Vietnam

invisible999

Very positively impressed by Hoi An

Subj. Food there is like Penang for Malaysia. Plus it is really cheap - three people can eat at a restaurant with 5 different dishes and Viet coffee and it will be $30.

If you go to Hoi An, eating at Morning Glory and Streets is must. Also must is to eat Madam Khankh's Banh Mi.

If you need to make dresses/suites - go to Bill Ben Tailor at 73 Tran Hung Dao. My wife made four dresses for US $145 and they did it in 24h.

rrr2015

?? got what things to do siol?

only got that few tourist area

bangkok got more things to do in the morning

btw im talking about day time not night

so what have you planned, and what would u like to do in HCM?

rrr2015

hanoi egg coffee (ca phe trung) i think can only be found in hanoi?
hanoi%20egg%20coffee_zpsxxaq3o2k.jpg

Average

Subj. Food there is like Penang for Malaysia. Plus it is really cheap - three people can eat at a restaurant with 5 different dishes and Viet coffee and it will be $30.

If you go to Hoi An, eating at Morning Glory and Streets is must. Also must is to eat Madam Khankh's Banh Mi.

If you need to make dresses/suites - go to Bill Ben Tailor at 73 Tran Hung Dao. My wife made four dresses for US $145 and they did it in 24h.
Wow.

Sent from your gal nex door using GAGT

smeagoly

good price. budget airlines cost about the same.
you will be on silkair flights right?

Managed to choose the SQ flights for both legs, SQ definitely better in terms of onboard entertainment, and the flight is about 3.5hours so more than enough time to catch at least 1 movie in-flight haha

intercontiental @ west lake? very peaceful spot.
if you walk southwards along Yen Phu, you should find some nice cafe, eatery etc. walk further to reach Thanh Nien (road that divide ho tay & ho truc bach), i think Banh tom ho tay is worth a try

more choices in Old Quarter ~ xoi, pho ga, bun cha, banh mi etc just to name a few

if you want to taste various Vietnamese food in one place, quan an ngon recommended by kitkat2 is good

Yes it's the only intercon, beside Sheraton along west lake. Yes it's one of the cheapest of the chain, booked it for about S$150/night on Agoda. For anyone looking for a 5-star hotel stay at a cheap price I think you won't go wrong with intercon. The facilities including the gym are very new and well-maintained. The breakfast spread is excellent, and I highly recommend the Italian food on the second floor (price about S$30/pax for dinner but really excellent quality). Noted on quan an ngon, is it only 1 shop? or more like a chain?

Wa kao, i bought much earlier than u still more ex.

These days airlines are fiercely competitive, you can camp for the pretty frequent deals on SQ website, and usually if you book about 3 months in advance, flights to Hanoi, Hong Kong, Manila, or basically anywhere in South-east Asia, usually can get for under $300/pax all in. Only thing is Silkair is the main carrier for SEA, with a few exceptions such as Hanoi which is served by SQ planes too.

finale1

Anyone has any good recommendations for local food in Hanoi? Going there next Wednesday to Saturday. Went there last September and really liked it, going again thanks to cheap SQ fares. Will be staying at Intercon (stayed there the last time too, very nice hotel just alittle further from the Old Quarters). Didn't manage to find very good local food the last time I was there, hope to find better Pho or their baguettes if possible. TIA!

I have a Hanoi food list compiled by a Vietnamese local and i tried most of it on the list. Darn awesome. Whatsapps me 8571 1733 or PM me is fine.

cpuer

I going Hanoi tmr but still abit lost. My friend plan like all visit museums one leh. I more interested in the cheap and nice street foods i saw on tv.

What are must buys to bring back singapore?

Sent from your gal nex door using GAGT

Go for beer here(road close from 7pm to mid night on Fri/Sat/Sun). Try to be there after 7pm when you see the whole street is full with drinkers on small stool, a unique sight.
http://www.rustycompass.com/vietnam...ghtlife-17/beer-corner-hanoi-564#.VoHoIvl97GI

Alpaca

Anyone sign up tour with thesinhtourist before ? Is the service good especially for those overnight tour ?

koala2004

Anyone sign up tour with thesinhtourist before ? Is the service good especially for those overnight tour ?

My colleague tried, everything ok except their packaged hotel/lodging. I never tried before, only with Sapphire Travel for a day tour to Mekong Delta, cheap and good.

sashadith

hi, I have leftover Vietnamese dong for sale, at a price slightly lower than money changer's rate. in various denomination so its easier to spend there as money changer normally give big notes.

anyone interested please sms me nine one three eight seven five 00.

thanks

rayban

Bro what nice to do in hoi an? cause i be going danang,hue and hoi an next month. first time there

invisible999

Bro what nice to do in hoi an? cause i be going danang,hue and hoi an next month. first time there

Well, two things were already mentioned - food and clothing. In addition, you can do the following:

- The Marble Mountains: several temples built around number small hills
- My Son: UNESCO World Heritage site. Both Marble mountains and My Son can be done in one day and you can come back by boat to Da Nang. We paid 1.4m VND for all the transportation, but you need to buy entrance tickets at both sites.
- Cham Islands

Please see Wikivoyage article to get better understanding.

WadsUpDoc

Hi guys, I'll be solo-ing a HCM trip from 13th to 18th Jan and its my first time there. I'd like to get some advice/recommendations on several aspects.

Where should I get SIM card, and how should I go about purchasing them to prevent being scammed?

Also, anyone with good hostel and local tour agency recommendations?

Finally, are there any good areas out of HCM to travel for one or two days in case 6 days in HCM is too much? How should I get there too?

Thanks in advance!

rrr2015

Hi guys, I'll be solo-ing a HCM trip from 13th to 18th Jan and its my first time there. I'd like to get some advice/recommendations on several aspects.

Where should I get SIM card, and how should I go about purchasing them to prevent being scammed?

Finally, are there any good areas out of HCM to travel for one or two days in case 6 days in HCM is too much? How should I get there too?

Thanks in advance!

do remember, depending on flight timings, your 6 days may actually be just 4 ~5 days

i got my SIM card just outside HCM airport immigration area. got vinaphone 5G data plan for 100K vnd. others may have better lobang within HCM

not familiar with hostel so wait for others to recommend, but will recommend staying around ben thanh market for convenience

only used thesinhtourist before, i felt they are reliable.

travel out options all can be done with tour package, check thesinhtourist website for ideas

dede1217

Thanks in advance!

Normally would go hcm about 4 days max
cox is boring there lol
there r oni few malls perhaps less than 6 in district 1
vincom , parkson, co-op supermarket, saigon square where ppl put northface

cab from airport to ben thanh market is abt 35min, abt 12 to 15sgd one way
vinasun and mai linh is the cab to take
the rest such as saigon tourists, vina, all not by meter lol ...

there r many land tours there, can go to cu cu tunnel :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.