 2days 1night. U will get these worst stuff inside of boat which directly influence to ur trip in Vn.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.