Vietnam

xrubiksx

any recommendations on where i should visit for a 4D3N stay in vietnam, currently i only have halong bay in mind..thanks a lot!!

coldmilk

any recommendations on where i should visit for a 4D3N stay in vietnam, currently i only have halong bay in mind..thanks a lot!!

The trip to Halong bay will likely take you 2 full days (assuming that you are taking the 2 d/1N trip).

This will only leave you the 1st day (the day you arrive) and the last day (departure day). Not a lot of time left. You can spend the time exploring Hanoi.

popgoestheballoon

Any must go place in hcm?

if you have the time, you can consider popping by the mekong river area for a few days. take a ride in their sampangs through their forests/to their floating villages; experience what you can never find in Singapore

or if you just want to stay in hcm, which is a rather typical city, you can go shopping, visit their equivalent chinatown, watch some shows or take a day trip to cu chi.

audiovideo

Why don't you take a look at my post in #4733?

do you consider the trip to halong (day 2&3) from hanoi, starting and ending with coach, rushing or relax?

how was the sleep on the cruise?
Is the cruise big? safe? (still remember 1 incident)

that 7hrs of traveling on coach is it siong? =:p

Thanks

consider going with viet friend on our own
fly domestic to hanoi then book local tour :s8:

56mimosa

do you consider the trip to halong (day 2&3) from hanoi, starting and ending with coach, rushing or relax?

Thanks

The distance between Hanoi and Halong Bay is only 170km but because the mini bus can only travel at 50kmh so it takes about 4 hours one way ( include half an hour toilet break in a souvenir shop for the driver and tour guide to take lunch ). I felt the journey is quite bearable and most importantly worth it. The programs they have arranged while on board the cruise, the service, the excellent food...etc. will make your trip very memorable!

The cruise is very comfortable although the rooms are quite small. Halong Bay is very calm, totally not wave or tide. You will not feel that you are in a cruise. I slept well !

The entire cruise ride was filled with activities so you won't feel bore. However, I strongly think that 2D1N in Halong is enough. And 4D3N for Hanoi / Halong Bay is just nice.

Syrena is nice but I think Dragon Legend is nicer ( probably a lot more expensive ).

[/URL[URL=http://s177.photobucket.com/user/56momosa/media/20141222_143621_zpsa08872e6.jpg.html] [/URL[URL=http://s177.photobucket.com/user/56momosa/media/20141222_145221_zps4e8f491e.jpg.html]

It is very safe ( as I said, the Bay is very calm ). I was quite worried about night time. Will it be too dark where other cruise will crashed ours? No worries, more than 10 ~ 15 cruises are berth together and the cruises are all light up so the area is very bright one:

Dragon Legend sailed by our cruise, I took a picture for ref, it seems nicer than Syrena :

dleodleo

Thanks

I think 2D1N for Halong Bay should be sufficient ba. No need stay until 3D2N.

I took 2D1N, the journey is ok. Pick up around 8am and drop you at one souvenior shop and one pearl shop along the way for toilet break before reaching the pier around 12pm. You will reach your hotel around 4.30pm on second day. Certain parts of the road are bumpy. Traveling time from hotel to pier is around 4hrs+ including toilet breaks.

To me i sleep well as I have asked for room away from the generator.

Safe or not, we can't tell you, it is all about fate right? There was not one but many accidents in Halong Bay before. But i presume the vietnam authority have taken steps to prevent accidents.

I was worried about the safety too as my 2 young kids were with us. We went and came back safety. :)

We supposed to go Halong Bay on 2nd day of our trip but due to the bad weather, the cruise company postponed our trip to 4th day of our trip.

So it means that your Halong Bay cruise trip is subject to weather conditions.

kampong boi

Those that went in Nov/Dec was it very cold and? I thought that at the end of the year it would be quite misty at Halong Bay.

And yeah usually during the end of the year there is a chance that the cruise might be postponed or cancelled.

56mimosa

Those that went in Nov/Dec was it very cold and? I thought that at the end of the year it would be quite misty at Halong Bay.

And yeah usually during the end of the year there is a chance that the cruise might be postponed or cancelled.

Not so cold le, around 12 ~ 18 degree when I was there last week. With 2 ~ 3 layers of clothes, the feeling is like cold aircon.

kampong boi

Not so cold le, around 12 ~ 18 degree when I was there last week. With 2 ~ 3 layers of clothes, the feeling is like cold aircon.

I was in da lat with similar temps + wind but only wear 1 layer in the day, early morn and night then wear jacket.

the visibility ok? no mist? I wanted to cover hanoi and ha long bay, but was put off by the rumoured weather and conditions.

56mimosa

I was in da lat with similar temps + wind but only wear 1 layer in the day, early morn and night then wear jacket.

the visibility ok? no mist? I wanted to cover hanoi and ha long bay, but was put off by the rumoured weather and conditions.

Yup! Slightly misty. Its like PSI = 75 like that.

dleodleo

It was very hot when I reached Hanoi in end nov. They told me this year the cold wind came late. The next day the cold wind came and it turned cold but as what 56mimosa said, it is like aircon room.

We were lucky that not misty at Halong Bay. I cannot tahan cold so I find it is very cold in Halong bay but i see some angmos wearing bermuda. My kids dun find cold.

dleodleo

OIC. Actually I went in December cos of the cool weather. But hor I cannot see anything when I was in Sapa the first day. It was so misty. Every photo background I took was covered with mist wahahahahah. I can't even see the scenery clearly. But my kids enjoy seeing the "smoke or so called water vapour" coming out from the mouth when you talked.

Delsamor

OIC. Actually I went in December cos of the cool weather. But hor I cannot see anything when I was in Sapa the first day. It was so misty. Every photo background I took was covered with mist wahahahahah. I can't even see the scenery clearly. But my kids enjoy seeing the "smoke or so called water vapour" coming out from the mouth when you talked.

Got any photo album to share?:D

dleodleo

dleodleo

But hor it is not misty everyday de. First day is raining and misty. 2nd day morning till 2pm of my Sapa trip is very clear and sunny, managed to take many nice photos but after 2pm the mist returns...... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.